Raised This Month: $ Target: $400
 0% 

ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster


Post New Thread Reply   
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Plugin Info:     Modification:   ALL        Category:   Admin Commands       
supermega
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Old 11-06-2008 , 10:40   ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #1

Intro

This plugin sets proper rates for each connected client:
Quote:
cl_updaterate
cl_cmdrate
cl_cmdbackup
rate
ex_interp
There are many ex_interp.amxx or rates.amxx plugins out there, but I found all of them not doing proper job. The clue is to truly understand relation between ex_interp, cl_updaterate and sv_min/maxupdaterate.


Install guide

1. Download ex_interp_complete.amxx to plugins/ dir
2. Add line "ex_interp_complete.amxx" (without quotes) in configs/plugins.ini
3. Set 2 cvars (you can do it in server.cfg or in amxx.cfg)
Quote:
sv_minupdaterate (recommended 30-50)
sv_maxupdaterate (recommended 100)
[ OPTIONAL ]
4. You can set these cvars, but do it only if you really understand rates in HL games:
Quote:
amx_rate (default 25000)
amx_cl_cmdrate (default 100)
amx_cl_cmdbackup (default 2)

Description

Most important thing about setting server rates are 2 cvars sv_minupdaterate and sv_maxupdaterate. If unset they default to 10 and 30 respectively. Admins often forget it and force something like:
Quote:
cl_updaterate 101
ex_interp 0.01
Total nonsense.. Real cl_updaterate is 30 (due to sv_maxupdaterate), i.e. a packet each 33ms while models can be interpolated for only 10ms (due to ex_interp). Models must flicker...

My plugin forces each client's cl_updaterate to be between sv_minupdaterate and sv_maxupdaterate. Then it sets ex_interp 0.01 which is recalculated by client to match actual cl_updaterate.
It also forces rate, cl_cmdrate, cl_cmdbackup (set by cvars, see above). Forcing high (unlimited) rate is necessary, because if an admin wants sv_minupdaterate to be 50 (e.g. me) then default rate of 2500 would be insufficient - big choke. The only way a client can control his rate is setting the cl_updaterate cvar - of course it must fit in the bounderies that admin allows.

The same behavior can be achieved by properly using cvarguard plugin, but there are 2 drawbacks:
1. It requires clever and complex configuration
2. It uses cvar_query mechanism - it's slow, generates traffic and doesn't work on old HL engines (I know people who still use it..)


ex_interp vs cl_updaterate

I said above that ex_interp is calculated from cl_updaterate. The formula is:
ex_interp = 1 / cl_updaterate
Quote:
cl_updaterate 10 => ex_interp 0.1
cl_updaterate 20 => ex_interp 0.05
cl_updaterate 30 => ex_interp 0.033
cl_updaterate 50 => ex_interp 0.02
cl_updaterate 100 => ex_interp 0.01
So if you want to force ex_interp 0.01 you need to set:
Quote:
sv_minupdaterate 100
sv_maxupdaterate 100
(not recommanded - clients with slow connection will lag)

Last edited by xPaw; 10-05-2011 at 08:43. Reason: Slowhacking code removed.
supermega is offline
Exolent[jNr]
Veteran Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tennessee
Old 11-06-2008 , 11:25   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #2

Rates are not the same for everyone, because not everyone has the same internet and computer.
Rates should be chosen by the client and not the server.
Also, it is considered slowhacking when you change a client's settings without their permission, which is not allowed here.

Unapproved.
__________________
No private work or selling mods.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xPaw View Post
I love you exolent!
Exolent[jNr] is offline
AcidoX
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vilnius
Old 11-06-2008 , 11:28   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #3

Hi.
new g_sv_minupdaterate
new g_sv_maxupdaterate
new g_cl_cmdrate
new g_cl_cmdbackup
new g_rate

change to

new g_sv_minupdaterate, g_sv_maxupdaterate, g_cl_cmdrate, g_cl_cmdbackup, g_rate

&

new str_sv_minupdaterate[20]
new str_sv_maxupdaterate[20]
new str_cl_cmdrate[20]
new str_cl_cmdbackup[20]
new str_rate[20]

new tmp_cl_updaterate[20]

to

new str_sv_minupdaterate[20], str_sv_maxupdaterate[20], str_cl_cmdrate[20], str_cl_cmdbackup[20], str_rate[20], tmp_cl_updaterate[20]

And you dont need #include <amxmisc>
__________________
Who need lockerz invite? Pm me.
AcidoX is offline
Send a message via Skype™ to AcidoX
Sylwester
Veteran Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Poland
Old 11-06-2008 , 11:31   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #4

oh, another slowhacking "rate fixing" -.-
Have you ever considered asking client if he agrees to change his rates ??

Client updaterate and rate can be controlled server side.

Your so called "recommended" server rates have nothing to do with reality.
To figure out how to set them properly (it depends on bandwidth, so there is no recommended value) see these links:
http://forums.steampowered.com/forum...highlight=Lagg
http://www.reece-eu.net/drekrates.php

And what about setting ex_interp to 0.01?
See Danni's post (15th) in this thread: http://www.steambans.com/forums.php?fid=3&tid=4217
That guy says to leave it at 0.1 and I would rather believe him than bunch of kids shouting at every server "set your ex_interp to 0.01" ...
__________________
Impossible is Nothing
Sylwester is offline
supermega
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Old 11-06-2008 , 12:06   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exolent[jNr] View Post
Rates are not the same for everyone, because not everyone has the same internet and computer.
And they are not! You can change your cl_updaterate and cl_rate

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylwester
To figure out how to set them properly (it depends on bandwidth, so there is no recommended value) see these links
If a server has limited bandwidth or anything an admin should adjust sv_min/maxupdaterate to fit in the limit. That's obvious I think.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylwester
Client updaterate and rate can be controlled server side.
That's not enough...

Did I say anything about forcing ex_intep 0.01? I wonder how many of you want to play with laggy guys with ex_interp 0.1 and how many would rather accept setting these values. There's no problem to putting them in userconfig.cfg...

Three of these: rate, cl_cmdrate, cl_cmdbackup are good even for slow connections and you shouldn't bother that they are set.
ex_interp can be anything cause game takes care it's not too low.

We only have cl_updaterate... An admin sets the boundaries - he can set from 10 to 100 and client won't notice it. He also can set it to meet bandwith conditions in his country.

I understand it won't be approved because of general slowhacking, but I don't agree with you in the part is sets rates improperly.
supermega is offline
Old 11-06-2008, 13:45
ConnorMcLeod
This message has been deleted by ConnorMcLeod.
Owyn
Veteran Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Old 12-11-2008 , 16:20   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #6

is this plugin the one which asks if client want to accept rates or be disconnected?
Owyn is offline
Send a message via ICQ to Owyn
ConnorMcLeod
Veteran Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: France (95)
Old 12-11-2008 , 16:23   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #7

No, it just sets hazardous rates values on all players.
__________________
- tired and retired -

- my plugins -
ConnorMcLeod is offline
55blader
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Old 10-05-2011 , 07:35   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #8

I've been installing it on my server and the cl_updaterate is set to 50, even when I set both min&maxupdaterate 100. Could somebody recheck the plugin please? I really could use it if this could set clients updaterate to 100. Thanks a lot
55blader is offline
xPaw
Retired AMX Mod X Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2008
Old 10-05-2011 , 08:44   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #9

Quote:
Originally Posted by 55blader View Post
I've been installing it on my server and the cl_updaterate is set to 50, even when I set both min&maxupdaterate 100. Could somebody recheck the plugin please? I really could use it if this could set clients updaterate to 100. Thanks a lot
Don't use this plugin.
__________________
xPaw is offline
55blader
Junior Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Old 10-05-2011 , 08:49   Re: ex_interp_complete - Complete rates' adjuster
Reply With Quote #10

Quote:
Originally Posted by xPaw View Post
Don't use this plugin.
I really need something that force rates. I know that you don't recommend this, but I would like to give a try since the guys that I'm playing with are telling me to install some plugin that will force cl_updaterate 100, cl_cmdrate 100, rate 25000, ex_interp 0.01
This plugin is very usefull to me, but it have one small problem. It forces cl_updaterate to 50, even when I put sv_minupdaterate 100, sv_maxupdaterate 100. Could you check it please? I'm sure I'm not the only one who is looking for something like this, since ex_interp 0.01 is a must nowadays in CS 1.6
Thanks a lot
55blader is offline
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 00:04.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Theme made by Freecode