Raised This Month: $64 Target: $400
 16% 

[ANY] More RCON [VPN friendly]


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
pimpinjuice
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2006
Plugin ID:
3704
Plugin Version:
1.0.0
Plugin Category:
Server Management
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    RCON from one server to another server
    Old 06-20-2013 , 20:33   [ANY] More RCON [VPN friendly]
    Reply With Quote #1

    Hello,

    This plugin allows you to send RCON commands to another server. Unlike the workaround, the two servers do not need to be using the same RCON password.

    Variables
    sm_morercon_host - IP / Hostname of the remote SRCDS (default: "0.0.0.0")
    sm_morercon_port - Port number of the remote SRCDS (default: "27015")
    sm_morercon_password - RCON password for the remote SRCDS (default: "")

    Commands
    sm_morercon <command> - Execute a command on the remote SRCDS

    How?
    https://developer.valvesoftware.com/..._RCON_Protocol

    Github
    https://github.com/AnthonyIacono/MoreRCON

    VPN Friendly?
    You can use this plugin if you have two servers in the same VPN. If you have questions about this, go ahead and post in this thread. I won't be able to help configure the VPN, but I can always help you apply the plugin.

    This plugin requires the Socket Extension: http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=67640
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (morercon.sp - 141 views - 8.2 KB)
    File Type: smx morercon.smx (6.8 KB, 80 views)
    __________________

    Last edited by pimpinjuice; 06-21-2013 at 16:10.
    pimpinjuice is offline
    Send a message via AIM to pimpinjuice
    salsav91
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Aug 2012
    Location: Where Lollichops sleep
    Old 06-21-2013 , 09:53   Re: [ANY] More RCON
    Reply With Quote #2

    Why not just use Source Bans, doesn't it offer Rcon threw the servers menu to all of the available servers linked? Thats how I do most of my Rcon stuff, if I need to. Someone else may probably find a use for this.
    __________________


    Check out my pony animations. http://www.youtube.com/salsav91
    salsav91 is offline
    thetwistedpanda
    Good Little Panda
    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Old 06-21-2013 , 11:10   Re: [ANY] More RCON
    Reply With Quote #3

    This doesn't require opening a web panel in-game or outside of game to issue rcon. Thankies PJ, will be quite useful, I'll review code for approval in a few days if no one beats me to it.
    __________________
    thetwistedpanda is offline
    Zephyrus
    Cool Pig B)
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Hungary
    Old 06-21-2013 , 11:25   Re: [ANY] More RCON
    Reply With Quote #4

    umm??

    rcon_address <ip:port>
    rcon_password <password>
    rcon <commands>

    works just fine, its built in the engine by default..
    __________________
    Taking private C++/PHP/SourcePawn requests, PM me.
    Zephyrus is offline
    pimpinjuice
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2006
    Old 06-21-2013 , 12:11   Re: [ANY] More RCON
    Reply With Quote #5

    That requires password matching across the servers.

    EDIT: Thanks thetwistedpanda.
    __________________

    Last edited by pimpinjuice; 06-21-2013 at 12:38.
    pimpinjuice is offline
    Send a message via AIM to pimpinjuice
    Zephyrus
    Cool Pig B)
    Join Date: Jun 2010
    Location: Hungary
    Old 06-21-2013 , 17:16   Re: [ANY] More RCON
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by pimpinjuice View Post
    That requires password matching across the servers.

    EDIT: Thanks thetwistedpanda.
    wait, why would you rcon to your server to rcon to another server? whats the point? my solution works just fine in any client console
    __________________
    Taking private C++/PHP/SourcePawn requests, PM me.
    Zephyrus is offline
    pimpinjuice
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2006
    Old 06-21-2013 , 17:44   Re: [ANY] More RCON
    Reply With Quote #7

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Zephyrus View Post
    wait, why would you rcon to your server to rcon to another server? whats the point? my solution works just fine in any client console
    Not so serious answer
    Why does a bear shit in the woods? Because he can.

    Serious answer
    If your servers are behind a firewall or VPN, for example.

    EDIT: Also you might not be inside the client.
    __________________

    Last edited by pimpinjuice; 06-21-2013 at 17:50.
    pimpinjuice is offline
    Send a message via AIM to pimpinjuice
    RedSword
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: Quebec, Canada
    Old 07-05-2013 , 12:26   Re: [ANY] More RCON [VPN friendly]
    Reply With Quote #8

    I recommend you use FCVAR_PROTECTED on that sm_morercon_password convar.

    Also something I find a bit strange about your plugin is that rather than giving unlimited number (or a big number of) of server you can execute RCON commands on, you simply allow to do RCON on one more... It's a bit of a "cheap" way to solve that (don't want to be mean saying that :$).

    I.e. I would have more expected something like either :
    • "read a file" and for each entry you can add a sm_morercon_theservername_host, sm_morercon_theservername_port, sm_morercon_theservername_pw (and maybe put that last one facultative so it can be entered in RAM memory rather than in a file)
    • --or--
    • allow to "register" a server dynamically; and this would create the convars sm_morercon1_* (or with server name), etc...

    I feel like if you were realizing that you would keep missing a variable, but rather than using an array/collection, you would use one more variable. (like currently someone with 3 servers would need to either duplicate your plugin or "chain" rcon-command). I do understand that people with over than 2 servers are rare; but I feel they would maybe like that (That could be an "extended" version of your plugin); even thought I'm not in that category.

    Anyway, just throwing some ideas :/
    __________________
    My plugins :
    Red Maze
    Afk Bomb
    RAWR (per player/rounds Awp Restrict.)
    Kill Assist
    Be Medic

    You can also Donate if you appreciate my work

    Last edited by RedSword; 07-05-2013 at 12:30.
    RedSword is offline
    pimpinjuice
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2006
    Old 07-06-2013 , 21:28   [ANY] More RCON [VPN friendly]
    Reply With Quote #9

    Plugins are basically single threaded, why not just change the variables when you want to change server contexts. You are suggesting a model for creating multiple commands that essentially do the exact same thing.
    __________________
    pimpinjuice is offline
    Send a message via AIM to pimpinjuice
    RedSword
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Mar 2006
    Location: Quebec, Canada
    Old 07-06-2013 , 22:39   Re: [ANY] More RCON [VPN friendly]
    Reply With Quote #10

    I know.

    And what about FCVAR_PROTECTED ?
    __________________
    My plugins :
    Red Maze
    Afk Bomb
    RAWR (per player/rounds Awp Restrict.)
    Kill Assist
    Be Medic

    You can also Donate if you appreciate my work
    RedSword is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode