Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Austin
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 09-08-2017 , 05:40   How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #1

Can someone show me how to show the bounding box of a spawn point in CSGO?
I found this post but it doesn't exactly explain how these two function would be used.

https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=2512419
Austin is offline
AI_
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Old 09-09-2017 , 07:28   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #2

You can get the min and max points with:

Code:
GetEntPropVector(entity, Prop_Send, "m_vecMins", vec);
GetEntPropVector(entity, Prop_Send, "m_vecMaxs", vec);
You may have to add them to the entity's current position before drawing.
__________________
AI_ is offline
Austin
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 09-10-2017 , 14:29   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #3

Do you have example code that shows how to use the min / max to draw the outline?
tx
Austin is offline
AI_
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Canada
Old 09-10-2017 , 15:57   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #4

Ah, my bad. Spawn points do not have min/max sizes.

See the attached script. It makes use of entities.inc and effects.inc from SMLIB, so you will have to grab those to compile.
Attached Files
File Type: sp Get Plugin or Get Source (spawnbox.sp - 196 views - 1.3 KB)
File Type: smx spawnbox.smx (11.4 KB, 64 views)
__________________
AI_ is offline
Austin
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 09-28-2017 , 22:15   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #5

AI thanks for your help.

I complied your source and deployed it to my CSGO DS server.
When I issue the command sm_spawnbox nothing happens and I get no errors either.

I changed info_player_teamspawn to info_player_counterterrorist to try to see if it would work to show the CT spawn but again nothing happens.

What I am trying to do is show the ct and T spawns like the command map_showspawnpoints but on a DS server instead of a listen server.

map_showspawnpoints only works on a listenserver.
Austin is offline
8guawong
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BlackMarke7
Old 09-28-2017 , 22:57   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #6

why do you want to show the spawn?
8guawong is offline
Austin
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 09-28-2017 , 23:15   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8guawong View Post
why do you want to show the spawn?
I run a bot server and have to add more spawn to the maps to get more bots to join.
I needs about 32 bot on a team vs 5-6 humans and most maps have 12 or less spawns.

I need to see them in order to better place the spawns.

You can dramatically improve the way bots play the maps by adjusting the spawn points.
It forces them to take different routes instead of all going the same way.
Austin is offline
8guawong
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BlackMarke7
Old 09-29-2017 , 00:07   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #8

How are you adding spawns?
U using this https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=1054201?
This plugin should already show you the spawn....
8guawong is offline
Austin
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Old 09-30-2017 , 03:57   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8guawong View Post
How are you adding spawns?
U using this https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?p=1054201?
This plugin should already show you the spawn....
I am using my own plugin to adjust spawns.
I like creating stripper files instead of the way spawn tools does it.

https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=194665

I want to see the actual box for the spawn points to be able to more accurately set them.
Austin is offline
8guawong
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: BlackMarke7
Old 09-30-2017 , 04:27   Re: How to show the bounding box of a spawn point.
Reply With Quote #10

https://m.imgur.com/Ym5MKjo

So this is no good?
8guawong is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:48.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode