PDA

View Full Version : Freeze/move to spec if improper rates


eyes of hunter
01-03-2012, 05:59
I wanted to know if it's possible to make a plugin that moves you to spectator or freezes you if you don't set your rates a certain way (25k, 66, 66 for instance).

Thank you.

Bacardi
01-03-2012, 07:43
Use server cvars to set minimum and maximum rates to all players.

Don't check player rates, you can't rely on them because it will only show client cvar value, not real rate value how server will force.
So all those ratechecker-plugins are bullshit.

then end

eyes of hunter
01-03-2012, 09:09
If I set max and min values for rate at say, 25000, does that mean that a player who uses something different is not allowed to enter the server/play?

GrO
01-03-2012, 09:10
Use server cvars to set minimum and maximum rates to all players.

Don't check player rates, you can't rely on them because it will only show client cvar value, not real rate value how server will force.
So all those ratechecker-plugins are bullshit.

then end

Totally agreed. Servers, which are punishing for wrong rate cvars are pretty lame, but if You want to prevent ping masking use THIS (http://forums.alliedmods.net/showpost.php?p=1239556&postcount=77).


EDIT:

If I set max and min values for rate at say, 25000, does that mean that a player who uses something different is not allowed to enter the server/play?

Nope, the server will force a proper values between min and max range.

eyes of hunter
01-03-2012, 09:24
All the better then. And thank you very much for the ping masking tip.

GrO
01-03-2012, 09:42
No problem. For 66 Tick server You can use:

sv_minrate 25000
sv_maxrate 25000 // I'm using much higher value of this, but I suited it for You
sv_mincmdrate 66
sv_maxcmdrate 66
sv_minupdaterate 66
sv_maxupdaterate 66
sv_client_cmdrate_difference 0
sv_competitive_minspec 1

eyes of hunter
01-03-2012, 10:34
Swell! Again, thank you for your help. I'm such a noob in all this stuff.

TnTSCS
01-03-2012, 19:21
I have a different opinion about the rate issue.

I'll see a player skipping all around the place and when I look at their rates they are usually set really really low (yes, client rates, but still). When the player adjusts them, they stop skipping around.

Placebo resolution for me, maybe?

This is our rate setting

//Frame rate and bandwidth
fps_max 800
sv_minrate 50000
sv_maxrate 200000
sv_minupdaterate 66
sv_maxupdaterate 101
sv_mincmdrate 66
sv_maxcmdrate 101

GrO
01-03-2012, 23:40
Probably You're right, but Anti-Ping Mask (http://forums.alliedmods.net/showpost.php?p=1239556&postcount=77) plugin won't allow cl_cmdrate below 30 and when I'm using zb_netinfo I always see everyone has proper rates set. Maybe zBlock is not detecting the real client's values, but I won't punish people, who have no idea about rates and are running at default low values ;]

TnTSCS
01-03-2012, 23:51
yep, zblock appears to set the rates better than valve