AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   General (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Question about sm_gravity (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=187029)

Zetos Lapier 06-07-2012 18:41

Question about sm_gravity
 
So I've been trying to change a single players gravity with

sm_gravity <player> <float amount>

Problem is, every time I do that it says checking gravity... 1.0
Set player gravity.

And then there's no change in the gravity whatsoever.

Is this broken? Is there a config I don't know about?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thankyou!

11530 06-07-2012 20:26

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
I find that the gravity check is usually wrong, but the actual internal value does change.

A point to note is that the <float amount> (as per your example) is actually a ratio based off the sv_gravity. So 0.5 would give half the server gravity. Sometimes I've seen admins try !gravity @me 800 and wonder why their gravity was so ridiculously high.

Tylerst 06-07-2012 22:25

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 11530 (Post 1724611)
I find that the gravity check is usually wrong, but the actual internal value does change.

A point to note is that the <float amount> (as per your example) is actually a ratio based off the sv_gravity. So 0.5 would give half the server gravity. Sometimes I've seen admins try !gravity @me 800 and wonder why their gravity was so ridiculously high.

I've never seen the gravity check be wrong personally.

Keep in mind that the check is BEFORE the gravity change.

IE, if you have normal gravity and use sm_gravity @me 0.5 the Gravity Check will be 1.0

If you then do sm_gravity 1.0, the check will be 0.5.

I believe that's where most people get confused because they think it represents the changed gravity, when it actually reads your previous gravity.

Zetos Lapier 06-07-2012 22:45

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
I tried to do the sm_gravity @me .1,

it didn't change my gravity at all.

I'm not talking about the check either, the multiplier applied to my entity was left untouched. Even when I changed again the past history for the check was completely 1.0

11530 06-08-2012 08:40

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
@Tylerst, I tried using !gravity @me .1 and got:
Code:

Gravity check 0.000000
[SM] set 11530's gravity.

Gravity definitely wasn't 0 before I changed it. :) Anyway Zetos, using .1 still works for me.

Powerlord 06-08-2012 10:54

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 11530 (Post 1724611)
I find that the gravity check is usually wrong, but the actual internal value does change.

A point to note is that the <float amount> (as per your example) is actually a ratio based off the sv_gravity. So 0.5 would give half the server gravity. Sometimes I've seen admins try !gravity @me 800 and wonder why their gravity was so ridiculously high.

That's odd, since sv_gravity uses something completely different, with 800 being "standard" gravity.

11530 06-08-2012 12:58

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Powerlord (Post 1724903)
That's odd, since sv_gravity uses something completely different, with 800 being "standard" gravity.

There shouldn't be any confusion unless I wrote something wrong.

Given sv_gravity N, and individual sm_gravity <player> M the user's perceived gravity is NM, where M is 1.0 by default.

Zetos Lapier 06-08-2012 14:28

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
>_> Yes I do realize how it is supposed to work, however it is not changing the individual (or any) gravity whastoever.

I can write

sm_gravity zetos 0.5
sm_gravity "zetos" 0.5
sm_gravity zetos "0.5"
sm_gravity "zetos" "0.5"

And it still will not change the gravity, the check is still returning one and the player does not have half the gravity of the server, he has the same gravity as the server.

I've tried many different floats and the same problem occurs.

Is there something special I need installed to get it to work?

11530 06-08-2012 18:42

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Zetos Lapier (Post 1725062)
>_> Yes I do realize how it is supposed to work, however it is not changing the individual (or any) gravity whastoever.

I wasn't really talking you you, I was confirming things with Powerlord. You can have your little emoticon back.

Anyway, sm_gravity, from funcommands, basically calls SetEntityGravity() - what SourceMod version are you running, and do you have anything in your SourceMod logs?

xomp 06-08-2012 18:58

Re: Question about sm_gravity
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 11530 (Post 1725243)
I wasn't really talking you you

How does one talk you you? More importantly, what is you you?

Please advise.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.