AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Approved Plugins (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Polymorph: Mod Manager (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=111535)

fysiks 11-15-2019 01:07

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rtxa (Post 2672824)
I suggest you to add in the preconfig branch, after executing the preconfig, add the function server_exec(), so the .cfg is executed immediatly. I been experiencing some side-effects on my Zombie Mod X plugin because of that (I getting an old value of the cvar mp_teamlist in plugin_precache()).

I remember server_exec() sometimes crashing servers but I can't remember if it was just a bad server installation or just some strange anomaly.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rtxa (Post 2672824)
It would be better to keep everything in the polymorph folder, so please change the location of poly_preconfig.cfg. Also, do not plus one to g_iNextMod to follow the same index of .cfg mods (e.g. 0_deathrun.ini, 1_zombie)

It was originally just a very quick solution. If I were to implement it as a normal feature, I'd probably put it into the mod's config file (whether it be a path to a file to execute or just cvars to execute like the normal cvar setup).

rtxa 11-15-2019 17:38

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fysiks (Post 2672983)
I remember server_exec() sometimes crashing servers but I can't remember if it was just a bad server installation or just some strange anomaly.

Pretty sure a bad server installation, or maybe a bad engineered plugin, who knows?

Quote:

Originally Posted by fysiks (Post 2672983)
It was originally just a very quick solution. If I were to implement it as a normal feature, I'd probably put it into the mod's config file (whether it be a path to a file to execute or just cvars to execute like the normal cvar setup).

Mod's config file? Well, It's just a matter of preference in this case.

fysiks 11-16-2019 00:47

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rtxa (Post 2673068)
Pretty sure a bad server installation, or maybe a bad engineered plugin, who knows?

Not related to the plugin at all.


Quote:

Originally Posted by rtxa (Post 2673068)
Mod's config file? Well, It's just a matter of preference in this case.

It's not just a matter of preference because there is no guarantee that the indices will always properly match up with the configuration file number. So, if I were to either leave it as it is or make the changes you suggested, there would still be a bug (fixed by incorporating it into the mod's config file; that's where the configuration is supposed to go anyways).

rtxa 11-19-2019 14:49

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Well, you didn't mention that. Why there would be no guarantee that the indices will always properly match up? Every mod can have a preconfig file, right?

fysiks 11-19-2019 22:49

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rtxa (Post 2673558)
Well, you didn't mention that. Why there would be no guarantee that the indices will always properly match up? Every mod can have a preconfig file, right?

Because the integer used in the name of the normal mod config files aren't the actual index number. So, if you have the following files:
  • 1_Hello.ini
  • 3_World.ini

then they would have indices of 0 and 1 (meaning that your preconfig file, as it exists now, would have to be 0 and 1, not 1 and 3). A practical example being if someone decided to disable one of the mods, they could easily change the name of the file without having to change the name of all the other mods' config files (e.g. I removed mod 2).

Rivotril 12-21-2019 01:34

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Sometimes with the poly_rtv it says there's 0 more rtv required (Even if under 4 minutes, instead of giving the message that you can't rtv says the same)

fysiks 12-21-2019 15:27

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rivotril (Post 2677566)
Sometimes with the poly_rtv it says there's 0 more rtv required (Even if under 4 minutes, instead of giving the message that you can't rtv says the same)

The only place I can see that it would say "0 more rtv required" is if you already rocked the vote and you also see the "[RTV] You already voted.". Is that what you are talking about?

Rivotril 12-23-2019 14:53

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by fysiks (Post 2677638)
The only place I can see that it would say "0 more rtv required" is if you already rocked the vote and you also see the "[RTV] You already voted.". Is that what you are talking about?

Yeah, that's it

fysiks 12-28-2019 22:08

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rivotril (Post 2677834)
Yeah, that's it

Ok, I've created an issue on GitHub to track it but I've not got to it yet.

Rivotril 02-18-2020 17:00

Re: Polymorph: Mod Manager
 
An option to 'ban recent mods' like Galileo would be pretty good!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 14:57.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.