Raised This Month: $319 Target: $400
 79%   Almost there!

What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
jhinza
Zero Posts
Join Date: Aug 2021
Old 08-27-2021 , 02:24   What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #1

I am going to buy new PC for my gaming. I am going to buy DDR4 RAM. What is minimum requirment of RAM for installing fortnite?
jhinza is offline
HamletEagle
AMX Mod X Plugin Approver
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Romania
Old 08-27-2021 , 04:07   Re: What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #2

If you want a gaming pc you should get at least 16gbs of ram. You shouldn't get the minimum ram a particular game needs because that game won't be the only thing running in your system.
16 gbs will allow you to run pretty much anything and you won't have to upgrade for a while.
__________________
HamletEagle is offline
CrazY.
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: SP, Brazil
Old 08-29-2021 , 20:21   Re: What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #3

I recommend you to get 2 sticks of 8gb each. I've only 8gb and I can say it's not enough, at least for my use case.
__________________




CrazY. is offline
rose48
Zero Posts
Join Date: Sep 2021
Old 09-11-2021 , 09:26   Re: What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #4

For gaming please get a gaming pc.No matter the size especially 8Gb there will be effects later.
rose48 is offline
edon1337
Penguin Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Macedonia
Old 09-11-2021 , 17:50   Re: What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhinza View Post
I am going to buy new PC for my gaming. I am going to buy DDR4 RAM. What is minimum requirment of RAM for installing fortnite?
Minimum is 8 GB, your game will stutter on 8 GB though, get 2x8 (dual RAM gives better performance) and get 3000 MHz or higher frequency if you have a Ryzen CPU, if you have an Intel CPU, anything above 2400/2666 MHz will do.
__________________
edon1337 is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to edon1337
Bjork
Zero Posts
Join Date: Sep 2021
Old 09-22-2021 , 08:43   Re: What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #6

If you use 4x 8 GB with single rank sticks or 2x 16 GB with dual rank sticks you'll have 2 ranks per RAM channel, which should give you more FPS (especially min. FPS) in CPU limited games.

I'm not sure, if anyone has tested how much it affects Fortnite though. Not having a reliable way to replicate the same stacked lobby (replay mode does not perform the same as actual games) for comparison certainly makes it difficult to confirm something like a 5% improvement.
Bjork is offline
edon1337
Penguin Enthusiast
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Macedonia
Old 09-24-2021 , 08:00   Re: What should be RAM for installing Fortnite?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjork View Post
If you use 4x 8 GB with single rank sticks or 2x 16 GB with dual rank sticks you'll have 2 ranks per RAM channel, which should give you more FPS (especially min. FPS) in CPU limited games.

I'm not sure, if anyone has tested how much it affects Fortnite though. Not having a reliable way to replicate the same stacked lobby (replay mode does not perform the same as actual games) for comparison certainly makes it difficult to confirm something like a 5% improvement.
There's a lot of videos comparing single and dual channel RAM difference. The difference is massive.
__________________
edon1337 is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to edon1337
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:28.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode