AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Metamod:Source Plugins (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=76)
-   -   FPS Boost (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=39223)

sslice 10-27-2005 20:32

FPS Boost
 
Just fixes the 64 FPS limit on the Windows Source DS without running an external program. If you don't have this problem, then you don't need FPS Boost. Useful for server owners that are trying to take advantage of higher tickrates.

Downloads for the Orange box engine (CSS/DODS/TF2) can be found here

Note: This is a Metamod: Source plugin and therefor needs to be added to your metaplugins.ini

ichthys 10-28-2005 16:21

This might come in handy, thanks

nisback 10-30-2005 16:35

wow thanks

Geesu 10-31-2005 11:50

nj, any possibility of posting the source ? :)

CWO 10-31-2005 16:37

The external program I was using was starting to get annoying.

This works great, thanks!

sslice 10-31-2005 18:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Geesu
nj, any possibility of posting the source ? :)

Yeah, no problem.

Geesu 11-02-2005 16:12

thanks! So this is basically the fix instead of running windows media player in the background? Weird valve just doesn't do it...

sslice 11-02-2005 18:15

Yeah, not sure why Valve didn't fix it.

andre31 01-16-2006 09:01

think it needs recompiling for sourcemm update because my server kept crashing with this running

bzz0 01-22-2006 09:39

how to install it?

sslice 01-22-2006 14:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by andre31
think it needs recompiling for sourcemm update because my server kept crashing with this running

Are you sure it isn't something else? It seems to run fine for me. Has anyone else had problems?

Quote:

Originally Posted by bzz0
how to install it?

You need SourceMM first... then install it like any other plugin:
http://wiki.tcwonline.org/index.php/...uring_SourceMM

bzz0 01-24-2006 17:07

senks all... I have downloaded incorrect file =) now it is ok!

bzz0 01-24-2006 18:00

one more question is:
should I run it on every server on my machine or only once on one of them?

sslice 01-24-2006 18:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by bzz0
one more question is:
should I run it on every server on my machine or only once on one of them?

It would probably be fine to run on just one of them, but test to make sure.

Dag 03-28-2006 12:32

My server provider said we cannot run this on the server :( Violates their TOS)

You Cannot:
"Run a "ping booster", "ping accelerator" or other such utility which enables the multimedia timer on the server machine, as these can cause significantly increased latencies and load times for all servers on the machine and disrupt additional services such as stats"

Gitsum1 03-28-2006 23:25

Ha, not only that, it dramatically increases CPU load which probably the real reason.
Without the media timer goin, a guy could probably have 10 or more instances of srcds.exe running. But with the media timer, maybe 2.

DemonSlayer 04-25-2006 01:20

You are underestimateing servers.
 
WOW if you think with Mindows Media Player(MMP) open that it reduces the number from your example 10 to 2 you must be majoily underestimateing.
The player dosnt have to be playing anything at all for one.
Also MMP at idel takes .5% of a 3.2ghz processor and 4mb ram. I can have on my home computer a full CS:S Server (16 Players) w/ tick of 100 going, CS:S running on that server, Meta mod with Mani running, and World of Warcraft running and playing on both in windowed mode for easy swap games. Running at 75% of my total ram(Not including the HD space it gives), and XFIRE, AIM, MSN, Yahoo, and having iTunes open with music playing without that server laging and only having my processor running at 93% load. And all that play wow know when your in Iron Fourge(IF) tha it is a very memory and CPU hog. So I dont beleave that 10 to 2 comment.

Also both other than this websites downloads link are down might wana upload it to Fileplanet and mabe make a area on rapidshare.de for it and give links.

sslice 04-25-2006 18:35

There are plenty of mirrors provided, including the forum.

devicenull 04-25-2006 20:17

Re: You are underestimateing servers.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DemonSlayer
WOW if you think with Mindows Media Player(MMP) open that it reduces the number from your example 10 to 2 you must be majoily underestimateing.
The player dosnt have to be playing anything at all for one.
Also MMP at idel takes .5% of a 3.2ghz processor and 4mb ram. I can have on my home computer a full CS:S Server (16 Players) w/ tick of 100 going, CS:S running on that server, Meta mod with Mani running, and World of Warcraft running and playing on both in windowed mode for easy swap games. Running at 75% of my total ram(Not including the HD space it gives), and XFIRE, AIM, MSN, Yahoo, and having iTunes open with music playing without that server laging and only having my processor running at 93% load. And all that play wow know when your in Iron Fourge(IF) tha it is a very memory and CPU hog. So I dont beleave that 10 to 2 comment.

Also both other than this websites downloads link are down might wana upload it to Fileplanet and mabe make a area on rapidshare.de for it and give links.

You aren't understanding the problem, at all. Opening WMP plays with one of the timers in windows. Without WMP, srcds is capped at 64 fps, unless you get another program to play with this value. Enabling this timer removes the 64 fps limit. No fps limit means increasing CPU usage, meaning you can't run as many srcds instances on one machine.

sslice 04-25-2006 20:23

The statement that only 2 can run on one server is definitely exaggerated, but yes it will obviously use more CPU when you get higher FPS...

DemonSlayer 04-25-2006 21:36

So your saying it compleatly uncaps it? This mod... So its unsetable...

I know I found a little exe that was writen in V C++ that would fix the prob also that took up a lot less space and fixed it.

sslice 04-25-2006 22:24

fps_max still guides it.. I guess it takes a lot less space if a ~20-30 KB difference really matters.

Jasonmr321 05-14-2006 23:01

ok could you like give the information from that link becouse its not working and yes i loged into steam forums and all that becouse i did that before and it worked great but i forgot it and well its not there any more and i need it for my server its still sucks and would love it to be better thanks

JasonDTM 07-22-2006 13:22

Re: FPS Boost
 
I have a question about this, is there a cap @ 255fps or is there a windows limitation involved? I want my private dedicated to be set 500 fps and its only outputting 255 solid.

DaNN` 07-22-2006 13:25

Re: FPS Boost
 
max_fps 500 in the server config?

- Dan

sslice 07-22-2006 19:52

Re: FPS Boost
 
I've found that for some reason, it gives you about half of what you have for fps_max in certain occasions.. try setting fps_max to 1000. Although, I doubt you will notice a difference going from 250 to 500 FPS... just a waste of CPU.

justloco 07-25-2006 21:08

Re: FPS Boost
 
Does this work on linux based machines? And do i need a dedicated server to make it run over 66 tick ie command line?

tcviper 07-26-2006 05:17

Re: FPS Boost
 
No this is for Windows only as for Linux there are other things to do to remove the fps limits.

justloco 07-30-2006 20:36

Re: FPS Boost
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tcviper
No this is for Windows only as for Linux there are other things to do to remove the fps limits.

Can u link me to it? I don't see it.

Vawaver 12-13-2006 21:16

Re: FPS Boost
 
Hi friends,
my SourceMM 1.3d stopped to work past last Valve update and that is why my FPSboost stopped to work too.

I want to ask whether exists standalone version too...not only for MM.

Thank you for replying

sslice 12-14-2006 13:05

Re: FPS Boost
 
Check your gameinfo.txt....

NickName 12-15-2006 06:43

Re: FPS Boost
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Vawaver (Post 415087)
Hi friends,
my SourceMM 1.3d stopped to work past last Valve update and that is why my FPSboost stopped to work too.

I want to ask whether exists standalone version too...not only for MM.

Thank you for replying

look here (srcdsboost): http://cpnclan.home.comcast.net/guide4.html

thinkr 05-13-2007 13:55

Re: FPS Boost
 
Just curious With all the updates to SouceMM an the CS engine... its MAY 2007 now... does this mod FPS Boost mod still work?... Did Valve fix this yet?:|

P.S. I can't download that http://jupiter.walagata.com/w/nsf924/srcdsfpsboost.zip
from the post above?... can u?

sslice 05-13-2007 14:19

Re: FPS Boost
 
This should still work, and no this is probably something Valve won't address.

cola 05-27-2007 01:07

Re: FPS Boost
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by sslice (Post 335017)

i can't download it ><;

sslice 05-27-2007 01:13

Re: FPS Boost
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cola (Post 482323)
i can't download it ><;

Hmm? Link seems to work for me.

xlkiller 05-27-2007 18:00

Re: FPS Boost
 
me too :D

cola 05-30-2007 07:00

Re: FPS Boost
 
i get this T_T;
Code:

Your download has failed. There were no available download servers

Chaos Llama 06-15-2007 23:50

Re: FPS Boost
 
Using an external program to boost tickrates, can that hurt the server hardware? Cause i noticed everything on my server running faster when i had the external fps booster program running. At the same time, i dont want to burn out components faster.

Experience 06-18-2007 12:17

Re: FPS Boost
 
don't worry, there is no any harm for server hardware. i'm using it for 3 months, and i haven't any problems yet.

PS. sry for bad english.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 13:46.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.