Raised This Month: $12 Target: $400
 3% 

TF2 Auto Scramble Teams


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Freelancer
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bristol , uk
Plugin ID:
543
Plugin Version:
0.4
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    3 
    Plugin Description:
    Scrambles teams on map start.
    Old 09-09-2008 , 21:08   TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #1

    Description

    This plugin automatically scrambles the teams 25sec's into the waiting for players/map start.

    Please Note:
    add: sm plugins unload ci_autoscramble.smx to your config_arena.cfg > \orangebox\tf\cfg. Plugin will reload on cp,ctf,pl,dom playmodes.

    Thanks to All the folks at SM
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (ci_autoscramble.sp - 3715 views - 965 Bytes)

    Last edited by Freelancer; 09-10-2008 at 20:32.
    Freelancer is offline
    ThatGuy
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2007
    Old 09-09-2008 , 21:15   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #2

    Sounds like a nice idea!
    ThatGuy is offline
    abelp
    Senior Member
    Join Date: May 2008
    Old 09-09-2008 , 21:24   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #3

    i run a surf server and surf maps have no point whatsoever (there are some that can be capped) , and was wondering if its possible to make this plugin scramble the teams every so often (default: 10) mins. With maybe a message appearing "Scrambling teams in 5" -4 -3-2-1 then it does it

    sm_scramble_time 10 (10mins)
    sm_scramble_time 0 (disabled)

    Just a thought to keep a server interresting.
    abelp is offline
    retsam
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: so-cal
    Old 09-10-2008 , 00:20   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #4

    I was just wondering, without looking at the actual code myself, what does it do, just calls a cvar mp_scrambleteams when it execs?


    If it does, just a little tidbit of info, DO NOT use this plugin if you run mani admin. I found out the hard way. For whatever reason, on our servers, when we installed mani, if the cvar mp_scrambleteams is used, it hard crashes the server. Should be fine with any other admin plugin, just not mani. I asked the mani guys if there was a fix, but looks like their site is down now, they never came back with any info.

    Just for your INFO. If this plugin does not use that cvar to scramble them, then dont worry about it.
    retsam is offline
    DontWannaName
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: VALVe Land, WA
    Old 09-10-2008 , 02:06   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #5

    Theres got to be a way to turn this off in the code on arena maps only... This is the 2nd plugin that doesnt do this. Whats the point of scrambling them then if there is a cvar to only allow 1 more person than the other team? It has no idea whos good and who isnt.
    __________________

    DontWannaName is offline
    Antithasys
    Moderator
    Join Date: Apr 2008
    Old 09-10-2008 , 02:17   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #6

    yes

    Code:
    new bool:IsArenaMode = false;
     
    public OnPluginStart()
    {
         TFGameModeArena = FindConVar("tf_gamemode_arena");
    }
     
    public OnMapStart()
    {
         if (GetConVarInt(TFGameModeArena))
              IsArenaMode = true;
    }
    Then run a logic statement based upon IsArenaMode.

    P.S. This works because the cvar is either a 1 or 0. If it's not in arena mode it's 0 or false, otherwise it's true.

    Last edited by Antithasys; 09-10-2008 at 02:34.
    Antithasys is offline
    Lord Max
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Location: 127.0.0.1
    Old 09-10-2008 , 11:59   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #7

    This like a good idea, if I had a pound every time the teams on my 100% crits server were uneven in that one team were newbies and the other team were pros I'd be a rich man.

    And when the server gets like that it spoils the fun. I've already had to put spawn protection on my server because with the pro gamers playing soldier, one could not exit the base.

    Anyway, I will be trying this out on one of my servers when I get my new desktop which has been ordered. (On a laptop that lacks the graphics to play TF2 at the moment)

    Thanks, I'll tell you how it went,

    Lord Max
    Lord Max is offline
    louie666
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Jan 2006
    Old 09-19-2008 , 12:58   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #8

    We have been running this for while and it works quite nicely & gives a sense of fairness even if you do occasionally get a stacked team
    __________________
    louie666 is offline
    dann
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2007
    Old 09-20-2008 , 08:25   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #9

    so this only scrambles at the beginning of each map?

    is there a way to scramble teams after a certain amount of rounds?
    dann is offline
    flubber
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Oct 2007
    Old 09-20-2008 , 13:03   Re: TF2 Auto Scramble Teams
    Reply With Quote #10

    I think scrambling the teram on each round can piss off a lot of people, imagine you just defend dustbowl for 20 minutes it scramble and you get to defend again pretty frustrating i guess.
    flubber is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:43.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode