Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $298
 74% 

[EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
amperage
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Old 01-01-2012 , 18:32   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #361

Quote:
Originally Posted by amperage View Post
I have tried to load Sockets into CS:S but it causes the server to crash unfortunately. Has anyone else had any luck at this?

Thanks
Ok I have found out my issue and resolved it. For others here is what I was doing:

I was originally doing this all at work where I'm on Ubuntu on my work computer and I guess FileZilla was not uploading the files correctly; IE:

ASCII vs BINARY

I also updated sourcemod to 1.4.1 as when uploading it before (and even Metamod when setting up a test server) it would crash and I'm sure it was this setting in FileZilla that was messing me up. Make sure your upload method via FTP is set to AUTO.

As for the rest I was receiving spam in my apache log stating the following:

Code:
fclose(): supplied argument is not a valid stream resource
Filename: Xmpphp/XMLStream.php 
Line Number: 403
This was because it was trying to have it connect to google-talk servers which apparently have a known bug with this plugin. Some people have fixed it by recoding some of XMPPHP's XMLStream and Roster.php files but no one left an actual "How to fix it" guide.

I configured it to use jabber.org's jabber servers via XMPPHP and it worked fine without any issues. I've even added a mail function to send emails to admins who wish to not get an extra IM client.

Let me know if I missed anything on fixing this or if you may need help.
amperage is offline
IRJustman
New Member
Join Date: Apr 2011
Old 03-05-2012 , 04:24   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #362

I was doing some testing of my installation of a Team Fortress 2 server under FreeBSD 9.0-RELEASE using its Linux compatibility layer. Under FreeBSD 9.0-RELEASE amd64, the server crashes when I try to load Kigen Anti-Cheat which requires the Socket extensions. Under FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE amd64, it fires up just fine. And if I remove Kigen from my plugin load under FreeBSD 9.0-RELEASE, it also fires up fine, so I suspect the Socket extension as being the culprit here. Not so much the extension itself, but the extension is tickling a system call emulation bug.

What's a good way to get a crash dump so I can do a backtrace so I can inform the FreeBSD developers of what might be going wrong?

Thanks.

--IJ.

Last edited by IRJustman; 03-05-2012 at 04:31.
IRJustman is offline
seattle_ice
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Old 03-14-2012 , 20:51   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #363

So where can I get socket.inc? I have looked but can't seem to find it.
seattle_ice is offline
bl4nk
SourceMod Developer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Old 03-14-2012 , 22:48   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #364

socket_3.0.1.zip\addons\sourcemod\scripting\i nclude\socket.inc

Last edited by bl4nk; 03-14-2012 at 22:48.
bl4nk is offline
seattle_ice
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Old 03-15-2012 , 02:15   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #365

Quote:
Originally Posted by bl4nk View Post
socket_3.0.1.zip\addons\sourcemod\scripting\i nclude\socket.inc
Thanks. Somehow, the first zip file I downloaded did not have that folder in it. I downloaded it again and "voila", there it was.
seattle_ice is offline
Dr. Greg House
Homeskillet
Join Date: Jun 2010
Old 03-20-2012 , 14:09   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #366

I'm using the latest linux release of this (with updated sourcemod and metamod) and the provided example.sp creates the file "dl.htm", however it has 0 bytes. No entries in the logs or server console either.
Any ideas?

Last edited by Dr. Greg House; 03-20-2012 at 14:49.
Dr. Greg House is offline
Grognak
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2012
Old 04-04-2012 , 17:34   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #367

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkyLoveCow View Post
How do I get this to work with GET parameters in the URL?
I'm having the same issue. I can download files perfectly, but not if I add ?q='blah' at the end. Is this even possible with Socket?
Grognak is offline
DeathMaster
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 05-08-2012 , 01:24   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #368

Is there a trick to getting this extension to load? no matter what I try nothing works...

EDIT:

I just tried to force it to load (sm exts load socket & sm exts load socket.ext) in both server.cfg and sourcemod.cfg and it simply wont load

Last edited by DeathMaster; 05-08-2012 at 01:45. Reason: tried to force it
DeathMaster is offline
Jоnny
Senior Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Old 05-08-2012 , 04:01   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #369

its so sad!
Jоnny is offline
Powerlord
Oh Ross.
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 05-08-2012 , 11:30   Re: [EXTENSION] Socket (3.0.1)
Reply With Quote #370

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathMaster View Post
Is there a trick to getting this extension to load? no matter what I try nothing works...

EDIT:

I just tried to force it to load (sm exts load socket & sm exts load socket.ext) in both server.cfg and sourcemod.cfg and it simply wont load
Most extensions only load when there is a plugin that requires them. Socket is one of them.

You can force it to load by creating an empty file named socket.autoload in the extensions directory.
__________________
My SourceMod Plugins
PropHunt Dev Server: tf2.rbemrose.com:27015
Testing backlog: NativeVotes, Opt-in MultiMod (low priority)

Last edited by Powerlord; 05-08-2012 at 11:31.
Powerlord is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:45.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode