Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $147
 36% 

[TF2] Better Vote Scramble


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Dr. McKay
Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlantis
Plugin ID:
3445
Plugin Version:
1.2.0
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    13 
    Plugin Description:
    A vote scramble system that uses TF2's built-in scrambler when the next round begins
    Old 01-03-2013 , 00:05   [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #1

    [TF2] Better Vote Scramble

    v1.2.0

    Description:
    The stock TF2 vote scramble system scrambles the teams immediately when a vote passes. This plugin utilizes the stock scrambler to scramble teams when the round following a successful vote begins.

    Players type !votescramble or votescramble, and once the command has been typed enough times (specified by a cvar), a menu-based vote appears. If the vote succeeds, the team scrambler will be scheduled for the beginning of the next round.

    Cvars:
    better_votescramble_version - plugin version
    better_votescramble_percentage - percent of Yes votes required for a vote to pass (defaults to 0.6)
    better_votescramble_votes_required - number of times the !votescramble command must be typed for the vote to appear (defaults to 3)
    better_votescramble_auto_update - enables automatic updating (has no effect if Updater is not installed) (defaults to 1)

    Installation:
    Put votescramble.smx into /addons/sourcemod/plugins, and reboot your server or type "sm plugins load votescramble" into your console or rcon.

    Auto Update:
    Install Updater. The plugin will be auto-updated according to your Updater settings. It'll work without Updater.

    Overrides:
    If you want to restrict access to the !votescramble and votescramble commands, override 'votescramble' in admin_overrides.cfg.

    Changelog:
    • v1.2.0 (8/3/13)
      • Moved scramble time to end of the round instead of the start of the next one, to prevent the round from starting twice
    • v1.1.0 (1/3/13)
      • Added ability to restrict access to !votescramble by overriding 'votescramble'
    • v1.0.0 (1/2/13)
      • Initial release

    Download Plugin (votescramble.smx)
    View Source (votescramble.sp)
    __________________

    Last edited by Dr. McKay; 08-03-2013 at 05:36.
    Dr. McKay is offline
    Smarmy
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Old 01-03-2013 , 00:26   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #2

    I approve of this plugin. Thanks McKay

    This should have been standard in TF2 and allows us to remove gScramble from our server, thanks!
    Smarmy is offline
    CuriousG
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Old 01-03-2013 , 14:25   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #3

    How is this different than gScramble?
    CuriousG is offline
    Dr. McKay
    Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
    Join Date: Aug 2011
    Location: Atlantis
    Old 01-03-2013 , 15:26   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #4

    gScramble hasn't been working properly. Plus I was requested to write this so that a community could remove gScramble completely and rely on the stock balancer, but they wanted on-demand voting.
    __________________
    Dr. McKay is offline
    Powerlord
    Oh Ross.
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Seduce Me!
    Old 01-03-2013 , 15:29   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #5

    mp_scrambleteams has a nasty side-effect in that it resets team scores and rounds played (but not player scores iirc); something Valve's auto-scrambler doesn't do.

    Chances are you actually want mp_scrambleteams 2, which keeps rounds intact:
    Quote:
    Fixed scrambleteams resetting how many rounds have been played
    o Updated mp_scrambleteams to support a parameter of 2, which prevents resetting the number of rounds that have been played
    When I stop being lazy and actually finish NativeVotes (plugin version of BuiltinVotes), chances are this is one of the votes that will appear in the TF2 Vote Manager I plan on writing for it. TF2 itself actually has a vote phrase for scrambling at the end of the round already (#TF_vote_should_scramble_round for use with the VoteStart usermessage), Valve just never implemented it.

    That and I need a plugin to test NativeVotes's vote manager extension points.
    __________________
    So long and thanks for all the fish.

    Last edited by Powerlord; 01-03-2013 at 17:32.
    Powerlord is offline
    island55
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: charleston
    Old 01-03-2013 , 17:18   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #6

    this is great, can you either add to this plugin or make an entirely new plugin that has auto-balance like gscramble with all the options that gscramble had specifically for auto-balance? i myself am looking to alternate plugins to use so i can seperate myself from gscramble.
    island55 is offline
    Dr. McKay
    Sir Dr. SourceMod Plugin Approver Esq. Ltd. M.D. PhD
    Join Date: Aug 2011
    Location: Atlantis
    Old 01-03-2013 , 17:29   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #7

    Thanks Powerlord, I just changed it.
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by island55 View Post
    this is great, can you either add to this plugin or make an entirely new plugin that has auto-balance like gscramble with all the options that gscramble had specifically for auto-balance? i myself am looking to alternate plugins to use so i can seperate myself from gscramble.
    Sorry, but I'm not planning on writing any actual team balancing/scrambling logic. In my opinion, the stock one is the best, which is why I wrote this.
    __________________
    Dr. McKay is offline
    island55
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: charleston
    Old 01-03-2013 , 18:07   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #8

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Dr. McKay View Post
    Thanks Powerlord, I just changed it.

    Sorry, but I'm not planning on writing any actual team balancing/scrambling logic. In my opinion, the stock one is the best, which is why I wrote this.

    i havent yet tried the stock version of auto balance however i'm setting up configs now to use it so we'll see how this goes....
    island55 is offline
    killjoy64
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Apr 2012
    Location: 81.773644,-46.933594
    Old 01-03-2013 , 19:42   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #9

    can you make a cvar so only certain flags can !votescramble
    killjoy64 is offline
    Horsedick
    AlliedModders Donor
    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Old 01-03-2013 , 20:45   Re: [TF2] Better Vote Scramble
    Reply With Quote #10

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by killjoy64 View Post
    can you make a cvar so only certain flags can !votescramble
    use overrides
    Horsedick is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:43.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode