Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $147
 36% 

[TF2] No Domination Broadcast


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Root_
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ryssland
Plugin ID:
3264
Plugin Version:
1.2.2
Plugin Category:
Technical/Development
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    49 
    Plugin Description:
    Disables "Domination & Revenge" features.
    Old 09-27-2012 , 12:06   [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #1

    This dirty little plugin can disable the "Domination & Revenge" features of Team Fortress 2 and helps you to prevent lower skilled players from rage quitting.
    This plugin may be useful for TF2DM, MGEMod, Saxton Hale, ZombieMod and other servers like that.

    By default, "Player X is dominating Player Y" is displayed in the death message area if someone kills another player 4 times in a row without being killed by that player for everyone to see.
    The scoreboard shows who you are dominating and who is your Nemesis (i.e. dominating you).

    After installing the plugin, there will be no notices about Dominations or Revenges at all anymore, not as a death message addition, not as sprite above 'Nemesis' head and not on the scoreboard either.

    There's only one ConVar: sm_nodominations = Disable Domination & Revenge broadcasting?
    By default the value is 1 (i.e. disable broadcasting)
    To enable Domination & Revenge broadcasting again set value to 0

    NOTES:
    -Plugin requires SDKHooks for running
    -Plugin is using Updater by GoD-Tony, so you'll need to download it if you want to re-compile plugin

    Servers with this plugin

    Download plugin
    Browse source code
    __________________


    dodsplugins.com - Plugins and Resources for Day of Defeat
    http://twitch.tv/zadroot

    Last edited by Root_; 09-02-2013 at 05:11.
    Root_ is offline
    Powerlord
    Oh Ross.
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Seduce Me!
    Old 09-27-2012 , 12:54   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #2

    I'd avoid using tf_ cvars, as Valve uses tf_ for its own internal cvars.
    __________________
    So long and thanks for all the fish.
    Powerlord is offline
    Root_
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: ryssland
    Old 09-27-2012 , 13:27   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #3

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
    Valve uses tf_ for its own internal cvars.
    That's why I created cvar witf tf_ prefix, it looks neat
    Also I seen some TF2 plugins is also using tf_ prefix, and that's not bad I guess
    __________________


    dodsplugins.com - Plugins and Resources for Day of Defeat
    http://twitch.tv/zadroot
    Root_ is offline
    FaTony
    BANNED
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Old 09-27-2012 , 18:50   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #4

    SetNetProps doesn't need to be public, otherwise nice.
    FaTony is offline
    MasterOfTheXP
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Aug 2011
    Location: Cloudbank
    Old 09-27-2012 , 21:34   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #5

    I think that cvar is fine, personally. You're probably gonna need to change the version cvar, though.
    __________________
    Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)
    MasterOfTheXP is offline
    Powerlord
    Oh Ross.
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Seduce Me!
    Old 09-27-2012 , 22:02   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Root_ View Post
    That's why I created cvar witf tf_ prefix, it looks neat
    Also I seen some TF2 plugins is also using tf_ prefix, and that's not bad I guess
    The problem with tf (along with sv, mp, and cl) is that Valve can come along later and use that cvar, which means your plugin will start throwing errors as it tries to create a cvar that already exists.
    __________________
    So long and thanks for all the fish.
    Powerlord is offline
    CuriousG
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Old 09-27-2012 , 23:14   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #7

    Will this mess with stat programs like TF2 Stats, HLstatsX, gameME?
    CuriousG is offline
    Root_
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jan 2012
    Location: ryssland
    Old 09-28-2012 , 09:02   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #8

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
    The problem with tf (along with sv, mp, and cl) is that Valve can come along later and use that cvar, which means your plugin will start throwing errors as it tries to create a cvar that already exists.
    I think dominations will never be disabled in TF2. Its a part of the game, which also have been added to other OB games.
    Anyway if valve will do it (we're all know how they broke everything) i'll update my plugin immediate

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by CuriousG View Post
    Will this mess with stat programs like TF2 Stats, HLstatsX, gameME?
    Not sure about HLstatsX or gameME
    EDIT: I've been tested plugin with TF2Stats plugin, and dominated bot twice (with enabled and disabled plugin), so I got a 1 domination tracked in the database instead of 2
    If you meaning kill streak like 'Domination (4 kills)' or 'Godlike (23 kills)' - it will work perfectly, because those events working along the death flags
    __________________


    dodsplugins.com - Plugins and Resources for Day of Defeat
    http://twitch.tv/zadroot

    Last edited by Root_; 09-28-2012 at 09:12.
    Root_ is offline
    Powerlord
    Oh Ross.
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Seduce Me!
    Old 09-28-2012 , 09:35   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #9

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Root_ View Post
    I think dominations will never be disabled in TF2. Its a part of the game, which also have been added to other OB games.
    Anyway if valve will do it (we're all know how they broke everything) i'll update my plugin immediate
    There is already a cvar to hide them in tournament mode.
    __________________
    So long and thanks for all the fish.
    Powerlord is offline
    Leonardo
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Soviet Union
    Old 09-28-2012 , 12:37   Re: [TF2] No Domination Broadcast
    Reply With Quote #10

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Powerlord View Post
    There is already a cvar to hide them in tournament mode.
    but there's no cvar to hide them *not* in tournament mode.
    Leonardo is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 22:31.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode