Raised This Month: $182 Target: $400
 45% 

[L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author
Luke Penny
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Plugin ID:
1424
Plugin Version:
1.4.0
Plugin Category:
Gameplay
Plugin Game:
Left 4 Dead
Plugin Dependencies:
    Servers with this Plugin:
     
    Plugin Description:
    Creates an ever-changing Population of zombies with varying health and speed.
    Old 01-23-2010 , 16:47   [L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #1

    Varying Zombie Population


    This plugin makes the population of zombies spawned by the director less static and more dynamic, by having each zombie have a varying health and speed value. One zombie may die from a shot to the leg, and another standing right beside him may take 2 or 3 shotgun shells to the chest.
    Headshots are still instant kills in Left 4 Dead 1, as this is build into the game. Left 4 Dead 2 is a bit more complicated, but the more health a zombie has, the more likely it is to stay alive even after loosing some limbs (L4D2 only)

    Plugin Requires SDKHooks, get it here http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=106748

    The idea behind this plugin: The gameplay changes significantly in both coop and versus. You typically expect 1 shotgun shot to kill a zombie no matter what, but when that one zombie comes along that can absorb 3 solid shots, you are suddenly in a difficult situation, having to deal with slightly stronger zombies. Kind of like a lower version of uncommon common, some zombies are just different than others, say perhaps one zombie was more physically fit before the infection hit, and one was weak and skinny - this adds some diversity to the zombie population.


    ChangeLog

    1.0 - Initial Release, not working on L4D2
    1.1 - Fixed bugs, added randomized speed, somewhat working on L4D2
    1.2 - Changed method of how to change health, added cvars for controlling minimum and maximum values, added zombie acquire range and time
    (Credit to DieTeetasse for this method)
    1.3 - Added automatic .cfg creation, added additional commenting and documentation
    1.4 - Added Specials, L4D1 and 2, changed cvar names

    Download the attached .smx, as the plugin requires sdkhooks and will not compile using Get Plugin
    Attached Files
    File Type: smx varyingzombies.smx (4.1 KB, 2048 views)
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (varyingzombies.sp - 1161 views - 6.7 KB)

    Last edited by Luke Penny; 01-23-2011 at 00:13.
    Luke Penny is offline
    GanjaStar
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Jun 2009
    Old 01-23-2010 , 18:13   Re: [L4D1/2] Dynamic Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #2

    great idea, will test it tommorow, but even without trying it i know already it would be great if you could add cvars for easy configuration.
    GanjaStar is offline
    delirium_trigger
    SourceMod Donor
    Join Date: Apr 2009
    Location: Washington
    Old 01-23-2010 , 18:42   Re: [L4D1/2] Dynamic Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #3

    I would love to try this out, but I would really like to customize it. The thing is, I don't know what to do after I edit it. Do I have to compile or convert it to .smx or can I put the .sp in my plugins folder?
    delirium_trigger is offline
    Downtown1
    Veteran Member
    Join Date: Mar 2004
    Old 01-23-2010 , 18:50   Re: [L4D1/2] Dynamic Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #4

    The name "dynamic" is confusing it always makes me think memory storage (dynamic vs static). Can't you call it Heterogeneous instead?
    Downtown1 is offline
    Luke Penny
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: Canada
    Old 01-23-2010 , 19:20   Re: [L4D1/2] Dynamic Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #5

    Heterogeneous may be a bit big of a word, but I see your point.
    Perhaps "Varying Zombie Population"?

    In regards to cvars, I am working on that.


    Quote:
    Originally Posted by delirium_trigger View Post
    I would love to try this out, but I would really like to customize it. The thing is, I don't know what to do after I edit it. Do I have to compile or convert it to .smx or can I put the .sp in my plugins folder?
    Download the .sp, open it up in notepad and edit to your liking, then compile it. There are instructions in the .sp so it should be easy to do. Use this compiler http://www.sourcemod.net/compiler.php if you would like. Then download the .smx the compiler gives you and put it in your plugins folder.

    If anyone has any idea how I could use cvars as the min and max values of a GetRandomInt, would be appreciated, I don't have an idea for that at the moment.

    Last edited by Luke Penny; 01-23-2010 at 19:28.
    Luke Penny is offline
    Dr.Feelgood
    New Member
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: Sweden
    Old 01-23-2010 , 19:59   Re: [L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #6

    Sounds cool going to test it
    __________________
    Dr.Feelgood is offline
    M249-M4A1
    I <3 Mac
    Join Date: May 2005
    Location: Not interested
    Old 01-23-2010 , 21:04   Re: [L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #7

    Also sounds like a great idea! I didn't notice that most zombies act the same until you brought up this plugin. Looking foward to using it! Good work
    __________________
    M249-M4A1 is offline
    Send a message via AIM to M249-M4A1
    SkaP
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Dec 2009
    Old 01-23-2010 , 22:07   Re: [L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #8

    I just tried it and I couldn't connect to my server it's lagging it big time. I got stuck in loading every time I tried to connect. No idea what went wrong there is no error log. Here are the plugins I ran while trying to get it to work.

    Code:
    [SM] Listing 36 plugins:
      01 "Admin File Reader" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      02 "Admin Help" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      03 "Admin Menu" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      04 "Anti-Flood" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      05 "Basic Ban Commands" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      06 "Basic Chat" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      07 "Basic Comm Control" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      08 "Basic Commands" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      09 "Basic Info Triggers" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      10 "Blind Luck" (1.1.0) by James Richardson (grandwazir)
      11 "Connect Announce" (1.1) by Arg!
      12 "Client Preferences" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      13 "Fun Commands" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      14 "Kigen's Anti-Cheat" (1.2.0.7) by Kigen
      15 "L4D2 Pause" (0.2.1) by pvtschlag
      16 "L4D2 Score/Team Manager" (1.1.8) by Downtown1 & AtomicStryker
      17 "L4D2 Unstick" (1.0.6) by HowIChrgeLazer
      18 "[L4D2] Bulldozer Certification" (1.0.5) by AtomicStryker
      19 "Rage Counter" (2.0) by Crazydog
      20 "[L4D2] Weapon Unlock" (0.4.2.0) by Crimson_Fox
      21 "L4D2 Ready Up" (0.17.2) by Downtown1 and Frustian
      22 "L4D Black and White Notifier" (1.3) by DarkNoghri, madcap
      23 "L4D_Ghostpounce" (1.0.4) by  AtomicStryker
      24 "Infected Ghost Everywhere SM 1.3" (PLUGIN_VERSION) by AtomicStryker
      25 "L4D Kick Load Stuckers" (1.0.5) by AtomicStryker
      26 "L4D SM Respawn" (1.8) by AtomicStryker & Ivailosp
      27 "Player Commands" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      28 "pouncedamage+" (0.9.5) by extrospect
      29 "RCON Lock" (0.4) by devicenull
      30 "Reserved Slots" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      31 "Sound Commands" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
      32 "Standardized Revamp Structure Modification for L4D2" (1.0 RC2) by srsteam
      33 "Varying Zombie Population" (1.0.0) by Luke Penny
      34 "Vocalize Fatigue" (1.2c) by Mr. Zero
      35 "L4D Vote Manager 2" (1.5.5) by Madcap
      36 Disabled: "Nextmap" (1.4.0-dev) by AlliedModders LLC
    This does sound like an awesome idea and it's the best way to make common tougher. No need to make them do more damage they just need to be faster and tougher sometimes.

    Last edited by SkaP; 01-23-2010 at 22:13.
    SkaP is offline
    Luke Penny
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Jan 2010
    Location: Canada
    Old 01-23-2010 , 22:28   Re: [L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #9

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by SkaP View Post
    I just tried it and I couldn't connect to my server it's lagging it big time. I got stuck in loading every time I tried to connect. No idea what went wrong there is no error log. Here are the plugins I ran while trying to get it to work. This does sound like an awesome idea and it's the best way to make common tougher. No need to make them do more damage they just need to be faster and tougher sometimes.
    Any plugin that sets z_health or z_speed will conflict with it, but I don't think you listed any that do. Most likely your server tickrate can not handle the timer that is in the plugin, but I don't know, any plugin could be conflicting, I don't have time to test them all.

    I have attached a modified version with a less frequent timer. Unfortunently I don't think there is a way for me to code this to happen every time a zombie spawns, so this may help. The thing is finding a balance between a frequent timer and the server, with this modified version you may have small rooms of zombies all have the same attributes, but generally it should work.

    This may just be a Left 4 Dead 2 problem, I noticed a minor drop in server speed, but very minor. If it a L4D2 specific problem I will work on a L4D2 version.

    Edit: You may also want to try not having it loaded until after you connect, if you are having a problem with connecting, however I doubt that the plugin could cause connection problems.
    Attached Files
    File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (VaryingZombiePopulationLowEnd.sp - 813 views - 3.1 KB)

    Last edited by Luke Penny; 01-23-2010 at 22:33.
    Luke Penny is offline
    SkaP
    Senior Member
    Join Date: Dec 2009
    Old 01-23-2010 , 23:20   Re: [L4D1/2] Varying Zombie Population
    Reply With Quote #10

    Edit: Nm even the low end version says I am connected to the server I am just getting load stuck but checking the server it says I am in at a normal ping. So it's not lagging the server it's just not letting me connect. I'll see my MOTD and then it goes back to the loading screen. I got no idea does this on both versions.

    Last edited by SkaP; 01-23-2010 at 23:27.
    SkaP is offline
    Reply


    Thread Tools
    Display Modes

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:36.


    Powered by vBulletin®
    Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
    Theme made by Freecode