Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $344
 86% 

Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
MikeJS
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Plugin ID:
780
Plugin Version:
1.0
Plugin Category:
Gameplay
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Approver:
    Plugin Description:
    Add bounce pads to maps.
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Old 02-22-2009 , 13:02   Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #1

    Dukehacks: http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=69658

    Based on L. Duke's jump pads plugin.
    Lets you place permanent jump pads on maps with settings in a config file. If I find a way to read files from inside a .bsp, I will switch to map specific configs to make releasing maps that rely on this plugin easier.

    Commands
    sm_padsreload - Reread the config file
    sm_padsremove - Remove all jump pads from the map

    Config file goes in configs (configs/pads.cfg). Example config attached.
    Origin: where the bounce pad is placed
    Angles: rotation of bounce pad
    Velocity: velocity of players after they touch the pad
    Model: bounce pad model
    Sound: sound played when bounce pad is used ("" for none)

    http://www.wegame.com/watch/Bounce_pads_in_TF2/
    http://www.wegame.com/watch/TF2_Bounce_Pads_2fort/


    Doesn't compile on the forums so download the smx or compile it yourself.
    Attached Files
    File Type: cfg pads.cfg (768 Bytes, 344 views)
    File Type: smx jumppads.smx (7.2 KB, 314 views)
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (jumppads.sp - 279 views - 4.9 KB)

    Last edited by MikeJS; 02-24-2009 at 13:56.
    MikeJS is offline
    Thishya
    New Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Location: Albany, Oregon.
    Old 02-22-2009 , 20:22   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #2

    Wow. This is an insainly interesting plugin. Used just right, it could make maps really fun. The only problem I'm having is getting them in just the right spots. I would recommend some commands that let you add, manipulate, and remove these jumping pads in game so you don't have to figure out the wacky coordinates.
    __________________
    "The most beautiful thing in the world is the world itself."
    Thishya is offline
    BOYSplayCS
    BANNED
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Location: Gainesville, FL
    Old 03-01-2009 , 20:00   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #3

    This was unapproved but is still in the New Plugins forum. Just making it known.
    BOYSplayCS is offline
    Nalidor
    Member
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Old 03-02-2009 , 08:20   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #4

    It actually was unapproved. If I remember correctly, the forum doesn't support un-unapproval of plugin threads.
    Nalidor is offline
    MikeJS
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Old 03-02-2009 , 11:10   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #5

    It was unapproved until I PM'd Liam and explained that it's not the same as the other jump pads plugin.
    MikeJS is offline
    L. Duke
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Apr 2005
    Location: Walla Walla
    Old 03-02-2009 , 11:10   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Thishya View Post
    Wow. This is an insainly interesting plugin. Used just right, it could make maps really fun. The only problem I'm having is getting them in just the right spots. I would recommend some commands that let you add, manipulate, and remove these jumping pads in game so you don't have to figure out the wacky coordinates.
    Type 'cl_showpos 1' in your console and then stand exactly where you want the jump pad. The XYZ coordinates will be shown in the upper right corner of your screen. They shouldn't need any adjustments unless the main bone of the model you're using for a jump pad is not centered on the bottom of the model. Then you may need to subtract/add something from the Z coordinate, but it will be the same value every time.
    __________________
    "Good grammar is essential, Robin."
    - Batman
    L. Duke is offline
    kilorat
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Old 04-28-2009 , 15:17   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #7

    Just wondering, what's the difference between this and the one Duke made?
    http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=697831
    If one is a revised version, there should be something explaining that.
    kilorat is offline
    MikeJS
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2008
    Old 04-28-2009 , 15:20   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #8

    Duke's lets players throw them about, this lets you add them to the map.
    __________________
    MikeJS is offline
    kilorat
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Old 04-28-2009 , 15:35   Re: Jump Pads 1.0 - Requires Dukehacks
    Reply With Quote #9

    Oh I see it now, right in the beginning of the description, I don't know how I missed that.
    kilorat is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode