Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $269
 67% 

[Solved] This game conflicts with the games already installed in that directory.


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 04-27-2012 , 15:16   [Solved] This game conflicts with the games already installed in that directory.
Reply With Quote #1



Getting that when I try to update my mini-server to the latest TF2 update.

I also got the same error when trying to update CS:S two days ago. I figured that I got the error because I haven't updated the game in what must have been a year...re-installed it to a completely different directory...and the newly installed server just quits after starting.

And now, I'm getting the same error for TF2. Wat do?
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)

Last edited by MasterOfTheXP; 04-27-2012 at 16:42.
MasterOfTheXP is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Old 04-27-2012 , 16:15   Re: Can't Update: This game conflicts with the games already installed in that direct
Reply With Quote #2

Have you installed both source game-mods in same directory ??
D:\srcds

You need install separate.
Bacardi is offline
Powerlord
Oh Ross.
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 04-27-2012 , 16:16   Re: Can't Update: This game conflicts with the games already installed in that direct
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterOfTheXP View Post


Getting that when I try to update my mini-server to the latest TF2 update.

I also got the same error when trying to update CS:S two days ago. I figured that I got the error because I haven't updated the game in what must have been a year...re-installed it to a completely different directory...and the newly installed server just quits after starting.

And now, I'm getting the same error for TF2. Wat do?
I haven't gotten this error before, but my first instinct would be to rename or delete HLDSUpdateTool's InstallRecord.blob. It should be in the same directory as HLDSUpdateTool.exe. Then try to update again. This will force it to rebuild its install record, which hopefully will make it stop being confused about which game is installed.

On a side note, if you're installing to the same directory that hldsupdatetool is in, you can specify . as the directory (that's a single period).
__________________
Like my work? Now taking donations.
I tend to be blunt.
My SourceMod Plugins
PropHunt Dev Server: tf2.rbemrose.com:27015
Testing backlog: NativeVotes, Opt-in MultiMod (low priority)

Last edited by Powerlord; 04-27-2012 at 16:18.
Powerlord is offline
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 04-27-2012 , 16:41   Re: Can't Update: This game conflicts with the games already installed in that direct
Reply With Quote #4

Oooh.

I googled when trying to fix the CS:S server and what I found said to delete InstallRecord.blob, I did that and forgot to revert the change after it didn't work.

I just restored my old InstallRecord, and now it's happily installing the update. Thanks!
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)
MasterOfTheXP is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode