Raised This Month: $150 Target: $400
 37% 

Don't Shout


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Brainstorm
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Plugin ID:
162
Plugin Version:
1.0
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    25 
    Plugin Description:
    Changes chat messages to lowercase when they are (almost) fully in uppercase.
    Old 08-26-2007 , 06:18   Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #1

    Current Version:

    1.0


    Description:

    Some players are unfortunate enough to have bought a keyboard where both shift keys are permanently stuck, causing all their chat to be in UPPERCASE. This plugin is designed to help them out, and change their text to lowercase.


    CVars:

    bd_shout_enabled - Whether the anti-shout plugin is enabled (default: 1)
    bd_shout_percent - Percent of alphanumeric characters that need to be uppercase before the plugin will kick in (default: 0.7)
    bd_shout_mincharcount - Minimum amount of alphanumeric characters before the sentence will be altered (default: 5).


    Features:

    Plugin will work on say, say_team and say2. Upon filtering a message, the plugin will disregard numeric and special characters. When converting the text to lowercase, the first character will be skipped (causing it to stay uppercase).


    Features to come:

    None. Suggestions welcome


    Examples:

    "HI I AM CAPS" -> "Hi i am caps"
    "Hi I am caps" -> "Hi I am caps" (not enough caps)
    "LOL" -> "LOL" (no change, < 5 chars)
    "12345ABCDE" -> "12345abcde" (numeric values are disregarded"


    Changelog:

    1.0: Initial Release
    Attached Files
    File Type: smx dontshout.smx (3.1 KB, 508 views)
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (dontshout.sp - 1568 views - 5.3 KB)
    Brainstorm is offline
    Extreme_One
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Old 08-26-2007 , 15:49   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #2

    Nice idea.

    I use the caps lock key (due to it's proximity to WASD)as a push-to-talk for Teamspeak so this will be a godsend.

    Thank you.
    __________________
    Extreme_One is offline
    pimpinjuice
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2006
    Old 08-27-2007 , 02:18   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #3

    LOL OMG APPROVED -> lol omg approved
    ;]
    __________________
    pimpinjuice is offline
    Send a message via AIM to pimpinjuice
    Extreme_One
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Old 09-04-2007 , 18:48   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #4

    When using base-chat commands this is displaying the message twice, once in it's original form WITH caps and also without the caps.

    Like this:

    I type @ TESTING
    we see somthing like:

    Extreme_One: TESTING
    Extreme_One: Testing

    Not sure if you can fix this (minor) issue.
    __________________
    Extreme_One is offline
    Jérémie
    Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 02-19-2008 , 16:49   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #5

    Is this plugin use a separate config file, like many other plugins? If so, what's its name, and where should I put it?

    Thanks.
    Jérémie is offline
    Brainstorm
    Member
    Join Date: Aug 2007
    Old 02-20-2008 , 13:25   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #6

    No it doesn't, I think that when I wrote this little plugin there might not even have been a config file for most plugins. If you want I can add it though, shouldn't be too hard. Gives me some time to look at the bug report above I never visited this thread after it got posted.
    Brainstorm is offline
    Extreme_One
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Nov 2006
    Old 02-20-2008 , 14:07   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #7

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Brainstorm View Post
    ...Gives me some time to look at the bug report above ....

    Cool. I hope you do find a way to eliminate the issue I described
    __________________
    Extreme_One is offline
    Jérémie
    Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 02-28-2008 , 04:05   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #8

    Nope I'm fine, I just wanted to know where to set-up those plugin commands.
    Jérémie is offline
    rodregis
    Member
    Join Date: Dec 2007
    Location: AU
    Old 08-15-2008 , 10:07   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #9

    Would it be possible to make admins with the slay flag able to bypass this?

    It's so helpful and I must say saves me having to see caps spam from a user before I have to kick/ban.
    rodregis is offline
    DontWannaName
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jun 2007
    Location: VALVe Land, WA
    Old 12-19-2008 , 05:14   Re: Don't Shout
    Reply With Quote #10

    L 12/17/2008 - 20:58:01: [SM] Native "strlen" reported:
    L 12/17/2008 - 20:58:01: [SM] Displaying call stack trace for plugin "dontshout.smx":
    L 12/17/2008 - 20:58:01: [SM] [0] Line 75, /home/groups/alliedmodders/forums/files/3/0/0/0/8/19567.attach::Command_HandleSay()
    L 12/17/2008 - 20:58:49: [SM] Plugin encountered error 8: Not enough space on the stack
    __________________

    DontWannaName is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:50.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode