Raised This Month: $51 Target: $400
 12% 

FF2 Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
xXDeathreusXx
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: pPlayer->GetOrigin();
Old 01-16-2014 , 12:01   Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #1

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T44M5ExqTgs
__________________
Plugins|Profile
Requests closed

I'm a smartass by nature, get used to it
xXDeathreusXx is offline
xXDeathreusXx
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: pPlayer->GetOrigin();
Old 01-16-2014 , 23:08   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #2

I know it could be possible to do since it's been done, but I want to know if it's possible with the current abilities or with minimal coding
__________________
Plugins|Profile
Requests closed

I'm a smartass by nature, get used to it
xXDeathreusXx is offline
ezetna
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Old 01-17-2014 , 05:20   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by xXDeathreusXx View Post
In the video, using env_fog_controller
ezetna is offline
friagram
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Old 01-17-2014 , 08:38   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #4

You have to manually add env_fog_controllers to maps that don't have them, before the map starts. One way is stripper source, but there are others.

You can enable /disable and change the color and such via sourcemod anytime after the entity is created.
__________________
Profile - Plugins
Add me on steam if you are seeking sp/map/model commissions.
friagram is offline
xXDeathreusXx
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: pPlayer->GetOrigin();
Old 01-17-2014 , 11:59   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #5

Oh, so it's rather simple actually then, so how do I use stripper so add the controller? I currently use to to change koth logic to arena logic
__________________
Plugins|Profile
Requests closed

I'm a smartass by nature, get used to it
xXDeathreusXx is offline
Snaggle
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Old 01-17-2014 , 15:39   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #6

It's fairly simple to do.
PHP Code:
add:
{
    
"classname"    "env_fog_controller"

I've not tested, but I would assume that will work.
Snaggle is offline
xXDeathreusXx
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: pPlayer->GetOrigin();
Old 01-17-2014 , 15:47   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaggle View Post
It's fairly simple to do.
PHP Code:
add:
{
    
"classname"    "env_fog_controller"

I've not tested, but I would assume that will work.
As simple as that is, do I need to append it to a .cfg file for each map, or have it just in the global filters??
__________________
Plugins|Profile
Requests closed

I'm a smartass by nature, get used to it

Last edited by xXDeathreusXx; 01-17-2014 at 15:48. Reason: Derp
xXDeathreusXx is offline
Snaggle
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: England
Old 01-17-2014 , 15:54   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #8

If you're planning on having it on all maps, you could put it in the global filters yes. I do not know if this will cause conflicts with maps that already have a controller though, not sure if adding 2 will cause issues or not.

If it does, you can probably write a global one to remove any fog controllers and then add your own one in. At least that way you'll be sure there is only 1 at any time.
Snaggle is offline
Chdata
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Computer Chair, Illinois
Old 01-17-2014 , 21:00   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #9

I think the only issue would be if two are trying to do stuff at the same time.

But if you want, you can always give your env_fog a random targetname

"targetname" "sm_fog_controller"

and delete any other fog filters without that targetname


You probably don't even need stripper and could just spawn it if the entity doesn't exist. If it already exists, use that one. If the map came with one, now you don't have to worry about conflicting fogs because you'll overwrite whatever that one is doing.

See ForceTeamWin in saxtonhale.sp
__________________

Last edited by Chdata; 01-18-2014 at 01:47.
Chdata is offline
xXDeathreusXx
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: pPlayer->GetOrigin();
Old 01-19-2014 , 20:39   Re: Would this type of blind be possible to recreate?
Reply With Quote #10

Ok, so I think I know what I need to do, but it doesn't seem to work, should I spawn the entity on map start, round start, or create a timer for the boss that needs this to turn on the fog? And, what density and startdist should I use if I wanted to recreate the one in the video.
__________________
Plugins|Profile
Requests closed

I'm a smartass by nature, get used to it
xXDeathreusXx is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode