Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $140
 35% 

Notices

TF2: ClassChooser


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
bl4nk
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Plugin ID:
328
Plugin Version:
1.0.2
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    6 
    Plugin Description:
    Choose a class for everyone to spawn as
    Old 03-23-2008 , 15:52   TF2: ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #1

    ClassChooser
    Choose a class for everyone to spawn as.

    Requirements:
    SourceMod snapshot build 2009 or later.

    CVars:
    sm_classchooser_enable
    • 0 = Disable the plugin
    • 1 = Enable the plugin
    sm_classchooser_class
    • scout, demoman (or demo), engineer (or engy), medic, pyro, soldier, spy, sniper, heavy (or hwg) - spawn as the chosen class
    • random - spawn as a random class each time
    • none (or anything not listed above) - spawn as the player's chosen class
    sm_classchooser_engineer_tools
    • 0 = Disable engineers spawning with their build tools
    • 1 = Enable engineers spawning with their build tools
    sm_classchooser_melee
    • 0 = Disable melee only mode (players spawn with weapons)
    • 1 = Enable melee only mode
    Changelog:
    • 1.0.0
      • Initial release
    • 1.0.1
      • Added cvar sm_classchooser_engineer_tools to control whether or not engineers will spawn with their build tools when the chosen class is set to engineer.
    • 1.0.2
      • Fixed the engineer tools cvar; it now strips the proper weapons. It also will work using random mode now, since they will most likely become a different class next time they spawn.
      • Added cvar sm_classchooser_melee to control whether or the game is melee only. Turning this on will also strip all weapons from living players. There's also a enable/disable message printed to chat.
      • Changing the class cvar to something not defined will not crash the server; it will let the players choose their class.
    Notes:
    • With this plugin I'm releasing my TF2 include file. It includes a variety of useful stocks for TF2.
      • The TF2 extension included with SM now makes my include file useless. It's no longer a requirement.
    • You won't be able to compile the plugin using the online compilers since I use said include file.
      • You can now compile using the online compilers since my include isn't needed any longer.
    • You can only choose one class for the plugin to spawn players as currently.
    • If you choose engineer as the class to spawn as, players have to manually change their class to engy or else their buildings will be destroyed when they spawn (because they will try to spawn as their chosen class, but be forced to engineer).
      • Player's chosen class and desired class is now set, so this isn't a problem either.
    • If the class cvar is set to random and the engineer cvar is set to give no build tools, the engineers will spawn with their build tools. This is because the build tools cvar is meant to prevent camping.
      • The build tools cvar will now strip on random mode.
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (classchooser.sp - 2829 views - 5.6 KB)

    Last edited by bl4nk; 06-15-2008 at 14:38.
    bl4nk is offline
    teddyruxpin
    Overseer of lost packets
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 03-23-2008 , 18:59   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #2

    With this plugin would I be able to for example make my server all Scouts and then give them the soldiers rocket launcher for a weapon?

    Thanks,

    -Teddy
    teddyruxpin is offline
    bl4nk
    SourceMod Developer
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Old 03-23-2008 , 20:45   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #3

    No. This is just a plugin to choose what class they spawn as. You can only make it so they all spawn as scouts.
    bl4nk is offline
    bl4nk
    SourceMod Developer
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Old 03-27-2008 , 05:32   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #4

    Updated to Version 1.0.1
    bl4nk is offline
    Neo_Bahamut_19
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Old 03-27-2008 , 10:47   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #5

    Thank you for the plugin, we shall be trying it out on our 32 man server soon w00t, ctf_hallofdeath 32 players all SOLDIER here we COME!!!
    __________________
    Neo_Bahamut_19 is offline
    bl4nk
    SourceMod Developer
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Old 03-27-2008 , 11:11   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #6

    Hah, that's funny. I'm one of the head admins of the community that NIPPER (the maker of ctf_hallofdeath) is from. I sent him a message quoting what you said.
    bl4nk is offline
    blissend
    Member
    Join Date: Mar 2008
    Old 03-27-2008 , 11:57   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #7

    I tested this on my 32 player server and it worked great. Thanks for this wonderful mod.

    I did notice one problem with the sudden death melee mod (which I don't think its related to your mod). When I make it medic only right before sudden death... everyone is stuck with the healing gun only. A player recorded this when it first happened (funny) http://www.bilange.net/tf2/

    I haven't tested this against maxclass mod so I can only wonder what would happen with that.
    blissend is offline
    bl4nk
    SourceMod Developer
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Old 03-29-2008 , 14:44   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #8

    I could have sworn I replied to this. I didn't make that sudden death melee plugin, but I'm thinking about remaking it. The guy who originally made it does it in such a weird way that a lot of problems arise (the one you posted being one of them I guess).
    bl4nk is offline
    DontWannaName
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: VALVe Land, WA
    Old 03-31-2008 , 04:41   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #9

    This doesnt seem to work for me? Do I have to use it on map load?
    __________________

    DontWannaName is offline
    bl4nk
    SourceMod Developer
    Join Date: Jul 2007
    Old 03-31-2008 , 09:21   Re: TF2 ClassChooser
    Reply With Quote #10

    No. What doesn't work about it? Mind you these are cvars and not admin commands.
    bl4nk is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:50.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode