Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

Simple Chat Colors (Old Version)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Cerise
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: debug_backtrace()
Old 11-11-2009 , 11:11   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #111

Not supposed to be shown, Anthy sent the right part of the topic :p

Last edited by Cerise; 11-11-2009 at 17:02.
Cerise is offline
Antithasys
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2008
Old 11-11-2009 , 16:58   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #112

This is NOT a bug.

Most of the was explained in this post, but I will address your specific issue as well as why you are getting the result you are.

After reading post 86, you should have learned that this intercepts chat and reproduces the result. Anything not using the sourcemod chat trigger system will have issues. Nextmap, rtv, !rtd, and other plugins also intercept chat (even though they shouldn't) to run their commands. Chat is intercepted in the order in which the plugins are listed and loaded. So... if this plugin is loaded last, all the plugins before it will process chat first, giving you the result of "working" plugins. It is impossible to code for this, and I cannot account for all plugins that intercept chat to run commands. It really is bad coding to intercept chat for that purpose. But... to solve that problem, the override section in the latest beta version was implemented. Here you can list single words that other plugins use (improperly) for chat commands. List the commands there and you don't have to worry about the order in which the plugins load.
__________________
[my plugins]

When you think about asking a question... consider what have you tried?
Antithasys is offline
loraliromance
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Old 11-15-2009 , 08:39   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #113

I just wanted to say that I'm also having the issue with the Left 4 Dead Infected.

Whenever one of the infected dies it tells the other team that they are dead.
This is kind of a pain because it lets them know there aren't a certain amount of us
alive that could quad cap them and such.

It shows up like this :

Code:
*DEAD* LoriSaurusRex : lol that's funny
I'll make an account on that site and let you know if you'd like.

But I also have a question I noticed this in someones post :

Code:
 {
"admin"
{
"flag" "z"
"tag" "[Admin]"
"tagcolor" "{red}"
"namecolor" "{olive}"
"textcolor" "{default}"
}
And I just wanted to ask. From looking at this it seems like
you added a feature for a tag to show in front of their name...
did you add a feature that auto adds a tag? or is that just..something else?

Like..if my handle is LoriSaurusRex and I join my server will I show up as [Admin] LoriSaurusRex ?

What I currently have is this :

Code:
"admin_colors"
{
    "STEAM_x:x:xxxxxxx"
    {
        "namecolor"    "{olive}"
        "textcolor"    "{lightgreen}"
    }
(it continues from there of course)


How would I edit that to add an admin tag? I mean I suppose if I could do that I would just have a {lightgreen}
tag and the rest default or something. That would be nice and way cleaner.

Like this ? :

Code:
"admin_colors"
 {
     "STEAM_x:x:xxxxxxx"
     {
          "tag"         "[Admin]"
        "tagcolor"    "{lightgreen}"
        "namecolor"   "{olive}"
        "textcolor"   "{default}"
     }
(or do tags not work with the version in the main thread?)

Thanks for the help.
loraliromance is offline
Antithasys
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2008
Old 11-15-2009 , 15:12   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #114

They are using the beta version on the project site. Revision 62 is the latest for Simple Chat Colors, but revision 61 has the updated config file. So, if you want to use the beta version, make sure you get all the updated files.

The latest version of all the files for this plugin can be located here. They will eventually be tagged and released with the new version posted on the first post in this thread... just not there yet.
__________________
[my plugins]

When you think about asking a question... consider what have you tried?

Last edited by Antithasys; 11-15-2009 at 15:18.
Antithasys is offline
Dragonfly
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Old 11-20-2009 , 14:33   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #115

I want to give player colors to server regulars, but I don't want rank to be spammed all the time. I don't mind it because I can just type RANK, but I don't want to keep having to remind peeps xD
Dragonfly is offline
Antithasys
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2008
Old 11-20-2009 , 15:43   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #116

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfly View Post
I want to give player colors to server regulars, but I don't want rank to be spammed all the time. I don't mind it because I can just type RANK, but I don't want to keep having to remind peeps xD
what?
__________________
[my plugins]

When you think about asking a question... consider what have you tried?
Antithasys is offline
Dragonfly
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Old 11-23-2009 , 02:40   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #117

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antithasys View Post
what?
For anyone with a colored name, It spams rank when typed in lowercase, when typed RANK it does not spam.
Dragonfly is offline
Antithasys
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2008
Old 11-23-2009 , 16:03   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #118

read previous posts... this issue has already been addressed.
__________________
[my plugins]

When you think about asking a question... consider what have you tried?
Antithasys is offline
Dragonfly
Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Old 11-24-2009 , 14:20   TAGS
Reply With Quote #119

Im trying to add a tag in my time (Great plugin btw) Here is my code :
{

"STEAM_0:1:14663251"
{
"flag" "z"
"tag" "[HoNk]"
"tagcolor" "{green}"
"namecolor" "{teamcolor}"
"textcolor" "{green}"
}


And while Im here, what does this stuff do? xD

"Overrides"
{
"rank" ""
"testcommand" ""
"rtv" ""
"nominate" ""
}
}
My name should be [HoNk] Dragonfly right? what am I doing wrong?

Last edited by Dragonfly; 11-24-2009 at 14:29.
Dragonfly is offline
Antithasys
Moderator
Join Date: Apr 2008
Old 11-24-2009 , 14:56   Re: Simple Chat Colors
Reply With Quote #120

If you are using the beta version, then it should work. Double check your steam id... you can also turn on debugging and reload the chat file... it will print out a bunch of junk and tell you if it found you, and how it found you. That mite help you determine what is wrong.

EDIT:

The overrides are words that when used, the plugin will bug out and not intercept any chat.
__________________
[my plugins]

When you think about asking a question... consider what have you tried?
Antithasys is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 23:41.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode