AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Snippets and Tutorials (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   [INC] [TF2] Alternative Hud Text (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=155911)

GNCMatt 04-28-2011 05:47

[INC] [TF2] Alternative Hud Text

3 Attachment(s)
Yea I couldn't think of a good title...

Anyway, I do a lot of tf2 stuff that requires displaying information, so I was playing around a bit today trying to get access to the message area that the game_text_tf entity uses, after a few fails I got it working. Decided an include file was the best way to implement it, but I've never written one before so I used Colors as a base, and a lot of it was relevant so there are a couple borrowed lines in here, so thanks exvel.

Still in its early stages, code is pretty ugly and hardcoded settings, but it gets the job done. The one pitfall of using this that I've noticed so far is that if the player has the minimal interface enabled, these notifications don't display. Might make a fallback for that later if it's possible to determine if minimal interface is enabled on a client.

Code:

stock PrintToHud(client, const String:szMessage[], any:...)
stock PrintToHudAll(const String:szMessage[], any:...)

Also included isay as an example. Enjoy.

asherkin 04-28-2011 14:03

Re: [INC] [TF2] Alternative Hud Text

Some more info on that message's structure:
String - text - The message displayed.
String - icon - The icon used (this include hard codes "voice_self").
Byte - team - Used to determine the background colour of the panel (this include hard codes "0").

pheadxdll 04-28-2011 14:36

The names for the different icons can be found in:
tf/scripts/mod_textures.txt

GNCMatt 04-28-2011 17:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by asherkin (Post 1459624)
Some more info on that message's structure:
String - text - The message displayed.
String - icon - The icon used (this include hard codes "voice_self").