Raised This Month: $168 Target: $400
 42% 

[TF2] Annotations


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Geit
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Home
Plugin ID:
1990
Plugin Version:
1.5
Plugin Category:
General Purpose
Plugin Game:
Team Fortress 2
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
    75 
    Plugin Description:
    Allows you to make an annotation in the map wherever you're looking.
    Old 10-06-2010 , 16:50   [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #1


    Annotate your game world: place inspiring messages, help newbies find that well hidden side route or just humiliate your opponents.

    Screenshots:

    Commands:
    • sm_annotate <time> <message> - Creates an annotation that lasts for a specified time (-1 for infinite) (Flag: Chat)
    • sm_deleteannotation - Deletes the annotation where you're looking (Flag: Chat)
    Cvars:
    • sm_annotate_version - Version
    • sm_annotate_min_dist - Sets the minimum distance that an annotation must be from another annotation (default: 64)
    • sm_annotate_view_dist - Sets the maximum distance at which annotations will be sent to players (default: 1024)
    Changelog:
    1.5:
    • Complete rewrite
    • Annotations will no longer repeatedly fly in to the screen
    • An annotation will no longer block other annotations being placed after they've disappeared
    • Client console is no longer spammed with sound errors
    • Numerous other improvements and tidy-ups
    1.41:
    • Fixed a handle leak
    1.4:
    • Fixed an issue where annotations would not last longer than 10 seconds
    • Changed the args on sm_annotate to <display time> <message> - You no longer need quote marks around the message when it's longer than 1 word.
    • Binded sm_deleteannotation to its correct command
    • Fixed an issue where annotations would not update when there were fewer than 5
    • Added sm_annotate_min_dist - Sets the minimum distance that an annotation must be from another annotation (default: 64)
    • Added sm_annotate_view_dist - Sets the maximum distance at which annotations will be sent to players (default: 1024)
    1.3:
    • Annotations are no longer sent over the network when no one can see them
    • Annotations are now processed in batches of 5, once per second
    1.2:
    • Annotations can no longer be placed within 64 units of each other
    • Annotations can now be deleted with !deleteannotation (!deleteannotation_perm for the SQL version)
    1.1:
    • Annotations now refresh every 5 seconds, if the annotation is not in the client's LOS or within 1024 units, it will not be displayed.
    1.01:
    • Fixed an issue where only one annotation would appear at any given time.
    1.0:
    • Initial Release
    Credits:
    Spaz & Arg for the positioning code - Taken from [TF2] Pumpkins

    SQL Version currently defunct
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (annotations.sp - 871 views - 8.2 KB)

    Last edited by Geit; 01-03-2014 at 03:53.
    Geit is offline
    Leonardo
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Feb 2010
    Location: Soviet Union
    Old 10-07-2010 , 07:32   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #2

    useful thing. thanks
    __________________

    Last edited by Leonardo; 07-06-2013 at 04:40.
    Leonardo is offline
    PieOnEar
    Member
    Join Date: Jul 2010
    Old 10-07-2010 , 15:52   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #3

    What happens if you set the timer to 0, does it stay there, or does it not show up?
    Ah well I'll test it myself
    PieOnEar is offline
    aRcTiC
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Apr 2010
    Old 10-07-2010 , 16:35   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #4

    0 makes it last like 1 second, -1 on the other hand seems to stay there
    funny thing i did was annotate a pit "Free Hats"...
    aRcTiC is offline
    msleeper
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Atlanta, Jawjuh
    Old 10-07-2010 , 16:39   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #5

    If there would be a way to add this permanently into a map, it would be incredibly useful.
    __________________
    msleeper is offline
    Geit
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Location: Home
    Old 10-07-2010 , 16:49   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #6

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by msleeper View Post
    If there would be a way to add this permanently into a map, it would be incredibly useful.
    I made this a while ago: http://forums.tf2maps.net/showthread.php?t=15060 - But it didn't work to my liking at the time so I didn't release it here, Once I work out the format of visibilityBitfield I'll fix it up and release it. - Till then the code/database it uses for making permanent annotations is probably the best way to do it.
    Geit is offline
    msleeper
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Atlanta, Jawjuh
    Old 10-07-2010 , 17:05   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #7

    Ah excellent, thanks Geit! I think making and releasing a working version of that would be much more attractive to people.
    __________________
    msleeper is offline
    Geit
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Oct 2009
    Location: Home
    Old 10-07-2010 , 17:49   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #8

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by msleeper View Post
    Ah excellent, thanks Geit! I think making and releasing a working version of that would be much more attractive to people.
    Just put this together quickly. Simply make a database cfg called "annotations" and run the plugin (command is sm_annotate_perm <message> and cvar for changing their lifetime is sm_annotate_length - They will show at the start of every round), hopefully it should save all annotations to the database, but I haven't tested it. - Also, you'll have to delete annotations through the Database as I haven't reworked the command that deletes annotations for the event format.
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (annotations_sql.sp - 490 views - 6.5 KB)
    Geit is offline
    msleeper
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Atlanta, Jawjuh
    Old 10-07-2010 , 19:46   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #9

    Thanks, I'll give it a look. I'm going to make a quick edit to the .sp though to make it use the "default" database. One suggest I would make would be to make the plugin look for the "annotations" database, and on failure, try to use the "default" database. That way people (like me) who use a single database for all SourceMod stuff don't have to make a new entry in their databases.cfg and then restart the server.
    __________________
    msleeper is offline
    msleeper
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: May 2008
    Location: Atlanta, Jawjuh
    Old 10-08-2010 , 15:29   Re: [TF2] Annotations
    Reply With Quote #10

    I'm not sure if the database version of the plugin you posted is working, but it's a bit off topic so I'll PM you about that.
    __________________
    msleeper is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:26.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode