Raised This Month: $168 Target: $400
 42% 

[TF2] Intelligence Protector


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
heffebaycay
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Plugin ID:
2145
Plugin Version:
1.1.2
Plugin Category:
Server Management
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    14 
    Plugin Description:
    Prevents players from taking the intelligence on CTF maps.
    Old 12-26-2010 , 18:16   [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #1

    [TF2] Intelligence Protector




    Description:

    When enabled, this plugin will disable the intelligence and force any player carrying it to drop it.

    If a player is carrying the intel when the plugin is activated, he will be forced to drop it, and the intel will disappear. Upon reactivation, the intelligence will re-appear at its last known location, with its timer being reset.

    Known issue : after being teleported back, the circular intelligence timer won't be visible. Even though it is not visible, it is still working and the intel will eventually get back to its base.

    Each use of the command !intelp is logged.

    Screenshot : http://img825.**************/img825/5...protector2.png

    Command:
    • !intelp - Toggle intelligence protection

    ConVars:
    • sm_intelp_enabled <1/0> - Reports the status of this plugin (1=enabled, 0=disabled)
    • sm_intelp_version - Plugin version.


    Note:

    If a player was carrying the intelligence when an admin enabled this plugin, the briefcase will disappear but the "intelligence timer" will stay visible until intelligence protection is disabled by another admin.


    Credits:
    - Matthias Vance, for his plugin "[TF2] Intelligence Timer" that gave me some ideas on how to work with intelligence timers.

    Version history:

    1.1.2 (12/28/2010) :
    - Once intel protection is disabled, the intel will be teleported back to its last known position.
    - Removed cvar sm_intelp_delay, not needed anymore.

    1.1.1 (12/28/2010) :
    - Now using "ForceDrop" entity input to force players to drop the intelligence, instead of the client command "dropitem".
    - Removed consts "Red_Team" and "Blu_Team".

    1.1 (12/27/2010) :
    - Now disabling the intel instead of forcing players to drop it.
    - Removed kick and warning features since they aren't needed anymore.
    - If a player is carrying the intel when the plugin is activated, intel position won't be lost.
    1.0 (12/26/2010) :
    - Initial release
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (intel_protector.sp - 880 views - 4.7 KB)

    Last edited by heffebaycay; 12-28-2010 at 09:12. Reason: plugin update (v1.1.2)
    heffebaycay is offline
    snelvuur
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Jun 2008
    Location: Netherlands
    Old 12-27-2010 , 05:30   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #2

    In which situation would one use this plugin? Just curious..
    __________________
    Arguing with a fool only proves there are two
    snelvuur is offline
    heffebaycay
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Old 12-27-2010 , 06:09   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #3

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by snelvuur View Post
    In which situation would one use this plugin? Just curious..
    Basically, I wrote it for another server admin who is using a melee mode plugin. Essentially that forces players to focus on the melee fights, and not on the objective during the couple of minutes that this melee mode lasts.
    heffebaycay is offline
    psychonic

    BAFFLED
    Join Date: May 2008
    Old 12-27-2010 , 07:44   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #4

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by heffebaycay View Post
    Basically, I wrote it for another server admin who is using a melee mode plugin. Essentially that forces players to focus on the melee fights, and not on the objective during the couple of minutes that this melee mode lasts.
    In that case, why not just disable the intel?

    Code:
    AcceptEntityInput(flagent, "Disable");
    psychonic is offline
    heffebaycay
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Old 12-27-2010 , 15:11   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #5

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by psychonic View Post
    In that case, why not just disable the intel?

    Code:
    AcceptEntityInput(flagent, "Disable");
    It hadn't even crossed my mind !

    I've updated the plugin to disable the intelligence instead of forcing players to drop it.

    To make it fair for players who might be carrying the intel when an admin enables this plugin, I've added a feature to avoid losing the intelligence once dropped. What it does basically : it alters the current intel timer value and add 20 minutes (default value) to it. Once disabled the original intel timer value is restored.
    If you don't want to use this feature, just set sm_intelp_delay to 0.
    heffebaycay is offline
    SmackDaddy
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Old 12-27-2010 , 15:21   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by psychonic View Post
    In that case, why not just disable the intel?

    Code:
    AcceptEntityInput(flagent, "Disable");
    Could this be simply added to the melee mode plugin? If so, where in the source code would it go? Would love to have that happen.......thanks Psychonic!
    SmackDaddy is offline
    Kevin_b_er
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Feb 2009
    Old 12-27-2010 , 19:55   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #7

    This plugin overlaps a lot with [TF2] Disable the Flag.

    The tf2.inc already contains a reference to the two teams in TF2: TFTeam_Red and TFTeam_Blue.

    The 'delay before returning' bit is kinda useless when you could just tell the flag entity the "ForceReset" input and it will auto-drop and auto-return.
    __________________
    Kevin_b_er is offline
    heffebaycay
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Old 12-27-2010 , 20:22   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #8

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kevin_b_er View Post
    This plugin overlaps a lot with [TF2] Disable the Flag.
    Well the objective is the same, but the former plugin doesn't have an option to avoid losing the intel. Plus I've been told it could be interfering with stats plugins (if a player carries the intel when the plugin disables it, the player will still be able to cap).

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kevin_b_er View Post
    The tf2.inc already contains a reference to the two teams in TF2: TFTeam_Red and TFTeam_Blue.
    Right, indeed: I'll fix that.

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kevin_b_er View Post
    The 'delay before returning' bit is kinda useless when you could just tell the flag entity the "ForceReset" input and it will auto-drop and auto-return.
    I'm not sure I understood what you meant: how is that ForceReset input supposed to work ? Does it allow me to "freeze" the intel anywhere on the map ? (can't see anything about it on VDC "item_teamflag" page, that's why I'm asking.)
    heffebaycay is offline
    FaTony
    BANNED
    Join Date: Aug 2008
    Old 12-28-2010 , 04:50   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #9

    http://tf2wiki.net/wiki/January_27,_2010_Patch

    Last edited by FaTony; 12-28-2010 at 04:58.
    FaTony is offline
    heffebaycay
    Junior Member
    Join Date: Nov 2010
    Old 12-28-2010 , 07:09   Re: [TF2] Intelligence Protector
    Reply With Quote #10

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by FaTony View Post
    Thanks for the link! Just tried and it is not really the result I want :/

    Basically I want the intel to stay where it was dropped, until I re-enable it. ForceReset will only bring it back to the intel room.

    If anyone can think of a cleaner solution beside altering the intelligence timer, feel free to post it. Anyway, I've just updated the plugin with the consts fix.
    heffebaycay is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode