PDA

View Full Version : Purposely broken "exclusive" server maps

sneaK
03-15-2016, 23:32
Hey guys, I just wanted to start a little discussion here, and mods if this is in the wrong section I apologize. The off topic section for some reason is nested under AMX, and this is more sourcemod related than it would be AMX related.

Tonight while testing maps for my new CS:GO B-Hop server, I ran across a map that had an additional bhop_*.txt file along with it. This file read (censored server and author's name):

Map Created By <Author>

Property of <Server X> - <Author>

Server IP: <Server X>:27015

**This Map Is Exclusive To <Server X>. If You Are Playing This Map On A Different Server, Please Report Them To Our Staff.**

Now, presented this in the loading screen I was taken aback. Back since I started playing in CS 1.6, map authors were nothing but excited to get their maps out, into the community. Nowadays I see surf maps ported from CSS, purposely broken teleports that need to get fixed using stripper, now this.

This seems incredibly petty, and a cheap "draw" for server owners to use. "Hey, we have more maps than the next server!" Funny enough, most of these "broken" maps are patched with stripper files by anyone knowledgeable, and fairly quickly as well. For typical players, they don't care at all, but seeing this makes me lose all respect for server owners who do this sort of thing.

I just wanted to hear everyone else's opinions about this. Is it fair game that some servers have their own exclusive maps, or is it just a cheap trick?

PartialCloning
03-15-2016, 23:51
Many mappers did this in 1.6 too. But again anyone with a little knowledge of how maps work were able to bypass these protections.