Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

[TF2] Restart particle


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
Pelipoika
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Inside
Old 02-12-2014 , 13:41   [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #1

Im using
PHP Code:
SetVariantString("ParticleEffectStop");
AcceptEntityInput(entity"DispatchEffect"); 
on the ghost model to remove the particle effect when the model is made invisible

How can i re-enable the particle?
Pelipoika is offline
MasterOfTheXP
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cloudbank
Old 02-12-2014 , 18:24   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #2

One horrible way to do it would be to change the model to something else, then change it back to the ghost model one frame later. Or in the same frame, that might work too.
__________________
Plugins / My Steam / TF2 Sandbox (plugin beta testing!)
MasterOfTheXP is offline
friagram
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Silicon Valley
Old 02-12-2014 , 18:47   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #3

The particle is an AE in the model. Should have keyvalues for it, and a name. Don't know if you can access it directly though.
__________________
Profile - Plugins
Add me on steam if you are seeking sp/map/model commissions.
friagram is offline
Chdata
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Computer Chair, Illinois
Old 02-12-2014 , 22:48   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #4

I wish I could even figure out where the term "ParticleEffectStop" came from. It's nowhere in the Valve dev wiki, google, and if it's somewhere in tf2_misc_dir it's not in something my folder filesearch can read the contents of.
__________________

Last edited by Chdata; 02-12-2014 at 22:48.
Chdata is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 02-12-2014 , 23:58   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chdata View Post
I wish I could even figure out where the term "ParticleEffectStop" came from. It's nowhere in the Valve dev wiki, google, and if it's somewhere in tf2_misc_dir it's not in something my folder filesearch can read the contents of.
A dump of the EffectDispatch string table.

Code:
Table EffectDispatch
  1/1024 items
  0 : ParticleEffectStop
(taken from the dumpstringtables command on a TF2 server)
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 02-13-2014 at 00:11.
Powerlord is offline
VoiDeD
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Illinois, USA
Old 02-13-2014 , 02:10   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chdata View Post
I wish I could even figure out where the term "ParticleEffectStop" came from. It's nowhere in the Valve dev wiki, google, and if it's somewhere in tf2_misc_dir it's not in something my folder filesearch can read the contents of.
A word of advice: ignore Powerlord.

https://developer.valvesoftware.com/...-_Introduction
http://mxr.alliedmods.net/hl2sdk-201...system.cpp#256

ParticleEffectStop is simply a client effect that stops particle emission of a given entity's ParticleProp.
__________________

Last edited by VoiDeD; 02-13-2014 at 02:11.
VoiDeD is offline
Chdata
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Computer Chair, Illinois
Old 02-13-2014 , 02:17   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #7

Ironically I read (skimmed) that dev wiki page and noticed DispatchEffect() and I suppose if it would've lead to that sdk source I didn't look into it enough to see.

That sdk source stuff was one of the few things I didn't look through ;o;
__________________

Last edited by Chdata; 02-13-2014 at 02:33.
Chdata is offline
Pelipoika
Veteran Member
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Inside
Old 02-13-2014 , 08:53   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #8

Reapplying model worked for me
Pelipoika is offline
Powerlord
AlliedModders Donor
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seduce Me!
Old 02-13-2014 , 12:39   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #9

Yes, in this case apparently said stringtable is actually a cache of DispatchEffects you've already called. Whoops.

My original answer said to decompile server_srv.so but I thought that wasn't very helpful, so I searched for somewhere else that was more useful.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VoiDeD View Post
A word of advice: ignore Powerlord.
I'd take what VoiDeD says about me with a grain of salt, as he's still upset that I made a new version of PropHunt and didn't include fixes that he has in his private version. I could go more in depth about this, but this is the wrong venue for that sort of thing.
__________________
Not currently working on SourceMod plugin development.

Last edited by Powerlord; 02-13-2014 at 12:43.
Powerlord is offline
Chdata
Veteran Member
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Computer Chair, Illinois
Old 02-13-2014 , 13:22   Re: [TF2] Restart particle
Reply With Quote #10

I don't really care about personal issues between fur sacks and protein sacks, but thanks for the data (or attempts at offering data)!
__________________

Last edited by Chdata; 02-14-2014 at 02:53.
Chdata is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode