AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Plugins (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=108)
-   -   [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2) (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=285258)

ScrapEngineer 04-25-2017 11:57

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ryocery (Post 2515156)
Yes, i have a dedicated server that works properly like all the rest.
How do i custom weapon models to work properly.

for example:


Where do i place the models?

How do i make sure that they get downloaded?

How do you make sure that a custom weapon has a specific custom model?

Are there any settings that should be changed for my server to support custom models? (i'm not sure if my server is a problem though.)

I've also been struggling to figure this out, I get how it's SUPPOSED to, but I can never get it to work.

KaidemonLP 04-26-2017 01:47

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer (Post 2515164)
I've also been struggling to figure this out, I get how it's SUPPOSED to, but I can never get it to work.

ok. Lets suppose that the model is called stingy. You need stingy.mdl stingy.dmx90.vtx stingy.dmx80.vtx stingy.phy stingy.vvd stingy.sw.vtx

Once you have all of them (dont ask how to get them, the model you want shoud have them all)
dont go into the source mod folder, just go into the tf2>tf folder. You shoud see a models folder, if you dont make one. Open it and put all the files in.

Now the model is in the place models/stingy.mdl

You also have to go to your actualy tf2 folder and add the same model to the same folder if you dont you will just get a error model.

Now we add it here.

"test1"
{
"classes"
{
"heavy" "1"
}
"baseclass" "shotgun"
"baseindex" "11"
"nobots" "1"
"quality" "6"
"logname" "test"
"description" "test"
"viewmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the viewmodel file.
}
"worldmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the worldmodel file.
}
"cw3_attributes"
{
}
}

If you are still confuzed il make a video tutorial but i dont have much time these 2 days so il make it in the weekend.

Ryocery 04-26-2017 05:10

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by KaidemonLP (Post 2515437)
ok. Lets suppose that the model is called stingy. You need stingy.mdl stingy.dmx90.vtx stingy.dmx80.vtx stingy.phy stingy.vvd stingy.sw.vtx

Once you have all of them (dont ask how to get them, the model you want shoud have them all)
dont go into the source mod folder, just go into the tf2>tf folder. You shoud see a models folder, if you dont make one. Open it and put all the files in.

Now the model is in the place models/stingy.mdl

You also have to go to your actualy tf2 folder and add the same model to the same folder if you dont you will just get a error model.

Now we add it here.

"test1"
{
"classes"
{
"heavy" "1"
}
"baseclass" "shotgun"
"baseindex" "11"
"nobots" "1"
"quality" "6"
"logname" "test"
"description" "test"
"viewmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the viewmodel file.
}
"worldmodel"
{
"modelname" "models/stingy.mdl" // Location of the worldmodel file.
}
"cw3_attributes"
{
}
}

If you are still confuzed il make a video tutorial but i dont have much time these 2 days so il make it in the weekend.



Thank you, ill try it out when i can.


EDIT 1: There should be a way to get them downloaded by joining the server right? Have an idea how that works as well?

EDIT 2: No longer showing the original item, but the weapon itself is invisible, and not even an error.

EDIT 3: The weapon model shows up misformed when i have [Weapon Name].dx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dx90.vtx and Pink Checkerboarded

EDIT 4: The Weapon doesn't show up and is just invisible with [Weapon Name].dmx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dmx90.vtx

For the rest it's not showing the original model anymore.


Evaluation
Okay, So i got the weapon model to load... but it loads purple checkerboarded and misformed every single time. Using dmx90 or dmx80 does not load the model at all so i use dx90 and dx80.


Link to Picture:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...nshot15788.PNG

And yes... i have put the same model in my game folder.

ScrapEngineer 04-26-2017 10:18

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ryocery (Post 2515558)
Thank you, ill try it out when i can.


EDIT 1: There should be a way to get them downloaded by joining the server right? Have an idea how that works as well?

EDIT 2: No longer showing the original item, but the weapon itself is invisible, and not even an error.

EDIT 3: The weapon model shows up misformed when i have [Weapon Name].dx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dx90.vtx and Pink Checkerboarded

EDIT 4: The Weapon doesn't show up and is just invisible with [Weapon Name].dmx80.vtx & [Weapon Name].dmx90.vtx

For the rest it's not showing the original model anymore.


Evaluation
Okay, So i got the weapon model to load... but it loads purple checkerboarded and misformed every single time. Using dmx90 or dmx80 does not load the model at all so i use dx90 and dx80.


Link to Picture:
https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachmen...nshot15788.PNG

And yes... i have put the same model in my game folder.

Make sure you also have the material file.

Ryocery 04-26-2017 10:37

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer (Post 2515751)
Make sure you also have the material file.

Do i need to put the model and everything in the material folder? Or something more specific?

ScrapEngineer 04-26-2017 11:10

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ryocery (Post 2515766)
Do i need to put the model and everything in the material folder? Or something more specific?

Keep the model in the model file, but you need a .vtf and .vmt in your materials\(location.)
Say you had the Shellshock shotgun for a mod, you put the model in:
models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype_shotgun\c _prototype_shotgun.mdl
You'd also have a ".vtf" and a ".vmt".
It would belong in:
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vtf
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vmt
An exception is if the decompiled model's .qc said otherwise.

Ryocery 04-26-2017 11:19

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer (Post 2515791)
Keep the model in the model file, but you need a .vtf and .vmt in your materials\(location.)
Say you had the Shellshock shotgun for a mod, you put the model in:
models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype_shotgun\c _prototype_shotgun.mdl
You'd also have a ".vtf" and a ".vmt".
It would belong in:
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vtf
materials\models\weapons\c_models\c_prototype _shotgun\c_prototype_shotgun.vmt
An exception is if the decompiled model's .qc said otherwise.


Thank You so Much!


But still, now that it works... i can't seem to find a place where you can download models for the serverside, not for the client to place in tf2/tf/custom.
Is there a place where i can find models that aren't just .vpk files?


Literally every model i've downloaded so far has been a useless .vpk file which i can't use as a model for custom weapons.

It's starting to piss me off...

ScrapEngineer 04-26-2017 15:12

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ryocery (Post 2515798)
Thank You so Much!


But still, now that it works... i can't seem to find a place where you can download models for the serverside, not for the client to place in tf2/tf/custom.
Is there a place where i can find models that aren't just .vpk files?


Literally every model i've downloaded so far has been a useless .vpk file which i can't use as a model for custom weapons.

It's starting to piss me off...

.vpk can be decompiled, I recommend Crowbar, a .vpk decompiler comes with TF2, but it's a command-line application so you SHOULD use crowbar, I'll add a .zip file containing it.

KaidemonLP 04-27-2017 01:33

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ScrapEngineer (Post 2515918)
.vpk can be decompiled, I recommend Crowbar, a .vpk decompiler comes with TF2, but it's a command-line application so you SHOULD use crowbar, I'll add a .zip file containing it.

Personaly i woud use GCF scape. Its for vpk specific.

http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/?p=26

ScrapEngineer 04-27-2017 03:54

Re: [TF2] Custom Weapons 3 (Beta 2)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by KaidemonLP (Post 2516040)
Personaly i woud use GCF scape. Its for vpk specific.

http://nemesis.thewavelength.net/?p=26

I said Crowbar was a .vpk decompiler.
I'm stupid, I forgot it was for .mdls instead.

But yeah, GCFScape is a good idea.

EDIT: Crowbar DOES actually have a .vpk decompiler, but eh, GCFScape is probably what you need.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.