AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   HL1 Servers (HLDS) (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=131)
-   -   No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=286553)

YuGiOhJCJ 08-19-2016 14:26

No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Hello,

I have installed a Linux Counter-Strike 1.6 dedicated server on Slackware 14.1 following the SteamCMD guide [1].
I have no error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server.

Here is how I run the server:
Code:

./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 78.199.90.154 +port 27015 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
Here is the server log:
Code:

$ cat stdout.log
Auto-restarting the server on crash

Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.1.2.7/Stdio (cstrike)
Exe build: 13:12:29 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server
Server IP address 78.199.90.154:27015
couldn't exec listip.cfg
couldn't exec banned.cfg
$ cat stderr.log
Using breakpad crash handler
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 10
Forcing breakpad minidump interfaces to load
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit

Do you see something strange ?

Thank you.
Best regards.

[1] https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/SteamCMD

addons_zz 08-19-2016 19:34

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by YuGiOhJCJ (Post 2446224)
I have installed a Linux Counter-Strike 1.6 dedicated server on Slackware 14.1 following the SteamCMD guide [1].
Here is how I run the server:
Code:

./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 78.199.90.154 +port 27015 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
Do you see something strange ?

Yes, why -insecure?
This ip 78.199.90.154 should be your local machine ip, to where you server is bound to.
If you have more than one, and want to bind them all to your server, use the ip as 0.0.0.0

Also, you cannot connect to your own server using your external ip, you need to use your local are network ip (LAN ip)

YuGiOhJCJ 08-19-2016 21:28

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
If I recall correctly, I am using -insecure to allow banned account (reason: cheating) to join my server too.

78.199.90.154 is actually my public external IP address.
I want to allow people from the Internet to join my server, that's why I am using this IP address.

I have already tested to join my server with the two IP addresses:
  • my private internal IP address (192.168.0.100)
  • my public external IP address (78.199.90.154)
I am currently unable to join each of them.

All the options that I am using here with SteamCMD are the same than the ones I was using with the old HLDSUpdateTool.
So, I expected that it works here too.

wickedd 08-19-2016 21:33

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Did you forward your ports?

addons_zz 08-19-2016 21:39

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
How you are connecting to your server?
It should be something like this:
Code:

connect 192.168.0.100:27015
Also, If I recall correctly, you do not use the '+ip' when your computer has only one LAN board. And if you use it, it should be your LAN ip not your external ip.
I never used the '+ip' and my server always was accessible and online to the world.

YuGiOhJCJ 08-19-2016 22:01

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by wickedd (Post 2446357)
Did you forward your ports?

Yes:
Code:

$ sudo iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy DROP)
target    prot opt source              destination       
[...]
ACCEPT    udp  --  anywhere            anywhere            udp dpt:27015
[...]

Quote:

Originally Posted by addons_zz
How you are connecting to your server?

I am using a Steam client on Windows 8.1.
I am not using the "connect 192.168.0.100:27015" command but I am using the graphical user interface where I can press a button to specify the IP address in a text field.
In this text field, I type 192.168.0.100:27015 but nothing happens after that.

On the server side, I tested also with the 0.0.0.0 IP address as suggested by addons_zz:
Code:

./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +ip 0.0.0.0 +port 27015 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
But it does not help.
I am always unable to join my server.
The only difference is on the server side because I see the 0.0.0.0 IP address instead of my public IP address:
Code:

$ cat stdout.log
Auto-restarting the server on crash

Console initialized.
Protocol version 48
Exe version 1.1.2.7/Stdio (cstrike)
Exe build: 13:12:29 Aug 29 2013 (6153)
STEAM Auth Server
Server IP address 0.0.0.0:27015
couldn't exec listip.cfg
couldn't exec banned.cfg
$ cat stderr.log
Using breakpad crash handler
Setting breakpad minidump AppID = 10
Forcing breakpad minidump interfaces to load
Looking up breakpad interfaces from steamclient
Calling BreakpadMiniDumpSystemInit

I also tested that it was not something related to permissions on files:
Code:

$ sudo chmod -R 777 steamcmd/
But it does not help.

My server has two network interfaces:
  • the one connected to my local area network (private IP address)
  • the one connected to my ADSL modem (public IP address)
So, I guess it explains why I am using "+ip".
Why should I use my LAN IP address?
If I do that, my server will not be available on the Internet but only in my local area network.
So, you don't use "+ip" but your server is available online?
If I remove "+ip" from my command line as you suggest, I get:
Code:

./hlds_run -insecure -game cstrike +maxplayers 32 +port 27015 1>stdout.log 2>stderr.log &
Is it what I should use?

Anyway, the port seems to be opened by hlds_run on my server on all my network interfaces:
Code:

$ sudo nmap -sT -sU -p1-65535 192.168.0.100
[...]
27015/udp open|filtered halflife
[...]
$ sudo nmap -sT -sU -p1-65535 78.199.90.154
[...]
27015/udp open|filtered halflife
[...]

So, maybe the server is working correctly.
Maybe the problem is only on the client side.
Is it possible to communicate with my server through telnet or something like that?

Code:

$ telnet 192.168.0.100 27015
Trying 192.168.0.100...
telnet: connect to address 192.168.0.100: Connection refused


wickedd 08-19-2016 22:10

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Is there a router on your network?
Edit: You don't need to put the IP in the command line just put the port.

YuGiOhJCJ 08-19-2016 22:12

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Indeed, there is a router in my network: My server is also a firewall and a router.

wickedd 08-19-2016 22:13

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
Well you need to forward the ports. Read this

YuGiOhJCJ 08-19-2016 22:20

Re: No error, the server process is running, but the client does not find the server
 
I have already forwarded my UDP 27015 port as mentioned previously [1].

[1] https://forums.alliedmods.net/showpo...64&postcount=6


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:37.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.