Raised This Month: $56 Target: $400
 14% 

[TF2] Annotations


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 10-10-2010 , 21:42   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #21

Awesome plugin! One request, can you make it so that root admins (or some given flag) can spawn annotations within 64 units of each other?
Also, is it possible to switch the message argument and the time argument so it could do something like:
bind f "sm_annotate 1 FlaminSarge was here"
(since binds use quotations already, it only prints "FlaminSarge" at the moment)

EDIT: I made a version that has a cvar for how close annotations can be, and also allows for binding. What you do is you type "/annotate <time>,, <message>"
The double comma plus space is what separates the time from the message, so to bind you do bind f "sm_annotate 12,, FlaminSarge was here. He is cool. Nope.avi"
Don't have another ",, " in there, it'll probably mess up.
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (annotations.sp - 385 views - 5.4 KB)

Last edited by FlaminSarge; 10-11-2010 at 22:47. Reason: Posted a version that does what I requested >.<
FlaminSarge is offline
msleeper
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta, Jawjuh
Old 10-12-2010 , 06:45   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #22

I made some tweaks and I got it to suit my needs perfectly. A few suggestions: make the refresh rate a cvar, I've found that 3 seconds is too high for my particular needs. Also, you could make the maximum distance to display either a cvar, make it something that can be modified per annotation, or preferably both. Have the cvar be the default range, and let the player select the annotation length in the command or in the SQL table.

For example in Junction outside of B, I might want to place an annotation that can be viewed by the entire room, but using that exact same range on an area in Dustbowl might be a little too high.

Aside from that, the plugin is extremely excellent. I'm testing it publicly now, I'll let you know what my players think!
__________________
msleeper is offline
MrSaturn
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 10-12-2010 , 11:04   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #23

Any chance you can add the ability to attach annotations to players?
__________________
MrSaturn is offline
msleeper
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta, Jawjuh
Old 10-12-2010 , 18:20   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #24

Someone is reporting getting lag from this plugin.



The blip is light blue "events", whenever the plugin fires to refresh the annotations. Not sure if there is anything you can do about this.
__________________
msleeper is offline
Geit
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Home
Old 10-12-2010 , 19:23   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #25

Yes, I know of those and I meant to warn you about them... But I forgot. :<

Basically it's caused by having too many annotations in the map at once, I do have 2 simple fixes for it: 1) don't send annotations when no one can see them 2)Only process 5 annotations every second, spreading the load. Both of these are in use on one of the plugins I don't have released here, I'll itergrate them into these plugins sometime tomorrow, till then, keep it below 10 annotations per map.

EDIT: I'll try do it quickly now

EDIT 2: Applied the changes, changelog is in OP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSaturn View Post
Any chance you can add the ability to attach annotations to players?
This isn't a job for this plugin, but could be quite easily achieved using the general structure of the plugin.

I will get around to the other changes suggested when I have some time, which will probably be sometime inbetween now and Friday.

Last edited by Geit; 10-12-2010 at 19:34.
Geit is offline
Thraka
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Aug 2005
Old 10-15-2010 , 18:13   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #26

Is it possible to set them to only be seen by the team that created them? I can find this may be a really simple way to have a heavy state he wants a dispenser at this location.

Or it would be great if the scout was allowed to point at the wall and put an annotate that states SNIPE HERE PLEASE! so the snipers on the team could see it and focus that area.
Thraka is offline
Mecha the Slag
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Denmark
Old 10-16-2010 , 08:12   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #27

Annotations disappear after 5 seconds, no matter who you are, where you are. Even with -1 as time.

Additionally you forgot to tie sm_deleteannotation to Command_DeleteAnnotation
__________________
Mecha the Slag is offline
MrSaturn
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Old 10-17-2010 , 21:37   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #28

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mecha the Slag View Post
Annotations disappear after 5 seconds, no matter who you are, where you are. Even with -1 as time.

Additionally you forgot to tie sm_deleteannotation to Command_DeleteAnnotation
I am also having these problems.
__________________
MrSaturn is offline
FlaminSarge
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Old 10-18-2010 , 00:02   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #29

Here's one that includes 1.3, and sets sm_deleteannotation to Command_DeleteAnnotation, but uses the command method I requested (sm_annotate <time><delimiter><message>)
The delimiter is a convar sm_annotate_delimiter with default setting ",, " so you would type or bind "sm_annotate 199,, I eat here. Move away."
Also includes a cvar for allowed distance between annotations, sm_annotate_distance. No SQL version :C
Max delimiter size is 16. Why would you want more...
Also default delimiter is cruddy, but nobody ever uses ",, " in a normal message, let alone annotations, so.... yeah.
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (annotations.sp - 450 views - 5.9 KB)
__________________
Bread EOTL GunMettle Invasion Jungle Inferno will break everything. Don't even ask.

All plugins: Randomizer/GiveWeapon, ModelManager, etc.
Post in plugin threads with questions.
Steam is for playing games.
You will be fed to javalia otherwise.
Psyduck likes replays.

Last edited by FlaminSarge; 10-18-2010 at 00:08. Reason: quickfix
FlaminSarge is offline
noodleboy347
SourceMod Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Old 10-18-2010 , 15:37   Re: [TF2] Annotations
Reply With Quote #30

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mecha the Slag View Post
Annotations disappear after 5 seconds, no matter who you are, where you are. Even with -1 as time.

Additionally you forgot to tie sm_deleteannotation to Command_DeleteAnnotation
noodleboy347 is offline
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 13:37.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode