Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

[TF2] Freak Fortress 2


Post New Thread Closed Thread   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-25-2012 , 02:38   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1931

Quote:
Originally Posted by realwx View Post
Threw off the vertical jump: http://youtu.be/RZj9UdZtWLU
The problem is that FF2 uses charge values 4 times larger than VSH does. You'd think that'd make you jump farther, but we're using an algorithm involving Sine...

The algorithm we're using does this to get the X and Y velocity:
(1+Sine(float(HaleCharge) * FLOAT_PI / 50))

For VSH, you'd get: 1 + Sine(25.0 * pi / 50) = 2
For FF2, you'd get: 1 + Sine(100.0 * pi / 50) = 1

These are multiplied by the current velocity. In other words, VSH is moving the X and Y coordinates twice as far on every game frame. At 66 game frames per second, you can see that'd make quite a difference.

TL;DR Try this new version, where we divide the charge value by 4, which should double the horizontal distance crossed every gameframe.

Edit: Fixed the vertical calculation slightly.
Attached Files
File Type: smx default_abilities.smx (17.2 KB, 108 views)
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (default_abilities.sp - 97 views - 17.9 KB)
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-25-2012 at 02:46.
Powerlord is offline
realwx
Member
Join Date: May 2012
Old 07-25-2012 , 02:56   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1932

No dice. It's not the huge superjump it was doing before, but vertical and horizontal is unchanged from the original.
realwx is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-25-2012 , 03:25   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1933

Quote:
Originally Posted by realwx View Post
No dice. It's not the huge superjump it was doing before, but vertical and horizontal is unchanged from the original.
I'll be honest, I'm at a loss as to why this isn't working. There should have been a noticeable change of some sort when I divided the charge value by 4.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-25-2012 at 03:25.
Powerlord is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-25-2012 , 03:48   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1934

Something seems a bit off about the compile info for the last smx I posted... I may have posted the wrong version. Here's another copy of it just in case.

(When I say different compile info, the numbers it spit out were different, and on a hunch, I ran a diff against them and got this:
"Binary files default_abilities.smx and default_abilities (1).smx differ")
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (default_abilities.sp - 299 views - 17.9 KB)
File Type: smx default_abilities.smx (17.2 KB, 185 views)
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-25-2012 at 03:55.
Powerlord is offline
realwx
Member
Join Date: May 2012
Old 07-25-2012 , 04:05   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1935

Just tried it, and no change still. =(

I keep comparing code and see no difference, but there must be something affecting vertical superjump... maybe it's actually effecting everyone?

Last edited by realwx; 07-25-2012 at 04:07.
realwx is offline
BBG_Theory
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NC USA
Old 07-25-2012 , 09:32   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1936

power about beta 1.7 just let us know how we can help bud
BBG_Theory is offline
realwx
Member
Join Date: May 2012
Old 07-25-2012 , 17:51   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1937

Oh wow I completely missed setting the convar this time around. (I blame it being 4am >_<) Enabled it and it works! Thanks again Powerlord.

Last edited by realwx; 07-25-2012 at 17:58.
realwx is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-25-2012 , 18:06   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1938

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBG_Theory View Post
power about beta 1.7 just let us know how we can help bud
It doesn't look like I'm going to be done with it tonight... maybe tomorrow or Friday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by realwx View Post
Oh wow I completely missed setting the convar this time around. (I blame it being 4am >_<) Enabled it and it works! Thanks again Powerlord.
I thought about asking if you'd set the cvar, but I just assumed it was previously set in a config file.

I'll include this version of default_abilities.ff2 in the next version when I push it out.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-25-2012 at 18:06.
Powerlord is offline
Chaosxk
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Westeros
Old 07-26-2012 , 02:18   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1939

Nice to see the jumping back to the old VSH style.
Thanks Powerlord.

Also, does anyone have a problem where people can taunt before the setup round ends and turn into a civilian?
__________________
Chaosxk is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 07-26-2012 , 08:24   Re: [TF2] Freak Fortress 2
#1940

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaosxk View Post
Also, does anyone have a problem where people can taunt before the setup round ends and turn into a civilian?
Oh, is that what is causing that? Makes me tempted to try and block it.

Also, definitely didn't get beta done yesterday. On the bright side, I took a 12 hour long "nap" after work... (well, more like 7 hour nap followed by 5 more hours of intermittent sleep)
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 07-26-2012 at 08:26.
Powerlord is offline
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode