Raised This Month: $32 Target: $400
 8% 

[TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
fakuivan
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Old 12-05-2017 , 20:28   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #151

Get the plugin -> Run the script to generate the db -> Load the plugin

I don't think that's too complicated. You can add the db generation command to your server update script. If you can't handle that just use tf2ii, my taunts plugin can be compiled to use one item schema or the other. I personally use tf2idb with the tf2ii adapter, made by this wonderful contributor.
__________________
fakuivan is offline
MAGNAT2645
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: AlliedMods.net
Old 12-06-2017 , 11:01   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #152

TF2IDB with TF2II adapter is good, but what if it will break gamemodes like TF2Ware?
__________________
MAGNAT2645 is offline
fakuivan
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Old 12-07-2017 , 19:44   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #153

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAGNAT2645 View Post
TF2IDB with TF2II adapter is good, but what if it will break gamemodes like TF2Ware?
Things that break things are usually bugs. If the adapter breaks things you should report the bug to the repo.
__________________

Last edited by fakuivan; 12-07-2017 at 19:44.
fakuivan is offline
MAGNAT2645
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: AlliedMods.net
Old 12-08-2017 , 08:04   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #154

I know, i mean that TF2Ware uses GiveWeapon include (that uses TF2ItemsInfo Extended Stocks (version with memory leak)) for giving to players specific weapons.

I want to use TF2IDB only (because for me TF2ItemsInfo in 2017 is a bad way for item listing) but GiveWeapon uses TF2ItemsInfo.
__________________
MAGNAT2645 is offline
fakuivan
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Old 12-09-2017 , 19:00   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #155

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAGNAT2645 View Post
I know, i mean that TF2Ware uses GiveWeapon include (that uses TF2ItemsInfo Extended Stocks (version with memory leak)) for giving to players specific weapons.

I want to use TF2IDB only (because for me TF2ItemsInfo in 2017 is a bad way for item listing) but GiveWeapon uses TF2ItemsInfo.
There's nothing wrong with the way the tf2ii API is designed, in fact, it's quite good. The problem with tf2ii is the way that it gets the information that it passes through the API, mostly because pawn sucks at everything but being pawn. The tf2ii adapter for tf2idb HAS NO ISSUES, because the data that it passes through the emulated natives comes from tf2idb (tf2idb is pretty efficient at getting that data), eliminating any problems. You can use tf2idb with the tf2ii adapter for GiveWeapon and have no issues.
__________________
fakuivan is offline
MrDarkSoul
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2014
Old 03-06-2018 , 00:44   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #156

Hello! I've found a crash within this plugin:


TonyBaretta's Plugin still uses TF2ItemsInfo, and since there's a lot of problems with it I decided to give the TF2IDB (Flamin Sarge's adapter) a run. I got the scripts, compiled them, sent them to my server and they ran fine, until I found the crash:

When there's the minigame "Pick a plate", if you pick a plate and receive the wep (and don't even score the point if you want), the CLIENT crashes.

I've tried logging the Client side to seek some info but apparently it just doesn't log it, and sourcemod didn't log about the crash either.

I am sure it's because of the adapter, because before I installed the TF2IDB, I tried a build of TF2ItemsInfo and the minigame went ok.

Last edited by MrDarkSoul; 03-06-2018 at 13:03.
MrDarkSoul is offline
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 03-28-2018 , 03:56   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #157

If you use con_logfile "filename.log" on the client you can get the logs from when the client crashed. It could be some model precaching issue.
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.
FlaminSarge is offline
CpDavid1408
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Old 06-05-2018 , 07:30   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #158

Hi, I get this error when executing the .py file:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\XXX\Downloads\tf2idb\tf2idb.py" , line 129, in <module>
dbc.execute('INSERT INTO new_tf2idb_capabilities (id,capability) VALUES (?,?)', (id, name))
NameError: name 'name' is not defined
0
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\XXX\Downloads\tf2idb\tf2idb.py" , line 129, in <module>
dbc.execute('INSERT INTO new_tf2idb_capabilities (id,capability) VALUES (?,?)', (id, name))
NameError: name 'name' is not defined

Any ideas?

Last edited by CpDavid1408; 06-05-2018 at 07:30.
CpDavid1408 is offline
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 06-10-2018 , 00:53   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #159

Are you using the GitHub version or the latest released version from AlliedMods?
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.
FlaminSarge is offline
CpDavid1408
New Member
Join Date: Jun 2018
Old 06-21-2018 , 10:05   Re: [TF2] TF2 Item DB (replaces tf2itemsinfo)
Reply With Quote #160

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlaminSarge View Post
Are you using the GitHub version or the latest released version from AlliedMods?
I was using both version, right now I managed to get work the GitHub version.
CpDavid1408 is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode