Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $602
 150% 

SRCDS Choke


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Smarmy
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Old 04-07-2012 , 03:29   SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #1

Server OS: CentOS 6.2 (kernel 2.6.32-220.7.1.el6.x86_64)
Processor: Xeon E3-1230 3.2 Ghz (HT)
Ram: 8GB
Game(s): TF2
Start Up Command: -game tf -ip $IP -port $PORT -autoupdate +maxplayers 32 +map cp_dustbowl
Admin Mods: Sourcemod, but have also tried without any mods at all loaded (No MM and SM)

The issue: I seem to be experiencing quite a bit of choke (5-15 average, spiking up to 50 when a lot is going on) on my server. I've googled for a few hours and set what I believe to be values that
should correct this, but it's not. Others have experienced this choke as well so it's not limited to my system alone.

Here is the current settings from server.cfg

sv_client_cmdrate_difference 30
sv_client_max_interp_ratio 1
sv_client_min_interp_ratio 0
sv_client_predict 1
sv_maxrate 30000
sv_minrate 15000
sv_maxcmdrate 66
sv_mincmdrate 50 (tried with 33)
sv_maxupdaterate 66
sv_minupdaterate 50 (tried with 33)
net_splitpacket_maxrate 30000 (added this to try to correct the problem)

I've also read various threads with no clear answers on what to do. This post in particular interested me, however:

http://forums.alliedmods.net/showpost.ph...stcount=13

Any help would be appreciated.
Smarmy is offline
TheAvengers2
BANNED
Join Date: Jul 2011
Old 04-07-2012 , 05:48   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #2

I've got basically the same setup and basically the same issues. You're getting high choke because the servers cpu usage is spiking to 100% at times and can't keep up. The likely cause is cpu intensive plugins or simply too many players and entities to process. If you check net_graph 4, then you'll see random spaces in between the graph. I also think there's something wrong with the linux srcds. I was doing some tests on a vanilla srcds with only 4 players and it was at 0% most of the time, but for some reason, it kept randomly spiking to 100% every once in a while. I also did the same tests on a windows nfo box and didn't see these random spikes.

Woah! That's interesting.. Maybe it is a rate issue.

Last edited by TheAvengers2; 04-08-2012 at 03:20.
TheAvengers2 is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Old 04-07-2012 , 05:49   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #3

Don't know where you copy those rates but 30000 is pretty low rate for even 30 players server.
When server is full players and they start jumping and shoot crazy, there is lot of info to share to all players.

If server upload bandwidth allow, try min rate 50000 and max about... 100000.

rate = bytes per second
50000 B/s * 30 = 1500000 B/s
~1500 KB/s

convert to bits
1500 KB/s * 8 = 12000 Kbps
~12 Mbps

But this how I'm calculating. Maybe wrong but close.


*edit
If somebody is willing share knowledge, using rcon (or type server console input)
Code:
] stats 
CPU    In (KB/s)  Out (KB/s)  Uptime  Map changes  FPS      Players  Connects
68.31  5.46       20.60       9       1            28.43    31       56
when there lot of action and players on server, of course set server min rate very high and max rate.
This example was 30 bots and one real players

*edit
Also, voice/mic communicate take server bandwidth.
__________________

Last edited by Bacardi; 04-07-2012 at 06:06.
Bacardi is offline
Smarmy
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Old 04-07-2012 , 07:22   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #4

Interesting.. I've played on several 32 player servers which cap their rate at about 30000 and don't suffer from this kind of Choke.
Smarmy is offline
TheAvengers2
BANNED
Join Date: Jul 2011
Old 04-07-2012 , 08:04   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarmy View Post
Interesting.. I've played on several 32 player servers which cap their rate at about 30000 and don't suffer from this kind of Choke.
There's really no point to set it any higher imo. I don't think I've seen clients requesting more than 20-22KB/s even with my servers slots were full and a lot of voice chatter was going on. >30000 (29KB/s) seems to be complete over kill since I haven't seen individual clients ever receiving that much. I suppose you could set it higher, but like i said they won't ever use that much unless you have like 64 players.

Last edited by TheAvengers2; 04-08-2012 at 03:21.
TheAvengers2 is offline
Bacardi
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Old 04-07-2012 , 10:02   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #6

I don' think that "rate" will exactly cap to that value.
Like player rate 30000 = get at its best something 18.29 KB/s, then start get "choke" if there happen lot of action.

But when allow bigger rates (50000) it could increase close 30 KB/s temporary of course, debend situation.
Are all players in same area shooting or spread all over the map so they not see each other.
Depend maps how wide area those have.
But better way is testing.

And if you change server min/max rates, players need reconnect. Map change enough that.



*
264.59 KB/s with 29 players
To Kbps
264.59 KB/s * 8 = 2116.72 Kbps
~ 2 Mbps in that current time.
__________________

Last edited by Bacardi; 04-07-2012 at 12:14.
Bacardi is offline
TheAvengers2
BANNED
Join Date: Jul 2011
Old 04-07-2012 , 14:29   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacardi View Post
Like player rate 30000 = get at its best something 18.29 KB/s, then start get "choke" if there happen lot of action.

But when allow bigger rates (50000) it could increase close 30 KB/s temporary of course, debend situation.
Are all players in same area shooting or spread all over the map so they not see each other.
Depend maps how wide area those have.
But better way is testing.
I set my sv_minrate to 50000 and waited until map change. I'm not really seeing any changes in in/out or choke, but I'll take your word for it. Perhaps my servers maps are considered small or something? Either way, I haven't actually seen my client using all of the available rate which means it shouldn't really matter whether the rate is set really high or not.

Edit: Hmm.. that's interesting. I did see a few in/out spikes to like 50KB/s. I think you might be onto something with the rates.

Last edited by TheAvengers2; 04-08-2012 at 03:22.
TheAvengers2 is offline
Jstn7477
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Florida, USA
Old 04-07-2012 , 23:57   Re: SRCDS Choke
Reply With Quote #8

I find with TF2 I need 50-60K minimum on a 24 slot server to maintain 0-5 choke with my client's cl_cmdrate and cl_updaterate set to 67 (and letting the server automatically set me to the sv_minrate value). My pubs used to be set for 100K/unlimited by NFO but I reduced them to 60K min/100K max with no issues.

My UGC highlander match server, however, is set to 20K/60K per their rules and at 20K there is about 50-60 choke and only about 33 ticks coming in. Theoretically, doubling that rate to 40K should get me about 66 ticks but I find 50K or 60K to be better for me choke-wise.

With net_graph 4 open, if there is a ton of choke and little to no loss, lots of empty spots in the graph and your "in" value on the far right is nowhere close to "66.7/s" then your rates are too low.

Example of crappy rate (the competitive mandated one (20K minimum) to make everything fair):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/52...6C12ACB4E395A/

Example of good rate (60K minimum on a 24 player pub):
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/52...817D7D09EE41E/

My computer consists of an i7-2600K @ 4.5GHz and a Radeon HD 6970 with a 120Hz ASUS VG236HE LCD monitor, so my game can maintain ~120FPS with VSYNC enabled (I mention this because you would ideally need to maintain 67 or greater FPS on a 66 tick server with 66 tick client settings to have 66 tick both in and out constantly).
__________________
Yo , I heard you like , so I put a in your so you can while you .

Last edited by Jstn7477; 04-07-2012 at 23:59.
Jstn7477 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:25.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode