Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $147
 36% 

[OB] Chat Fixer.


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Plugin ID:
2198
Plugin Version:
1.1b
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Any
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    9 
    Plugin Description:
    Work Around for a Chat bug.
    Old 01-30-2011 , 05:27   [OB] Chat Fixer.
    Reply With Quote #1

    Uh, can you elaborate? What is this?
    I'd really not like to, but for you? Ok. The bug is simple, just use the command say (or say_team), or press your favourite say bind, and hold down spacebar until you have 118+ spaces. When this happens, and you press return. Colours will be stripped from chat, and no notification that any other messages have been sent until chat reaches below the 'exploited' line.

    Who cares? I've known about this for ages and haven't done anything about it.
    Welp, shame on you.

    I want Translations, I want different colours! NAO!
    Ugh, this is meant to be temporary until Valve fixes it. Since their main work force is behind keeping clients updated, and secure (lol), it hopefully shouldn't be long.
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (ChatFixer.sp - 496 views - 1.0 KB)

    Last edited by KyleS; 04-30-2011 at 02:12.
    KyleS is offline
    Atreus
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Apr 2005
    Location: San Diego, CA
    Old 01-31-2011 , 08:35   Re: [OB] Chat Fixer.
    Reply With Quote #2

    Hopefully this won't be needed, but better to have it than not. Thanks
    Atreus is offline
    Send a message via AIM to Atreus Send a message via MSN to Atreus
    KyleS
    SourceMod Plugin Approver
    Join Date: Jul 2009
    Location: Segmentation Fault.
    Old 03-22-2011 , 01:13   Re: [OB] Chat Fixer.
    Reply With Quote #3

    Upped version 1.1

    I did something rather silly before. It's fixed now, enjoy :p
    KyleS is offline
    Powerlord
    Oh Ross.
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Seduce Me!
    Old 08-15-2012 , 14:48   Re: [OB] Chat Fixer.
    Reply With Quote #4

    Two things I noticed when looking at the code:
    • The documentation in the post mentions 118 spaces, but the source only checks the first 33 characters (0-32).
    • The code treats any multi-byte characters as spaces.


    I was wondering if there was a reason for either of those.
    __________________
    So long and thanks for all the fish.
    Powerlord is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:39.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode