PDA

View Full Version : Customizable HUD Messages


johnjg75
07-23-2004, 01:50
A big thanks to jtp10181 for helping me make this plugin work. HUDs are now even more flexible/********************************************* ******************************
* Customizable HUD's by Johnjg75
*=============================
*
* - special thanks to jtp10181 for helping me debug the code
*
* Change Log
*------------
*
* v2.0,
* -completely rewritten from the ground up
* -added logging ability
*
* v1.3,
* - added amx_pfullhud,amx_pcfsay,amx_pfsay
* - fixed char length bug
*
* v1.2,
* - increased char limit for messages
*
* v1.1,
* - Fixed the bug where only the 1st line was executed
*
* v1.0,
* - made plugin and released
* - 3 commands amx_fullhud, amx_cfsay, amx_fsay
*
* Description
*-------------
*
* amx_fullhud (experts only) customize a HUD message with many options
* amx_cfsay (color free say) customize the color and coordinates for your message
* amx_fsay (free say) Customize the coordinates for your message (default color - white, change constant)
* amx_pfullhud (experts only) Customize a HUD message with many options and send to a specified player
* amx_pcfsay (private color free say) Customize the color and coordinates for your message to a specified player
* amx_pfsay (private free say) Customize the coordinates for your message to a specified player (default color - white, change constant)
*
********************************************* ********************************/

//Includes
#include <amxmodx>
#include <amxmisc>

baronparabolla
07-23-2004, 03:51
lol thankyou, just what i needed.

ive been testing for about an hour now on a non CS mod, as there are no #includes for cs. and i think ive unearthed a bug that might only be linked
with my mod.

i tried amx_fsay 0.50 0.50 hello and it displayed 0.50 in the minddle of the screen
i then tried amx_fcsay 255 000 000 0.50 0.50 hello and nothing happend

and could you tell me what all the variables are in the amx_fullhud cmnd.


pls. ive tested this on a non CS mod and would like to know if this could be a mod specific problem......does it work fine on CS?.....anyone else having problems?

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 06:13
I made it specifically for CS, and if you type "amx_cfsay" and "amx_fullhud" (very advanced) in console without anything, it'll show you what to type. Let me know of any bugs.

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 08:23
Ok, fixed :D

-=STN=- MaGe
07-23-2004, 09:45
can you please put up some screen shots some one

i got one plugins like this

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 12:18
ScreenShot of what? a HUD message? lol i didnt copy anyone and i checked and didnt find another plugin like this...what plugin is it that u have?

-=STN=- MaGe
07-23-2004, 13:53
no i mean to compare the hud messages

see which is better

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 14:16
how can u compare them? it's very customizable to create anything you can with a hud_message with "amx_fullhud" but it's very flexible, just try it and you'll see... place messages anywhere on the screen w/ colors and\or special effects... just try it :D

devicenull
07-23-2004, 15:18
Also, you don't need to #include <string>, its included in amxmodx.inc
Who is snipaj?

Nick
07-23-2004, 15:36
I think hes johnjg75???

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 17:30
lol, i'd thought u guyz would question that, it's my nick that i use for counter-strike which i like better but i use johnjg75 for everthing else, SnipaJ is even in my sig. but yep thats me :D

Burnzy
07-23-2004, 18:26
wasnt this made? i was sure of it... i no the server i got admin on a server and they had like a million message things. ill check on that later.

-=STN=- MaGe
07-23-2004, 18:28
yea ludwig is the autor

baronparabolla
07-23-2004, 18:31
np, what he is saying is that when u type amx_fullud, u are able to input the color, position and add effects.

i know if i type amx_fullhud it shows me all the peramiters to use but what im saying is what are the variable i can use in effects for example>>>"fade"?? i dont know.

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 18:38
I searched and i couldn't find it... can i just rename it to "Snipa's Customizable HUDs"? please....

Burnzy
07-23-2004, 18:39
u should give all this information he just said above. It should not just giive u bits. u gotta tell them what it does. Im scared that this was already made and not as good as the other.

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 18:44
are you sure he had "amx_cfsay"?

Burnzy
07-23-2004, 18:46
well he had it so u could put it where ever u want.

kingpin
07-23-2004, 18:46
does it matter? if its a duplicate it wont get approved by the MODS whos job it actually is to determine that and whos opinion really matters..... otherwise if its an original work then gj and eep up the good work.

Burnzy
07-23-2004, 18:48
even if it was... it looks like he got help from the Ludwig porter. So i doubt this was his work. Probably got snatched from it. Aint i rite oi?

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 18:54
:shock: i wrote this plugin completely by myself, like i said, i could never find any plugin like it, so i wrote it... i wouldnt try to steal some1's credit

kingpin
07-23-2004, 18:55
?? i wrote this plugin completely by myself, like i said, i could never find any plugin like it, so i wrote it... i wouldnt try to steal some1's credit

this is pointless listen to me and stop arguing that point just wait for the mods to reach a decsion about it, in the meanwhile add more stuff to it or make improvements or come up with other stuff :)

johnjg75
07-23-2004, 18:56
well there r my 3 things i'm working on that i said will be in the next release on the 1st post, any other ideas?

kingpin
07-23-2004, 18:57
well there r my 3 things i'm working on that i said will be in the next release on the 1st post, any other ideas?

I have a coupla Ideas will post or Pm later once I have had some sleep and can think coherently again.

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 04:23
np, what he is saying is that when u type amx_fullud, u are able to input the color, position and add effects.

i know if i type amx_fullhud it shows me all the peramiters to use but what im saying is what are the variable i can use in effects for example>>>"fade"?? i dont know.Ok, here are all the parts in order:
<red> - the amount of red in the message (0 - 255)
<green> - the amount of green in the message (0 - 255)
<blue> - the amount of blue in the message (0 - 255)
<x> - X position of the HUD message (horizontal)
<y> - Y position of the HUD message (verticle)
<effects> - (def = 0) different effects to the message
<fxtime> - how long it does the effects
<holdtime> - the time the HUD message stays after fading in
<fadeintime> - the time to take for the HUD message to fade in until holdtime
<fadeouttime> - the time to take for the HUD message to fadeout after holdtime until it dissapears
<channel> - (quoted below)
There are 4 hud channels pr player. This means you can send a 2 diffrent messages to player a & b via channel 1. I hope this helps.

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 04:37
np, what he is saying is that when u type amx_fullud, u are able to input the color, position and add effects.

i know if i type amx_fullhud it shows me all the peramiters to use but what im saying is what are the variable i can use in effects for example>>>"fade"?? i dont know.
i'm not sure about it, u'll have to try it out...

llj143
07-24-2004, 06:23
anyone can make me a amx_fullhud that will output EXACTLY middle of the crosshair?!? please....

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 06:58
i could if i really wanted 2 but there might be an existing plugin

-=STN=- MaGe
07-24-2004, 12:49
its not the same

you just get

fsay
csay
tsay
ssay
and another one
and a custome say , where you want it to be and what size/clolour

you save the information in a ini

thats nothing the same as yours

i just wanted to know if yours was better and to see a screen shot of some to make my mind up, sorry if it got you confused

baronparabolla
07-24-2004, 12:55
i would say that this plugin is unique.
i have tried 1 that was releasesd earlier that allowed u to move and color hud messages via menus. this only allowed you to see what your hud message would look like. i used that 1 to figure out some of the variables i.e. color and pos. then i use this one to actualy make any hud message i wanted.

and thatnkyou johnjg75 for your plugin and your quik responce. 5/5 will use it even if it dont get approved.

jtp10181
07-24-2004, 14:18
even if it was... it looks like he got help from the Ludwig porter. So i doubt this was his work. Probably got snatched from it. Aint i rite oi?

STFU and go away, all you do is bitch and complain about other peoples stuff. I just looked at all the plugins I have by Lud and I don't see ANY that do anything like this. I am getting sick of seeing your stupid pointless annoying posts. So.... just go away.

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 20:07
hey jtp, thx again 4 helping :D

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 20:39
i would say that this plugin is unique.
i have tried 1 that was releasesd earlier that allowed u to move and color hud messages via menus. this only allowed you to see what your hud message would look like. i used that 1 to figure out some of the variables i.e. color and pos. then i use this one to actualy make any hud message i wanted.

and thatnkyou johnjg75 for your plugin and your quik responce. 5/5 will use it even if it dont get approved.
ty :D

Nick
07-24-2004, 20:59
Neat plugin I gave it a 5/5 :D

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 21:02
ty :D

Nick
07-24-2004, 21:03
yep good luck on getting this approved :)

johnjg75
07-24-2004, 22:29
Thanx, i hope it does too, so how many of you people are using it in ur server?

baronparabolla
07-25-2004, 02:17
im trying so hard to replace the two amx plugins scrollmsg.amx and imessage.amx.

but the only problem i have is that the message character limit is too short to say what i need. any chance it could be raised?

any idea if this would better cpu at all. because wat i didnt want was to have two plugins doing the same thing essentualy.

Nick
07-25-2004, 02:50
Have Customizable scrollmessages with colors been made? I'd like that :)

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 05:02
who me? i'd make them...

Nick
07-25-2004, 05:08
yes, request: can you add that to this plugin?

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 05:49
describe the features that u want (and maybe i'll add on) and what it affects, is it the scrollmessage at the bottom?

Nick
07-25-2004, 05:52
yes, being able to place it anywhere on the screen with, red,green,yellow,blue as colors you can select. Think you could do that?

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 05:54
wait, the scrollmsg or hud? i didnt know u could move the scroll msg, yea i'm pretty sure i can, what commands w/ descriptions do u have in mind?

Nick
07-25-2004, 06:00
amx_scrollmsg <xy axis> <color> <message> that sound alright?

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 06:04
i dont know much about scroll messages as in on how to set them in certain places so i guess i cant :( n plus amx_scrollmsg is an existing command, i dont think u can move scroll msg's can u?

Nick
07-25-2004, 06:05
I'm sure there is a way to do it, post in scripting help you can get help there :)
edit: or just amx_smsg or somehting for a command.

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 06:08
well while i research it, any other ideas for plugins? :D

Nick
07-25-2004, 06:10
as more ideas for this plugin, or a whole new plugin?

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 06:11
both :D

Nick
07-25-2004, 06:13
well that is my only request and idea for this plugin, If I get an idea I will post to you. :)

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 06:15
ok, thanks :)

Nick
07-25-2004, 06:17
alright, good night for now. Good luck! :D

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 06:17
ty, good night! :D

baronparabolla
07-25-2004, 08:54
can you increase the chararcter limit on amx_fullhud its too low to say what i need to.
menus, yes menus i like. not to hard? is it?
could you add a cfg file to it. so we can put a list of custom hud messages in there. make it so we can give them a timer to come on like the normal ones do. each would be nice but an over all command would do, like,

sv_fullhudauto

thos are my only requests thank you.

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 08:57
that'll be in future rleases but right now i'm gonna increase the char limit

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 09:00
new version released

Nick
07-25-2004, 09:01
yea a cfg file would be cool, timed huds and scroll messages would be good also :D

baronparabolla
07-25-2004, 09:11
dont know bout scroll messages, i would have thought they could only go on the bottom of te screen?? thats the only place ive ever seen them.


and the character legth, could we have like a whole paragraph displayed?

johnjg75
07-25-2004, 09:34
no, it's just 1 line across...

Nick
07-25-2004, 09:40
I know you can move scroll messages just like huds and change the color. Just play around, look at other peoples plugins.

baronparabolla
07-25-2004, 16:10
could you not increase the character length of the message. i think its at 28 now any chance of it being longer?

but. if u can do scrollling messages.then i supose i wouldnt need it anylonger.

johnjg75
07-27-2004, 04:23
i think its good 4 now while i work on it some more, i wanna get as many working suggestions as i can so please if u come up with anymore, let me know by posting them, any comments or anything post them too, thanks

baronparabolla
07-27-2004, 17:10
[REQ] say functon for admins/clients(1/0) : say [hud] <x> <y> <r> <g> [b] <message> / if you need to add a hud channel, cant you make one as default?

so we can then bind. bind <key> "messagemode [hud] <x> <y> <z> <r> <g> [b]" then type a message in your own section of the screen

and teamsay [hud] <x> <y> <message>would display message to team in team colour. (for multi mods pleaasee :cry: )

and teamsay @[hud] <x> <y> <message>would display a white message to admins.

if clients are able to use this.. request a anti spam cvar to stop them
saying anything else for a while.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[REQ] menus? place your hud. choose your colour. then goes to message mode. (check amx_hudmessageplacer)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[REQ] config files. 1 for chat responces e.g. fred : this map is crap would trigger>>>> "NOMINATE MAPS FOR END OF MATCH VOTE">>with set flags>>then>>> "SAY rockthevote TO START A MAP VOTE". different colors different places on the screen....all custom!

2nd for timed messages. time after map change or server restart/crash. time of the day. "goodmornig"
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[RE-REQ] scrolling messages :D
higher character length on amx_hud(any of that stuff i try to say wont fit)

if you could do all that i think no coder would ever have to do any hud messages again. and i think everyone would replace it with the two amx basic hud message plugins.
just ideas........absorb them.

p.s. amx_hudmessage[A.I.O]
p.p.s. amx_gudhuds
p.p.p.s. amx_fullhud < ok my favorate

johnjg75
08-03-2004, 20:59
bump :D this is one of my actual useful plugins, i dunno y no 1 likes it

johnjg75
08-04-2004, 15:15
baronarabolla, i will get to work on that, that's a great idea, i'll do the "say" messages in the next release and then probably config in the one after that, great idea :wink: and now since it's approved (ty alot devicenull :D ) then i actually have a reason to update it, i will get to work and let you know when the next version comes out, please explain to me what u mean by "admin/clients (0/1)" a cvar? any other suggestions, i'll look at :D

johnjg75
08-04-2004, 16:43
Big update released :D

TagCdog
10-05-2004, 00:34
make it post huds at a certain time :)

johnjg75
10-05-2004, 00:45
make it post huds at a certain time :)will do :)

TagCdog
10-05-2004, 17:43
Hey,
There used to be a "hack" for starcraft that would "spam" messages in different colors (which you cant type in colors so it was cool) I'll uplod the help file and lets see what you can make the huds do :) lol there was an old thing where it would say downloding virus and it would actuly have like 1% and it would rise... people got so scared cause they actuly thought someone gave them a virus :)

johnjg75
07-08-2005, 01:02
Completely re-written and fixed many bugs in the new update. Please give me more ideas to give as many features as possible for HUD messages. 8) I was thinking of saving certain hud messages and having a menu to display them but i figured you could do that with the admincmd plugin. Please give me any ideas you have, stupid or awesome, i don't care. Please suggest me more ideas. :D

TuxXx@n0
07-14-2005, 07:55
This is a amazing plugin dude!

One thing i would need is a menu where you can do it from...example:

- amx_fullhud Menu
1. Red --------------------- 100
2. Green ------------------- 100
3. Blue --------------------- 100
4. X --------------------- 0
5. Y --------------------- 0
6. Effect --------------------- 0


And so on... then last button is: Show it

then it shows witth an specified text where you definy here: amx_definiedhudtext


Just an crazy idea... Hope youll do it 8)

TuxXx@n0 Out :D

johnjg75
07-23-2005, 20:49
Great idea, i'll look into it, Thanks! :D

[]D [] []v[] []D
07-29-2005, 02:29
sounds cool tryin it now

w1ck3d909
10-15-2005, 18:39
I'm having conflict with 'Task Scheduler' plugin, and 'Customizable HUD Messages' plugin.

Task Scheduler:
amx_task 5 "command" mr

Custom Hud:
amx_cfsay 153 0 0 0.25 0.56 "blah blah blah blah"


The problem is, when I add the custom hud message inside of the task schedualer command Like so..

amx_task 5 "amx_cfsay 153 0 0 0.25 0.56 "blah blah blah blah" mr

The quotes arround the text for the hud message conflicts with the task scheduler, and doesn't allow it to display the message.

If you remove the first quote infrount of the hud message txt it will show the message, but only the first word of the message.

Any idea on how to fix this?

Links to both plugins:

http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=1263+scheduler&start=0

http://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=4111+messages&start=0

Thanks ahead of time,
w1ck3d

xykic
10-15-2005, 23:33
can i see a screenshot of a random hudmessage please...anything will do.

MAUGHOLD
10-13-2007, 02:20
I'm confuzored, Can i just add text to some sort of config or text file and have this plugin print that text to the hud or do i have to type a string of text into my console in order to get this to work.

I think the reason that this plugin isn't being utilized more is that some people such as myself aren't reall sure how it works. I mean there arn't any cvars in your first post to explain how one would use this plugin.