Raised This Month: $182 Target: $400
 45% 

[ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Plugin ID:
2260
Plugin Version:
1.3
Plugin Category:
Server Management
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    88 
    Plugin Description:
    Variable Choke / Ping | Latency / Loss Kicker.
    Old 03-03-2011 , 22:27   [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #1

    What is this?
    This is a Choke / Ping | Latency / Loss kicker.

    Alright... um.... What makes this different then Liam's or Msleeper's Ping kicker plugin.
    Well, the major downfall to using their takes on this is they deal with static data. Regardless of what the rest of the servers latency is, clients are kicked if they break the static limit. If the server is being attacked, if the server is having network issues. Everyone will be kicked. This is just stupid. What this does is it gets the lowest Ping/Choke/Loss value in the server, and creates a limit based on that.

    Cool! But I want my admins to be immune to this!
    Of course. By default anyone with the Reservation flag is immune.

    What can I configure about this?
    Quite a few things actually, here's a list.

    nt_enabled - Is the plugin enabled?
    nt_minplayercount - How many players have to be in game until this is started.
    nt_checkrate - How often the plugin checks client values.
    nt_kickvocalize - Should kicks be vocalized to the server or not.
    nt_warningvocalize - Should the client be warned that he is going to be kicked unless if something drastically changes with his connection.
    nt_logenabled - Should I be logging kicks?
    nt_logformatext - Log Filename Time Format.
    nt_logformatint - Log Internal Time Format.

    nt_choke_enable - Should the Choke Checker be enabled?
    nt_choke_addition - What should the limit be based on the lowest choke value?
    nt_choke_threashold - How many consecutive checks the client has to fail before he's kicked from the server (Choke).

    nt_latency_enable - Should the Latency Checker be enabled?
    nt_latency_addition - What should the limit be based on the lowest latency value?
    nt_lat_threashold - How many consecutive checks the client has to fail before he's kicked from the server (Latency).
    nt_liammethod - Should we use Liam's method to get a more accurate latency time?

    nt_loss_enable - Should the Loss Checker be enabled?
    nt_loss_addition - What should the limit be based on the lowest loss value?
    nt_loss_threashold - How many consecutive checks the client has to fail before he's kicked from the server (Loss).

    Alright, thanks for those CVars. I'll manually configure them!
    Sounds like a plan. Remember this plugin reads values from cfg/sourcemod/networktools.cfg and you should NOT place them elsewhere. Also remember you do not need to edit them (The Suggested values I personally think are best).

    Are there any commands? How can I be certain that this is working?
    Yup! There sure are.

    nt_display on its own will give you some information about the entered convars. If it's active and what not. nt_display with a target (ie nt_display Kyle12) will display information about the client (Current Value | Broken Limit/Max limit before kick). This will also tell you if the plugin is actively monitoring the client.
    nt_toggle will toggle immunity on specific clients (Should they be kicked for breaking the limits).

    What does this act as a replacement for?
    This acts as a replacement for the following:
    High Ping Kicker - Lite Edition
    Very Basic High Ping Kicker (Updated 7/15/10)
    RateTables (for the Linux Kernel).

    Credits:
    Liam -
    Using his alternative method for getting client latency.
    Psychonic - Answering generic questions in IRC.
    Secondary Protocol - Being an awesome tester.
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (NetworkTools.sp - 2699 views - 20.8 KB)

    Last edited by KyleS; 07-05-2011 at 01:26. Reason: New version!
    KyleS is offline
    sinblaster
    Grim Reaper
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Australia
    Old 03-04-2011 , 22:19   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #2

    This looks fantastic Ill try it out thanks Kyle

    I don't quite get this cvar
    // Are we using Liam's method from HPK-Lite for getting client latency?
    // -
    // Default: "0"
    nt_liammethod "0"


    Also, being a bit of a noob on chokes/latency etc. I deny people above 150 ping so if changing this:
    // Default: "250"
    nt_latency_addition "150"

    Should I be changing anything else, as it is I am trusting your default settings.


    EDIT:
    Well I must be doing something wrong or it isn't working. I loaded up my network until I had an average ping of 400 / choke 50 / loss average 3 and played for 10 min without a message or kick
    __________________
    Happy Happy Joy Joy


    Last edited by sinblaster; 03-04-2011 at 23:23.
    sinblaster is offline
    KyleS
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Segmentation Fault.
    Old 03-05-2011 , 02:49   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #3

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sinblaster View Post
    I don't quite get this cvar
    // Are we using Liam's method from HPK-Lite for getting client latency?
    // -
    // Default: "0"
    nt_liammethod "0"
    Liam has his own unique way of getting client latency. I tried to contact him for two days and didn't get a response so I added that cvar with his method in there (Choke is tolerable, Loss really isnt).
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sinblaster View Post
    Also, being a bit of a noob on chokes/latency etc. I deny people above 150 ping so if changing this:
    // Default: "250"
    nt_latency_addition "150"

    Should I be changing anything else, as it is I am trusting your default settings.
    That is correct. Everything else should be fine. Just use your client as a base value for choke/loss and go from there.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by sinblaster View Post
    EDIT:
    Well I must be doing something wrong or it isn't working. I loaded up my network until I had an average ping of 400 / choke 50 / loss average 3 and played for 10 min without a message or kick
    If you have less then 12 players ingame this will not kick anyone (This is configurable by a convar). If it's just yourself ingame you will not be checked (This also includes 'Reservation Flag' immunity by default).
    KyleS is offline
    sinblaster
    Grim Reaper
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Australia
    Old 03-05-2011 , 04:38   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #4

    Thanks for thos answers. I actually set the cfg to 1 player and assumed it would work. I removed my flags first.
    __________________
    Happy Happy Joy Joy

    sinblaster is offline
    KyleS
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Segmentation Fault.
    Old 03-05-2011 , 15:36   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #5

    Since it gets the minimum value from players in game, this will not function with just one player.
    KyleS is offline
    KawMAN
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Sep 2007
    Location: Cracov
    Old 03-05-2011 , 16:09   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #6

    Hm this is similar to Ratewatcher http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=738166
    __________________
    KawMAN is offline
    Send a message via ICQ to KawMAN Send a message via Skype™ to KawMAN
    KyleS
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Segmentation Fault.
    Old 03-05-2011 , 21:35   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #7

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by KawMAN View Post
    KyleS is offline
    PpZ | Iconoclast
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Feb 2008
    Old 03-07-2011 , 11:12   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #8

    Do admins have immunity? If not, I think this would be a very useful addition - I often get lag spikes that cause my ping to rise way over the normal value...I wouldn't want to get kicked from my own server just because of that!
    __________________
    PpZ | Iconoclast is offline
    KyleS
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Segmentation Fault.
    Old 03-07-2011 , 15:22   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #9

    Anyone with the Reservation flag will not be kicked by this.
    KyleS is offline
    adrianman
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Sep 2010
    Old 03-09-2011 , 05:00   Re: [ANY] Network Tools (Ping Choke Loss Kicker).
    Reply With Quote #10

    i agree with sinblaster, it doesn't do anything,i set the players to 4 and it didn't kick the guy with 500 ping,where min was 250,and about 8 players
    adrianman is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 20:57.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode