Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

[ANY] SteamWorks


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Author Message
BeepIsla
Member
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Old 04-06-2020 , 06:17   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #1

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
Which game? platform? SM version? MM:S version?
I tried it on CSGO a long time ago on Windows, sadly don't remember the SM & MM versions back then and TF2 most recently on Windows and Linux, both tested with SM 1.11 - build 6522 & MM 1.11 - build 1130. As well as SM 1.10 and MM 1.10 a little bit prior to that.

This simple plugin does not output anything, while NetHook2 clearly says there are incoming GC messages:

Code:
#include <sourcemod>
#include <SteamWorks>

#pragma semicolon 1
#pragma newdecls required

public EGCResults SteamWorks_GCRetrieveMessage(int punMsgType, const char[] pubDest, int cubDest, int pcubMsgSize) {
    LogMessage("SteamWorks_GCRetrieveMessage: %d (%d)", punMsgType, cubDest);
    return k_EGCResultOK;
}
BeepIsla is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 04-06-2020 , 14:08   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepIsla View Post
I tried it on CSGO a long time ago on Windows.
Gross. Which version of the Steam Client do you have on the server? if it's ancient it won't have the hooks, thus won't be able to get the interface, and won't be able to hook.

This definitely worked on CSGO at one point as people were intercepting/sending GC messages way back when.
KyleS is offline
BeepIsla
Member
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Old 04-07-2020 , 10:37   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
Gross. Which version of the Steam Client do you have on the server? if it's ancient it won't have the hooks, thus won't be able to get the interface, and won't be able to hook.

This definitely worked on CSGO at one point as people were intercepting/sending GC messages way back when.
Sorry but how do I check the Steam version my server is running? Shouldn't SteamCMD and the CSGO/TF2 installation automatically update everything as needed to the latest version?

In the meanwhile I did another test to try and maybe narrow down the problem further:

- Tested on Windows & Ubuntu for both games
- All 64-bit
- All SourceMod 1.11 (build 6522)
- All MetaMod 1.11 (build 1130)
- All updated and validated minutes before doing the test

I added a "SteamWorks_GCSendMessage" and "SteamWorks_GCMsgAvailable" forward to my test plugin and turns out CSGO doesn't log anything at all while TF2 only logs GCMsgAvailable and GCSendMessage but no GCRetrieveMessage, it also repeatedly sends out a GCMessage every 30 seconds for some reason. According to NetHook2 it keeps sending out GCHello messages, Steam sends a GCWelcome back but it seems to get swallowed somewhere.

Last edited by BeepIsla; 04-07-2020 at 10:40.
BeepIsla is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 04-07-2020 , 13:46   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepIsla View Post
Sorry but how do I check the Steam version my server is running? Shouldn't SteamCMD and the CSGO/TF2 installation automatically update everything as needed to the latest version?
I guess launch Steam? no idea, the retail setup in that camp has never been good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepIsla View Post
I added a "SteamWorks_GCSendMessage" and "SteamWorks_GCMsgAvailable" forward to my test plugin and turns out CSGO doesn't log anything at all while TF2 only logs GCMsgAvailable and GCSendMessage but no GCRetrieveMessage, it also repeatedly sends out a GCMessage every 30 seconds for some reason. According to NetHook2 it keeps sending out GCHello messages, Steam sends a GCWelcome back but it seems to get swallowed somewhere.
That's great and all but you're not really testing what's up. What happens when you call SteamWorks_SendMessageToGC? If you get k_EGCResultNotLoggedOn that may mean the factory isn't available.
KyleS is offline
BeepIsla
Member
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Old 04-09-2020 , 01:19   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
I guess launch Steam? no idea, the retail setup in that camp has never been good.
I looked around and the only version identifier I could find was using NetHook2 on my SteamCMD on Windows: client_package_version 1585328668. CSGO/TF2 don't seem to transmit their Steam version anywhere so I can't check it, at least I don't know how.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
That's great and all but you're not really testing what's up. What happens when you call SteamWorks_SendMessageToGC? If you get k_EGCResultNotLoggedOn that may mean the factory isn't available.
"SteamWorks_SendMessageToGC" returns "k_EGCResultOK" for both games on both systems.

A small correction as well: CSGO behaves the same way TF2 does but only if the server is not hibernating. If the CSGO server is hibernating none of the forwards work, this is why I thought it wasn't working.

Both games now repeatedly send out a GC Hello message but Steam's response never reaches the server, it does get logged in "SteamWorks_GCMsgAvailable" though. So I assume "SteamWorks_GCRetrieveMessage" is swallowing the response somewhere.
BeepIsla is offline
TiTz
Member
Join Date: Jan 2020
Old 05-02-2020 , 16:15   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #6

Hi KyleS,

Is L4D1 supported? as every version of steamworks.ext.dll I try crashes my server.

I've tried all of these - http://users.alliedmods.net/~kyles/builds/SteamWorks/
with these two plugins:

[Any] Veterans Only (v1.0, 2015-01-22)
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=255871

[ANY] Profile Status
https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=323407

It would be really nice to run these plugins ... hoping you may offer some help with this problem.

Thanks for your time

TiTz

Last edited by TiTz; 05-02-2020 at 16:16. Reason: Typo
TiTz is offline
KyleS
SourceMod Plugin Approver
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Segmentation Fault.
Old 05-11-2020 , 16:22   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #7

Quote:
Originally Posted by TiTz View Post
Hi KyleS,

Is L4D1 supported? as every version of steamworks.ext.dll I try crashes my server.
All 27 builds didn't work for you?
KyleS is offline
TiTz
Member
Join Date: Jan 2020
Old 05-14-2020 , 11:18   Re: [ANY] SteamWorks
Reply With Quote #8

Quote:
Originally Posted by KyleS View Post
All 27 builds didn't work for you?
Unfortunately not one ... server would just bomb out no error log
TiTz is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 19:32.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode