Monthly Target: $400 Donations: $23
 5% 

[TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
FoxMulder
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orlando, FL
Plugin ID:
2151
Plugin Version:
1.0.1
Plugin Category:
Server Management
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Approver:
    Plugin Description:
    Prevents Medic Amputator glitch that allows others to have perma-regen health
    Servers with this Plugin:
    7 
    Old 01-01-2011 , 08:13   [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #1

    About:
    Prevents Medic Amputator glitch that allows others to have permanent regenerating health.

    CVar:
    sm_medic_glitchfix_enable [0/1]

    How:
    *Checks to see if client was taunting with the Amputator when disconnecting.
    *If they were then a FakeClientCommand of Explode is sent to that client so that the game itself can cleanup the effects.

    Alerts:
    When a possible exploit is attempted the following message is logged and printed to chat
    Quote:
    Possible exploit attempt by: UserName [SteamID]
    Updates in 1.0.1:
    • Fixed description for plugin
    • Added check for active weapon being Amputator
    • Actions are now saved to the SourceMod logs
    • Cleaned up code a bit
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (medic_glitchfix.sp - 572 views - 2.3 KB)
    File Type: smx medic_glitchfix.smx (3.6 KB, 151 views)
    __________________

    Last edited by FoxMulder; 01-01-2011 at 19:44.
    FoxMulder is offline
    Boltersdriveer
    Member
    Join Date: Jan 2011
    Old 01-01-2011 , 08:16   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #2

    Hi! Thanks for this. I just installed it on a TF2 Server and it works flawlessly. Until Valve patches this, this is a good fix for the problem ;)
    Boltersdriveer is offline
    xomp
    BANNED
    Join Date: Jul 2008
    Old 01-01-2011 , 11:21   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #3

    Thanks for this, there's already several movements to troll servers with this new glitch on FP so I'm glad to nip it in the bud early.
    xomp is offline
    Send a message via Skype™ to xomp
    LordFear
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Dec 2009
    Location: Sweden
    Old 01-01-2011 , 11:35   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #4

    Explode is one of the protected commands and can't be executed on a client.

    I'm not denying that it works though. I just tried it. But I find it strange.

    Last edited by LordFear; 01-01-2011 at 12:07.
    LordFear is offline
    Kevin_b_er
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Old 01-01-2011 , 14:36   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #5

    FakeClientCommand doesn't send the command to the client, it ends up sending the command the server's API for processing commands from clients. The server is made to think the client ran a command.

    You should look into the "%N" and "%L" format specifiers. They could make things cleaner.
    __________________
    Kevin_b_er is offline
    Afronanny
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Aug 2009
    Old 01-01-2011 , 16:29   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #6

    And to think. I was editing Wazz's old CTFPlayerShared extension to clean it up without killing anyone. Such hackery wasn't even necessary...
    Afronanny is offline
    Kevin_b_er
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Old 01-01-2011 , 17:38   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #7

    OK so it appears I was a bit premature in approval for want to see the exploit patched sooner.

    1. Doesn't check m_hActiveWeapon, so a taunt disconnect with any weapon while amputator is equipped will trip it.
    2. Description used for sm_medic_glitchfix_enable is utterly wrong. (Copied from another plugin).

    Please fix those.
    __________________
    Kevin_b_er is offline
    FoxMulder
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Jan 2009
    Location: Orlando, FL
    Old 01-01-2011 , 19:36   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #8

    Oops, was in a rush when I released this.

    Changes:
    • Fixed description for plugin
    • Added check for active weapon being Amputator
    • Actions are now saved to the SourceMod logs
    • Cleaned up code a bit
    __________________
    FoxMulder is offline
    Kevin_b_er
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Old 01-01-2011 , 19:37   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #9

    And now there's no plugin attached.
    __________________
    Kevin_b_er is offline
    Cuz
    Senior Member
    Join Date: May 2007
    Location: Alaska
    Old 01-01-2011 , 21:10   Re: [TF2] Medic Amputator Glitch Fix
    Reply With Quote #10

    Thank You !
    Cuz is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode