AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Plugins (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=108)
-   -   Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (4.0.8) (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=82220)

MrSaturn 01-25-2009 07:33

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
I know this plugin wasnt meant to play very long sounds, but I use it for such anyways. But the problem I seem to be getting can also be done with small sounds, too, if you time it properly.

The problem that _I_ get is that whenever a map ends and the server is about to switch maps, if someone triggers a sound, then the clients who begin playing that sound get timed out from the server as the map changes. I dont know where you would begin to fix this, perhaps by disabling sounds before a mapchange? Maybe if there was a global stopsound command you can give it a time duration and use it right before a mapchange. I dont know, but as it stands I keep losing players after a map change and they have msged me with this problem.

gH0sTy 01-25-2009 09:17

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
This timeouts are a TF2 specific problem, Valve knows about it and it will be fixed in the upcoming update next week... see here

MrSaturn 01-25-2009 09:44

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by gH0sTy (Post 749819)
This timeouts are a TF2 specific problem, Valve knows about it and it will be fixed in the upcoming update next week... see here

My bad, lol. Alot of my buddies had me beleiving it was the sounds. Thats good news!

omgiafs 01-25-2009 21:13

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
Good day.
I'm with stupid question.
gH0sTy, why you don't include content of this small gametype.inc into plugin source file? :)

MrSaturn 01-25-2009 22:18

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
So I tried out a random trigger

"Random"
{
"file1" "misc/omg.wav"
"file2" "misc/wtfboom.mp3"
"file3" "misc/pkfire.mp3"
"file4" "misc/mine.mp3"
"file5" "misc/choppa.wav"
"file6" "misc/windows.wav"
"file7" "misc/godzilla.wav"
"file8" "misc/won.mp3"
"count" "8"
}

works like a charm... running sm1.1 and saysounds 3.1.0 . If you are running the same thing then try to manually play the sound that doesnt play by typing

play misc/sound.mp3

in your console. If it doesnt play then its a file problem and not a code problem. If it does, then I'm stumped. Might be a typo problem.

monkie 01-26-2009 00:55

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MrSaturn (Post 749774)
Make sure the sound can be played manuall by typing this in your console

play joinserver/delune.mp3

If this doesnt make your client manually play the song to himself, then there is something wrong with the sound. Either it was faultily uploaded (has happend to me quite a few times, changing the name and reuploading always works) named something different or its in an incompatible format. There should be an error message to determine which of those it is.

I personally have not tried using a multiple join sound and havent tried using random sounds for the same trigger even though I have dozens of them, but I'll try it out later and see if I cant help you.

Hi, MrSaturn
I checked the property of that file, it is caused by the sample rate that Source engine cannot play.
Source/2007 engine can only play 44.1kHz sample rate sounds, mine is 48kHz, that should be the reason.

I strongly recommend that ghosty can add some comments for the file format which can be played in Source/2007 engine, in case my efforts wouldn't need to be repeated :P

st0rm_r1der 01-27-2009 15:19

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
hey everybody,
i have tried some weapon action sounds but they wont work.

is this the right syntax?
Code:

        "xm1014"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "xm1014"
                "prob"        "1"
            }
        "m3"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "m3"
                "prob"        "1"
            }


omgiafs 01-27-2009 23:28

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by st0rm_r1der (Post 751238)
hey everybody,
i have tried some weapon action sounds but they wont work.

Maybe problem in syntax ?
"file" "hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"

Don't use notepad or simple text editor. Use text editor with syntax highlight, like Notepad++

MrSaturn 01-27-2009 23:36

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by st0rm_r1der (Post 751238)
hey everybody,
i have tried some weapon action sounds but they wont work.

is this the right syntax?
Code:

        "xm1014"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "xm1014"
                "prob"        "1"
            }
        "m3"
            {
                "file"        hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"
                "admin"    "0"
                "download"    "1"
                "actiononly"    "1"
                "action"    "kill"
                "param"    "m3"
                "prob"        "1"
            }


omg is right. in the

"file" hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"

it should be

"file" "hedu_sounds/pumpgun.mp3"

Also, not to be picky, but you have some other options there that arent needed, like prob 1 means it will always play when this happens, which is already 1 by default. download 1 is also default. admin is 0 by default. You seem to want to make things more complicated than they already are.

st0rm_r1der 01-28-2009 11:05

Re: Say Sounds (including Hybrid Edition) (3.1.0)
 
thanks a lot,
i had overseen the activated inster key...

most of the sounds are working now,
but i have another question.

Is it possible to play a action sound on blending a player...?
Or to play a round end/mapend sound?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.