AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   HL1 Servers (HLDS) (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=131)
-   -   Solved HLDS times out after refreshing to many times (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=337848)

Infamanious 05-20-2022 07:19

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
something to note: if i refresh myserver by clicking the refresh button on the status window it will timeout and no longer show up on the public server list. Then, if i increment the host port and port up by 1 and restart the server it will display on the public server list again. I can keep refreshing the entire 'public server' lists and it will keep displaying and not timeout but once again if i personally refresh my specific server via the status window it will timeout and no longer display on the public server list. Also i checked on gameservers and according to their site its status is online. Is it possible that its still visible for others except me? ( still visible right now in public servers list unless i personally click on it and refresh)

Weird thing is i have these cvars set in my server.cfg and this in my servers start.bat file / hlds parameters -exec server.cfg but i can't query the server more than 10 times?
max_queries_sec 50
max_queries_sec_global 64
max_queries_window 256

DJEarthQuake 05-20-2022 13:07

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
I would remove setting those CVARs on launch or anywhere until this is resolved.

One could be inadvertently truncating to max_queries_sec 5 and hard-coding it.

e.g.
Quote:

Originally Posted by DJEarthQuake (Post 2681894)
Do not put sys_ticrate in command line start up otherwise HLDS is stuck at that rate!!

Re-validate max_queries_sec etc from console please.

Some other config from maps could play a role.
Does your firewall have residual from your old IP in there anywhere?

Infamanious 05-20-2022 13:22

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DJEarthQuake (Post 2779813)
I would remove setting those CVARs on launch or anywhere until this is resolved.

One could be inadvertently truncating to max_queries_sec 5 and hard-coding it.

e.g.


Re-validate max_queries_sec etc from console please.

Some other config from maps could play a role.
Does your firewall have residual from your old IP in there anywhere?

max_queries_sec defaulted to 3.0
Removed sys ticrate
firewall is off

will check back once i get more time for some better diagnostics

DJEarthQuake 05-20-2022 18:54

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
These are the defaults.
max_queries_sec 16
max_queries_sec_global 64
max_queries_window 256

When validating each cvar that is how it should look on freshly started server.


Getting 3.0 means you still have some smeg in there.

Infamanious 05-22-2022 06:47

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
Performed more diagnostics with an AWS windows vm. I can confirm my ip is still publicly available and displays on the public server list even after my current issues. The problem for my host machine ( my computer thats running hlds) is i can't refresh my server under the 'view server info' dialogue box more than 5 or 7 times without the server timing out on my end. Then the server will no longer display on the server list however i can still connect to that external ip through the console via connect external:port. Im guessing this is only possible because im technically connecting to lan considering my lan ip is displayed under status in console. In the AWS vm the server is listed even though its unlisted on my machine. In order to resolve the server list issue on my end i have to either restart my server and wait or change my port number ( changing the port resolves the issue immediately).... same weird problem happens with my fastdownloadurl. I cant download from that but the AWS vm can.

DJEarthQuake 05-23-2022 06:11

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
Starting a new server just to see it on the list for 2 sec is hard to fathom. If max_queries_sec is different than 16, and it is not in a config perhaps it is a forgotten server startup parameter. A new profile and server would do a guy some good IMHO just to test.

Infamanious 05-23-2022 07:46

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DJEarthQuake (Post 2779990)
Starting a new server just to see it on the list for 2 sec is hard to fathom. If max_queries_sec is different than 16, and it is not in a config perhaps it is a forgotten server startup parameter. A new profile and server would do a guy some good IMHO just to test.

Certainly. IM in the process of cleaning out my old server and transitioning to a new linux platform.

DJEarthQuake 05-24-2022 16:50

Re: HLDS times out after refreshing to many times
 
Glad you got a clear path now. Rebuild sometimes is inevitable.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.