Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

why is mp_maxrounds ignored


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
ghostofmybrain
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 05-03-2010 , 22:11   why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #1

Hey all, I've recently started experiencing an unusual problem with my server. Even though mp_maxrounds is set to 21, it will never end the map at 21 rounds. It will always wait until 30 minutes have passed (mp_timelimit 30).

It used to work fine, and then somebody set mp_maxrounds to 30 because of complaints about how short the maps were. I changed it back to 21 and restarted the server. But ever since then, it won't acknowledge the mp_maxrounds.

Heck, this is basically the exact server.cfg file I have on my other servers, and all those ones honor the mp_maxrounds flag.

I looked all over the server.cfg file to try to find a problem, and I just cannot find it. I'm hoping a second set of eyes might be able to figure out why the mp_maxrounds 21 is ignored.

Code:
// Use this file to configure your DEDICATED server. 
// This config file is executed on server start.

sys_ticrate 500

sv_aim 0
pausable 0
sv_proxies 0
rcon_password xxxxx
sv_region 0
log off
hostname "xxxxx"

sv_downloadurl "xxxx"

sv_allowupload 1
sv_allowdownload 1
decalfrequency 15

sv_maxrate 8000
sv_minrate 2000
sv_maxupdaterate 15

sv_voiceenable 1
sv_voicecodec voice_speex
sv_voicequality 3
sv_alltalk 0

mp_timelimit 30
mp_maxrounds 21
mp_winlimit 0
mp_roundtime 2.5
mp_chattime 5

mp_c4timer 35

mp_autoteambalance 1
mp_limitteams 1
mp_allowspectators 1
mp_autokick 1


mp_freezetime 5
mp_buytime .5
mp_startmoney 800

mp_flashlight 1
mp_footsteps 1
mp_forcecamera 0

mp_friendlyfire 1
mp_hostagepenalty 0
mp_tkpunish 0

sv_cheats 0
sv_consistency 0
sv_hltv 1
sv_lan 0
sv_password

humans_join_team any
bot_join_team any

bot_quota 0
bot_quota_mode fill
bot_auto_vacate 0
bot_difficulty 0
bot_join_after_player 0

bot_allow_grenades 0
bot_allow_shield 0
bot_allow_snipers 1
bot_allow_machine_guns 1
bot_allow_rifles 1
bot_allow_shotguns 1
bot_allow_sub_machine_guns 1
bot_allow_pistols 1
bot_prefix
bot_chatter off
bot_defer_to_human 1
bot_stop 0


// load ban files
exec listip.cfg
exec banned.cfg
If you need me to post any other config files or anything, let me know.
ghostofmybrain is offline
xtinct
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: http://tekxtinct.ning.co
Old 05-04-2010 , 11:39   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #2

What if you just remove the mp_timelimit cvar and leave with mp_maxrounds only.
__________________
Sorry If I Hurt! Orpheu

1 crab has been found and delivered my me.
xtinct is offline
ghostofmybrain
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 05-04-2010 , 18:04   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #3

That didn't work.

I eventually fixed it by deleting mp_maxrounds, saving server.cfg, restarting the server, replacing mp_maxrounds 21, saving the server.cfg, and restarting the server.

I still have no idea why it wasn't working, though.
ghostofmybrain is offline
xtinct
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: http://tekxtinct.ning.co
Old 05-05-2010 , 03:42   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #4

Some cache problem might be.
__________________
Sorry If I Hurt! Orpheu

1 crab has been found and delivered my me.
xtinct is offline
ghostofmybrain
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 05-28-2010 , 15:23   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #5

For some reason, it starts ignoring maxrounds when I add a new plugin to the server. I thought it was the MapsX plugin I added, so I deleted it, but I recently installed the show_rules plugin and suddenly the problem is back. If I comment out this new plugin, the problem suddenly goes away.

I can't seem to install any new plugin without the problem being recreated.

Last edited by ghostofmybrain; 05-28-2010 at 15:27.
ghostofmybrain is offline
ghostofmybrain
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 06-07-2010 , 17:16   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #6

I seem to have spoken too soon when I suggested that the problem was caused by a plugin.

Currently, there is about a 75% success rate that the server will change maps after 21 rounds. About 25% of the time, though, it will simply ignore the cvar.

Furthermore, I have not made any changes to the server since deleting and re-entering the cvar as I posted above.

Is it possible there is a file corrupted somewhere causing the problem and I need to reinstall? Relevant: This problem was happening on the server when it was hosted by one company. We changed hosting companies (for an unrelated reason), but I basically just reuploaded every file since they were both windows servers. Does anybody recommend reinstalling the server from scratch?
ghostofmybrain is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 06-07-2010 , 17:26   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostofmybrain View Post
Does anybody recommend reinstalling the server from scratch?
When switching hosts I would always suggest using a new installation and then adding things one at a time. But that's just me, maybe others don't do that.
__________________
fysiks is offline
ghostofmybrain
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 06-07-2010 , 17:41   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by fysiks View Post
When switching hosts I would always suggest using a new installation and then adding things one at a time. But that's just me, maybe others don't do that.
Well, I know that wasn't the reason for the error, since it occurred with both hosts, so I'm not going to reinstall unless somebody thinks that the problem may be caused by a corrupted file somewhere.
ghostofmybrain is offline
fysiks
Veteran Member
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Flatland, USA
Old 06-07-2010 , 17:45   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostofmybrain View Post
Well, I know that wasn't the reason for the error, since it occurred with both hosts, so I'm not going to reinstall unless somebody thinks that the problem may be caused by a corrupted file somewhere.
Yeah, but by copying all your files directly to the new host you don't know if the files on the old host were causing the problem. By starting new and adding things one at a time you should be able to determine where the issue is. But, you must remember to check that it works without AMX Mod X and after each thing you add (or you can do it in sets to get your server back to normal quicker).
__________________
fysiks is offline
ghostofmybrain
Veteran Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Old 06-07-2010 , 17:53   Re: why is mp_maxrounds ignored
Reply With Quote #10

Yes, I understand why it would be a good idea to do that in the future, but I can't really change the fact that I didn't do it when I switched providers. What I'm asking is whether or not you think it's advisable now to reinstall the server.
ghostofmybrain is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode