Raised This Month: $94 Target: $400
 23% 

ServerSay


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Plugin Info:     Modification:   ALL        Category:   Admin Commands        Approver:   twistedeuphoria (82)
Jordan44053
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 09-18-2005 , 00:56   ServerSay
Reply With Quote #1

I searched and I didn't see that this was done before, so I decided to post it.

I'll be honest, it's my first plugin. I had a lot of help from Shuriken (listed in Author) although I did do some of it. Anyway, what it does:

The Purpose:
The purpose of this plugin is fairly simple... its purpose is to relay messages from an in-game admin with ADMIN_CHAT privileges (access i) to the server console, where it will be said as if it was typed into the server console.

Installation:
If you downloaded the .amxx file, copy it to your /mod/addons/amxmodx/plugins/ folder, and add ServerSay.amxx to the bottom of the plugins.ini (/mod/addons/amxmodx/configs/).
If you downloaded the .sma file, compile it in the scripting folder, then follow the directions for an .amxx file.

Usage:
There's not a large and obvious purpose to this plugin... although it seems a message delivered through the server console is noticed more than a regular message. It works for any mod... there's only one command though.
amx_serversay <message>
Will display the message as:
<Server Name> <message>

Example:
amx_serversay Welcome to the server.
Will display to the people in the server as:
<Server Name> Welcome to the server.

Lots of documentation for a tiny plugin.

Stats:
27 lines of code
2 hours of work (learning too, first plugin of mine)
Uses ADMIN_CHAT access.

If you don't like it, sorry. I tried, I just felt I might as well post it.

Update (12/29/2005):
Wow, it got approved! It probably did a while ago, I just never noticed. Anyway, I updated Serversay since it got approved... if the message to the console contains a semi-colon it displays only what is to the left of the semi-colon AND slaps the player for 25 damage.

Update(12/29/2005) (Yes, two in one day):
I just finished enabling the ability to define servername by Cvar (as requested by Hawk552). The cvar is amx_serversay_display, and if it's not EXACTLY 0, it displays the CVAR as the name.
Attached Files
File Type: sma Get Plugin or Get Source (serversay.sma - 3790 views - 1.7 KB)
Jordan44053 is offline
kILL-jOY
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Old 09-20-2005 , 17:59  
Reply With Quote #2

could be useful but an admin could just download kontrol and if they know the rcon they could do it through kontrol
__________________
**|$uperHero|** Free level 8 / 75+ Heroes / BuyXP at 68.191.146.3:27015 - CS 1.6


kILL-jOY is offline
PM
hello, i am pm
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canalization
Old 09-20-2005 , 18:35  
Reply With Quote #3

amx_rcon say (BLA BLA)
rcon say (BLA BLA)
__________________
hello, i am pm
PM is offline
Hawk552
AMX Mod X Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 09-20-2005 , 18:39  
Reply With Quote #4

Not too bad, it would be better if you could define what the server's name would be while talking. Maybe based on a cvar?
__________________
Hawk552 is offline
Send a message via AIM to Hawk552
Jordan44053
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 09-20-2005 , 22:13  
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
amx_rcon say (BLA BLA)
rcon say (BLA BLA)
I am aware of that. However, this is simpler and it doesn't require ADMIN_RCON to perform it.

Quote:
Not too bad, it would be better if you could define what the server's name would be while talking. Maybe based on a cvar?
Do you mean change what the name appears as, aside from the actual server's name? The intention was to just make it simpler than switching to the server console (or using a seperate program), but also not requiring you to give out ADMIN_RCON to someone.
Jordan44053 is offline
Hawk552
AMX Mod X Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 09-20-2005 , 22:19  
Reply With Quote #6

Yeah but my server's hostname is really long. Basically what I was wondering is if the cvar is defined as something, use it. If not, then just make it a server say.

It's just really hard to see the server say messages in my server. So much chat spam and stuff.
__________________
Hawk552 is offline
Send a message via AIM to Hawk552
Xanimos
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florida
Old 09-20-2005 , 22:22  
Reply With Quote #7

any admin can now do
amx_serversay *************
and it would say hello then it would run whatever command they have.

**Edited for admin abuser perposes
Xanimos is offline
Send a message via AIM to Xanimos Send a message via MSN to Xanimos
Jordan44053
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 09-20-2005 , 22:33  
Reply With Quote #8

And some admins may not have known that, but since you posted it... (not being rude, just pointing it out)
Jordan44053 is offline
Xanimos
Veteran Member
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Florida
Old 09-20-2005 , 22:35  
Reply With Quote #9

Just letting you know....and I fixed it.
Xanimos is offline
Send a message via AIM to Xanimos Send a message via MSN to Xanimos
Jordan44053
Junior Member
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 09-20-2005 , 22:45  
Reply With Quote #10

Okay, well... thanks.

Edit:
Well, I finally got around to fixing that.
Jordan44053 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:05.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode