Raised This Month: $154 Target: $400
 38% 

SourceBot


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
almcaeobtac
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida
Plugin ID:
1048
Plugin Version:
2.7
Plugin Category:
Fun Stuff
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    18 
    Plugin Description:
    Enables a dynamic bot in your server.
    Old 07-28-2009 , 12:34   SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #1

    SourceBot is a bot that you install into your server. You can set it to give helpful server info, or give it a personality, from the things it says. It floats around the server greeting the players. It has feelings about each player it encounters, and remembers what it feels about each one.

    ONLY TESTED IN HL2DM SO FAR

    From the ReadMe:

    Quote:
    TO INSTALL THIS, SIMPLY DRAG THE ADDONS FOLDER INTO YOUR GAME FOLDER, AND LET IT MERGE WITH THE ADDONS FOLDER ALREADY THERE.

    TO CUSTOMIZE YOUR BOT, GO TO THE DATA FOLDER (addons/sourcemod/data)...

    CHANGING BASIC BOT INFO::

    1.Open bot_config.txt

    2.Edit the name and age.

    3.If you want the bot to spawn when you start the map, leave the "SpawnOnStart" value as yes, otherwise put it as no.

    4.If you want the bot to spawn use a player slot, leave the "UsePlayerSlot" value as yes, otherwise put it as no.

    5. Set the default speed of the bot. (1-5).

    6. If you are using a game other than hl2dm, the "Model" value MUST BE CHANGED. Make sure you use the full path of the model when changing it. (models/whatever/whatever/whatever.mdl)

    7. If you want the bot to float higher or lower from the ground, set its float height.

    CHANGING BOT BASIC RESPONSES::

    1. Open bot_responses.txt

    2. Look at each section, and change some of the values on the RIGHT, if you want the bot to say different things. Experiment a little to see what gets said when.
    For every new response you add, order them numerically, and don't skip a number. Don't exceed the max amount either.

    3. Do not add any new sections, as these are useless. If you want to add new triggers, open bot_customresponses.txt.

    ADDING CUSTOM RESPONSES::

    1. Open bot_customresponses.txt

    2. Follow the format, and add any new triggers and responses that you want. The trigger goes on the left, and the response goes on the right.

    DO NOT EDIT BOT_MEMORY.

    That's It! Have fun with your SourceBot!
    Commands:
    sb_spawn -- spawns the bot
    sb_kill -- kills the bot
    sb_pause -- pauses the bot
    sb_unpause -- unpauses the bot
    sb_say <message> -- makes the bot say a message
    sb_tele -- teleports the bot to you
    sb_learn <message> -- makes the bot learn a message
    sb_speed <1-5> -- sets the bot speed
    sb_wipe -- wipes the bot's memory
    sb_rate <slow/normal/fast> -- sets the bot's learning rate
    sb_timer <seconds> -- sets how many seconds the bot waits before saying something when it's lonely.

    Usage:
    Set up the data files like in the README.

    To talk to the Sourcebot, type its name in the chat, then when it responds, type your question or statement. It's as simple as that.

    To kill the Sourcebot, shoot at it with any weapon. But be careful, it won't like you much if you kill it a lot.

    Screenshots:






    CHANGELOG::
    Version 2.5 - First release
    Version 2.6 - Start/End Round control & Player Slot options
    Version 2.7 - Fixed Start/End Round control & Made the plugin print errors to the errors log.
    Attached Files
    File Type: zip SourceBot.zip (39.9 KB, 4771 views)
    __________________

    Last edited by almcaeobtac; 08-06-2009 at 12:39. Reason: Changed the cvar
    almcaeobtac is offline
    Sexual Harassment Panda
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: San Diego, CA
    Old 07-28-2009 , 14:44   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #2

    Edit Again: I got the model working, but with a custom one, i must've been doing it wrong.

    Also, a request, could you make it so if somebody tells it to come here, it moves over to them?
    Another thing, could we get some syntax for adding messages to bot with sb_learn
    Another suggestion: could you make it so you can make some custom responses show up in a panel menu?
    __________________

    Last edited by Sexual Harassment Panda; 07-28-2009 at 16:20.
    Sexual Harassment Panda is offline
    olj
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Old 07-28-2009 , 16:31   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #3

    Can i use living model for that, i mean if i use model of Zoey from l4d, what would be behavior of model, would it play animation? would it fall to the ground and become ragdoll on death?
    __________________
    olj is offline
    shustas
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: May 2007
    Location: London
    Old 07-28-2009 , 16:57   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #4

    hm... sounds fun

    In css, it spawns only on the first round. After that, the model doesnt spawn back. All the responses and that are working.

    Plus these errors:

    L 07/28/2009 - 21:54:50: [SM] Native "TeleportEntity" reported: Entity 151 is not valid or is freed
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:54:50: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:54:50: [SM] [0] Line 436, SourceBot.sp::TeleClient()
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:55:24: [SM] Native "TeleportEntity" reported: Entity 151 is not valid or is freed
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:55:24: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:55:24: [SM] [0] Line 436, SourceBot.sp::TeleClient()
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Native "GetEntPropVector" reported: Entity 133 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] [0] Line 2010, SourceBot.sp::LifeTick()
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Native "GetEntPropVector" reported: Entity 133 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] [0] Line 2010, SourceBot.sp::LifeTick()
    __________________

    Last edited by shustas; 07-28-2009 at 17:24. Reason: update
    shustas is offline
    almcaeobtac
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: Florida
    Old 07-28-2009 , 17:03   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #5

    It turns the model into a physics prop..so no animations.

    Quote:
    Another thing, could we get some syntax for adding messages to bot with sb_learn
    Another suggestion: could you make it so you can make some custom responses show up in a panel menu?
    Explain those please I don't understand what you want.
    __________________
    almcaeobtac is offline
    Benjamin1995
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: May 2009
    Location: Germany
    Old 07-28-2009 , 17:07   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #6

    i played with recon GREAT
    __________________
    Benjamin1995 is offline
    Send a message via Skype™ to Benjamin1995
    almcaeobtac
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: Florida
    Old 07-28-2009 , 17:27   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #7

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by shustas View Post
    hm... sounds fun

    In css, it spawns only on the first round. After that, the model doesnt spawn back. All the responses and that are working.

    Plus these errors:

    L 07/28/2009 - 21:54:50: [SM] Native "TeleportEntity" reported: Entity 151 is not valid or is freed
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:54:50: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:54:50: [SM] [0] Line 436, SourceBot.sp::TeleClient()
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:55:24: [SM] Native "TeleportEntity" reported: Entity 151 is not valid or is freed
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:55:24: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:55:24: [SM] [0] Line 436, SourceBot.sp::TeleClient()
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Native "GetEntPropVector" reported: Entity 133 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] [0] Line 2010, SourceBot.sp::LifeTick()
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Native "GetEntPropVector" reported: Entity 133 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 21:57:29: [SM] [0] Line 2010, SourceBot.sp::LifeTick()
    Those errors means that the entity no longer exists. I'm sorry I don't know CSS events, if someone knows how to catch a new round in CSS, please tell me how, I'll make it spawn again after a new round.
    __________________
    almcaeobtac is offline
    Sexual Harassment Panda
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: San Diego, CA
    Old 07-28-2009 , 17:52   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #8

    in regards to the sb_learn. I'm not sure exactly what that does or how to use it, what does it do?

    In regards to the menu, if i wanted to show the rules or something, it needs a menu to pop up (like admin menu or panel messages) because using chat would not be organized properly, or fit all the rules in one message well.

    Edit: Forgot to post some errors
    Code:
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:16:30: [SM] Native "GetEntPropVector" reported: Entity 45 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:16:30: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:16:30: [SM]   [0]  Line 2010, SourceBot.sp::LifeTick()
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:16:36: [SM] Native "TeleportEntity" reported: Entity 45 is not valid or is freed
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:16:36: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:16:36: [SM]   [0]  Line 436, SourceBot.sp::TeleClient()L 07/28/2009 - 13:43:15: [SM] Native "GetEntPropVector" reported: Entity 50 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:43:15: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "sourcebot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 13:43:15: [SM]   [0]  Line 1961, SourceBot.sp::LifeTick()L 07/28/2009 - 12:36:29: [SM] Native "ChangeClientTeam" reported: Client index 0 is invalid
    L 07/28/2009 - 12:36:29: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 12:36:29: [SM]   [0]  Line 2307, SourceBot.sp::TeamSwitch()
    L 07/28/2009 - 12:15:39: [SM] Native "KickClient" reported: Client 6 is not connected
    L 07/28/2009 - 12:15:39: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "SourceBot.smx":
    L 07/28/2009 - 12:15:39: [SM]   [0]  Line 2503, SourceBot.sp::LeaveGame()
    __________________

    Last edited by Sexual Harassment Panda; 07-28-2009 at 18:01.
    Sexual Harassment Panda is offline
    almcaeobtac
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Location: Florida
    Old 07-28-2009 , 18:04   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #9

    For sb_learn:
    Normally the bot will learn things from what people type in chat.

    Player 1: run to cover!
    Player 2: here they come!
    Player 1: gotta reload

    The bot might learn the phrase: gotta reload
    It saves to it's memory, and the bot will repeat it later.

    Player 1: Aw man i died
    Bot: gotta reload

    sb_learn forces something into the bot's memory.

    And as for the errors, they look as though they are there because of the player slot filler. I'll add an option to turn that off.
    __________________
    almcaeobtac is offline
    Sexual Harassment Panda
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Dec 2008
    Location: San Diego, CA
    Old 07-28-2009 , 18:06   Re: SourceBot
    Reply With Quote #10

    yeah I'd rather have it so that it didn't take up a player slot.
    __________________
    Sexual Harassment Panda is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:39.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode