AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Plugins (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=108)
-   -   [TF2] SteamTools Game Description Override (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=170527)

Dr. McKay 10-25-2011 22:32

[TF2] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
[TF2] SteamTools Game Description Override

v1.1.3

Description:
Since the original Game Description Override plugin no longer works, I figured I'd go ahead and write a version that uses SteamTools to change the game description. SteamTools only supports TF2.

Please use responsibly.

Cvars:
st_gamedesc_override_version - plugin version
st_gamedesc_override - change this cvar to your desired game description (to reset, simply change it back to the default, such as "Team Fortress")
st_gamedesc_override_auto_update (1) - enables automatic updating (has no effect if Updater is not installed)

Installation:
Put st_gamedesc_override.smx into /addons/sourcemod/plugins and reboot your server or type "sm plugins load st_gamedesc_override" into your console or rcon.

Requirements:
This plugin requires SteamTools.

Auto Update:
Install Updater. The plugin will be autoupdated according to your Updater settings. It'll work without Updater.

Changelog:
  • v1.1.0 (7/12/12)
    • Added option to disable automatic updating (st_gamedesc_override_auto_update)
  • v1.0.0 (10/25/11)
    • Initial Release

Download Plugin (st_gamedesc_override.smx)
View Source (st_gamedesc_override.sp)

DaftMink 10-25-2011 23:03

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
You might want to add somewhere that SteamTools currently only supports Source 2009 games:

- Team Fortress 2
- Counter-Strike: Source
- Day of Defeat: Source
- Half-Life 2: Deathmatch

Also if I set st_gamedesc_override to nothing will it restore the default game description or set it to nothing ?.

Dr. McKay 10-25-2011 23:15

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DaftMink (Post 1583355)
You might want to add somewhere that SteamTools currently only supports Source 2009 games:

- Team Fortress 2
- Counter-Strike: Source
- Day of Defeat: Source
- Half-Life 2: Deathmatch

Also if I set st_gamedesc_override to nothing will it restore the default game description or set it to nothing ?.

Added the SteamTools note to the OP. Setting st_gamedesc_override to "" won't do anything, the description will remain as it is, whether it's the default or a custom description. To restore the default, you have to set st_gamedesc_override to the default description, such as "Team Fortress".

sinblaster 10-26-2011 07:25

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Quote:

Requirements:
This plugin requires SteamTools.
Plugin or steamtools.ext?

jungjunghoo 10-26-2011 07:43

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Example plz

sinblaster 10-26-2011 08:21

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Example of what? It does the same as this
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=121576

[IMG]http://img585.**************/img585/3988/38559854.png[/IMG]


Now strike a pose

http://www.shareimage.sinblaster.org/Zoolander.png

GoD-Tony 10-26-2011 09:51

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Nice that SteamTools has this now. You could make this plugin support all mods by doing something like this:

Code:
#include <sourcemod> #undef REQUIRE_EXTENSIONS #include <sdkhooks> #include <steamtools> public CvarChanged(Handle:cvar, const String:oldVal[], const String:newVal[]) {     if (GuessSDKVersion() == SOURCE_SDK_EPISODE2VALVE)     {         // Use SteamTools     }     else     {         // Use SDK Hooks     } }

sinblaster 10-26-2011 09:55

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
wasn't the function that was needed in sdhooks removed? Or is to be removed.

KyleS 10-26-2011 09:58

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sinblaster (Post 1583540)
wasn't the function that was needed in sdhooks removed? Or is to be removed.

http://hg.nicholashastings.com/sdkho...11072163bdee31

GoD-Tony 10-26-2011 10:00

Re: [ANY] SteamTools Game Description Override
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sinblaster (Post 1583540)
wasn't the function that was needed in sdhooks removed? Or is to be removed.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KyleS (Post 1583545)

Translation: It's only removed from games that it doesn't work with, and that's where SteamTools comes in.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.