AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Scripting Help (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   How does "return" work? (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=325574)

supertrio17 06-27-2020 13:53

How does "return" work?

Hey, so I started coding with Pawn like 3-4 weeks, and I think that I'm pretty good for that small amount of time, but there is one thing that I don't really understand.

How does return work actually work? So if I set like PLUGIN_HANDLED in else statement, it said it would disable from going to other plugins, how does that "go" to other plugins.

In this code here, made by OciXCrom, what is returning, and where does it go (sorry if I sound like a total dumbass), and what does "?" mean?
PHP Code:

return cs_get_user_team(iVictim) == cs_get_user_team(iAttacker) ? HAM_SUPERCEDE HAM_IGNORED 

Can anyone explain to me what does it do (more in-depth than disables from going to other plugins)
And how I can be useful.

Sorry if a thread like this already exists.

fysiks 06-27-2020 15:41

Re: How does "return" work?

In general, a return value is the value returned by the function. If the function is being called from a hook provided by a module then there are special constants to signify to the hooking module what do do. This depends on the module for what the different values do. For AMX Mod X module, you have PLUGIN_* constants then for fakemeta you have FMRES_* constants and for Hamsandwich you have HAM_* constants.

Each of the modules have their own meaning for the return values and you can look at return value definitions (in their include file for constants, usually *_const.inc) and if that isn't enough, you can search specifically for the one you want on the forum (I've seen threads that talk about most of them if not all).