AlliedModders

AlliedModders (https://forums.alliedmods.net/index.php)
-   Plugins (https://forums.alliedmods.net/forumdisplay.php?f=108)
-   -   Death Beam (https://forums.alliedmods.net/showthread.php?t=59371)

Peoples Army 08-12-2007 19:08

Death Beam
 
2 Attachment(s)
Co-Coded By Dalto & Peoples Army

Death Beam:

This Will create a beam between victim and killer on death . This Was a Mani Admin Plugin Feature . The colors are customizble by ConVars , and theres a menu to enable and disalbe the beam for clients.


Commands:
  • deathbeam - Console Cmd To Bring Up The Menu
Cvars:
  • death_beam_on 1/0 1 is on 0 is off
  • death_beam_red 0-255 amount of red in the beam
  • death_beam_green 0-255 amount of green in the beam
  • death_beam_blue 0-255 amount of blue in the beam
  • death_beam_alpha 0-255 amount of transparency in the beam
  • death_beam_default_setting 1/0 players default settings
Installation:
  • Install smx and sp like any other sourcemod plugin
  • Install the death_beam.games.txt in your gamedata folder
Change Logs:
  • 08-12-07 -0.1 - Originol Release
  • 08-20-07 - 0.2 - Update By Dalto
  • 08-22-07 -0.3 added cvar for players defualt settings
  • 4-11-08 - 0.4 added update by dalto
Any Ideas Are Welcome


Co-Coded By Dalto & Peoples Army

MoggieX 08-12-2007 19:24

Re: Death Beam
 
Jeas, another cracking addition. Do you ever stop for sleep between coding these up 'Peoples Army' ?

Peoples Army 08-12-2007 19:29

Re: Death Beam
 
i drink alot of coffee :shock:

Rebell 08-13-2007 02:03

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Peoples Army (Post 517197)
i drink alot of coffee :shock:

LoL, me too ^^ btw: good addon for a server :wink:

cya

Peoples Army 08-13-2007 07:11

Re: Death Beam
 
LOL. thanks :)

dA.oOZe 08-13-2007 09:54

Re: Death Beam
 
You ar no.1 !! Been waiting for this one to completely get rid of mani.

Thanks!

Extreme_One 08-13-2007 09:57

Re: Death Beam
 
Does this remember the clients settings?

I mean; I personally don't like deathbeams but others on my server do, so if I elect to disable it will I have to keep disabling it at every map change or will my choice be remembered?

Peoples Army 08-13-2007 09:57

Re: Death Beam
 
Thanks :up:

me and Dalto worked on this together .


there is nothing to save over map change . maybbe we can wor ksomething into it .

dA.oOZe 08-13-2007 11:56

Re: Death Beam
 
Is it possible to store those settings on client side?

Quakesounds, for example, stores it's settings server side in a textfile, but I think it would be much more useful, if it's somehow stored on the client. If one decides to disable stuff on one server I'm pretty sure he will also do on other servers.

dA.oOZe 08-13-2007 12:01

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Peoples Army (Post 517476)
Thanks :up:

me and Dalto worked on this together .

Okay, so you both have to share the 1st place ;)

dalto 08-13-2007 12:28

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dA.oOZe (Post 517512)
Is it possible to store those settings on client side?

Quakesounds, for example, stores it's settings server side in a textfile, but I think it would be much more useful, if it's somehow stored on the client. If one decides to disable stuff on one server I'm pretty sure he will also do on other servers.

I don't know if this is possible. The amount of things that Valve lets you do to the client is pretty limited.

Storing the settings on the server is definitely possible.

Kaschenko 08-13-2007 15:54

Re: Death Beam
 
cool!!

Peoples Army 08-13-2007 17:08

Re: Death Beam
 
thanks:)


trying to save things on a client is hard to do , but it is possable to store the clients settings on your server.

MoggieX 08-13-2007 19:10

Re: Death Beam
 
Works a treat! Loving the patchy line too!

Matt

Peoples Army 08-13-2007 19:56

Re: Death Beam
 
thanks , yeah some of the temp ent beams in source look kinda weird :grrr:

XG1|AleX 08-14-2007 12:53

Re: Death Beam
 
got an error...

Code:

18:52:27 exec sourcemod/sm_deathbeam.cfg
18:52:27 L 08/14/2007 - 18:54:08: server_cvar: "death_beam_on" "1"
18:52:27 L 08/14/2007 - 18:54:08: server_cvar: "death_beam_red" "253"
18:52:27 L 08/14/2007 - 18:54:08: server_cvar: "death_beam_green" "128"
18:52:27 L 08/14/2007 - 18:54:08: server_cvar: "death_beam_blue" "0"
18:52:27 Unknown command "death_beam_trans"

the Alpha Setting is not working

edit

and the color codes are not really working..

RGB 253,120,0 should be orange like this ▌▌▌▌▌▌▌▌but it is green

maybe cos the alpha error

and the beam looks dashed, would be better visible, and nicer, when its straight

found the right cvar in the *.sp file

it is
Code:

death_beam_alpha
tried to change the line with the glowcolor.vmt ^^ but its not really looking better...

not the best plugin ^^ should be reprogrammed... and need to get better realisied...

Peoples Army 08-14-2007 19:35

Re: Death Beam
 
well first , if youve ever takin a close look at any temp ent beams for source , youd notice they all have a swash , they look like their spinning , take a look at the pictures from the wiki for sorucemod

http://wiki.alliedmods.net/TempEnts_...od_SDKTools%29


the beam is "blueglow.spr" , hence the blue glow is not gonna give you the color you expect . there are no errors , this code is flawless , if you dont like it feel free to code your own .

MoggieX 08-15-2007 02:48

Re: Death Beam
 
Hey Peoples Army,

Just noticed while updating to 1335, that I get the same message in the console:

Code:

--------------------------------------------------------
sv_pure value unchanged (current value is 0).
--------------------------------------------------------
Invalid counterterrorist spawnpoint at (82.0,-52.0,-52.0)
Game will not start until both teams have players.
****** Executed Server.cfg File ******
Unknown command "sm_extendmap_max"
Unknown command "sm_extendmap_step"
Unknown command "death_beam_trans"

That said it still works a treat and having the trans and colour settings are just 'nice-ities'

dalto 08-15-2007 02:58

Re: Death Beam
 
It is death_beam_alpha not death_beam_trans.

MoggieX 08-15-2007 08:49

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dalto (Post 518354)
It is death_beam_alpha not death_beam_trans.

Ah that would explain it then :up:, although i'm sure I just copied and pasted the cvars :wink:

Peoples Army 08-15-2007 09:29

Re: Death Beam
 
:cry:sorry mogiex , i had it wrong on the main dowload page . fixed it ,

MoggieX 08-15-2007 14:10

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Peoples Army (Post 518437)
:cry:sorry mogiex , i had it wrong on the main dowload page . fixed it ,

np =)

Peoples Army 08-16-2007 18:51

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MoggieX (Post 518583)
np =)

:up:

dalto 08-17-2007 21:15

Re: Death Beam
 
Here is our latest version of the death beam plugin.

Changes:
  • Added persistent settings
  • Made the beam solid
  • The color setting should work properly now

^BuGs^ 08-18-2007 01:38

Re: Death Beam
 
Both versions still have errors. It's in your definre.

dalto 08-18-2007 02:06

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ^BuGs^ (Post 519891)
Both versions still have errors. It's in your definre.

What kind of errors and what do you mean in the define?

dubbeh 08-18-2007 06:16

Re: Death Beam
 
Think bugs means using PLATFORM_MAX_PATH instead of MAX_FILE_LEN

Peoples Army 08-18-2007 15:47

Re: Death Beam
 
yea that version hasnt been fully tested yet , thats why its not posted in the main thread yet . so when its done well post in the ain thread as an update :wink:

dalto 08-19-2007 01:46

Re: Death Beam
 
2 Attachment(s)
Here is an update: Version 1.0.1

Changes:
Fixed the bug referenced by ^BuGs^ above.

Peoples Army 08-20-2007 22:29

Re: Death Beam
 
new version has been added to the main page . dalto did all the work on this update , gj buddy :up:

Extreme_One 08-21-2007 07:48

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Peoples Army (Post 517192)
...

Commands:
  • deathbeam - Console Cmd To Bring Up The Menu
...

Is there also a chat command?

/deathbeam or !deathbeam

dalto 08-21-2007 10:35

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Extreme_One (Post 521243)
Is there also a chat command?

/deathbeam or !deathbeam

Yes, that is it exactly

kipplitz 08-22-2007 10:01

Re: Death Beam
 
Hello,

I love this plugin but I find alot of people who play on our server do not like deathbeams. Is there a way to have this default to off for everyone and you have to turn it on through /deathbeam if you want to use it?

Thanks,

KippLitz

dalto 08-22-2007 10:13

Re: Death Beam
 
2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by kipplitz (Post 521752)
Hello,

I love this plugin but I find alot of people who play on our server do not like deathbeams. Is there a way to have this default to off for everyone and you have to turn it on through /deathbeam if you want to use it?

Thanks,

KippLitz

Here you go, version 1.1.

death_beam_default_setting is the name of the cvar. Set it to 0.

Keep in mind, it will only effect players who haven't been to you server since you installed death beam. All other players will have it saved in their settings.

Peoples Army 08-22-2007 10:13

Re: Death Beam
 
we added a menu so poeple can turn it off .

kipplitz 08-22-2007 12:10

Re: Death Beam
 
Perfect. Thanks. Now, is there a way to delete whatever data file has everyone's current settings and start from scratch? I looked and around and cant seem to find anything.

KippLitz

Peoples Army 08-22-2007 12:17

Re: Death Beam
 
added new version to the main page , update by dalto .

dalto 08-22-2007 13:41

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kipplitz (Post 521803)
Perfect. Thanks. Now, is there a way to delete whatever data file has everyone's current settings and start from scratch? I looked and around and cant seem to find anything.

KippLitz

Yes, delete the file in addons/sourcemod/data that has deathbeam in its name.

kipplitz 08-24-2007 00:53

Re: Death Beam
 
Looked several times to make sure I am not missing it, but I do not have any addons/sourcemod/data 'data' folder. Looked in all the rest and cant find it. Advice?

Thanks,

KippLitz

dalto 08-24-2007 00:57

Re: Death Beam
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kipplitz (Post 522589)
Looked several times to make sure I am not missing it, but I do not have any addons/sourcemod/data 'data' folder. Looked in all the rest and cant find it. Advice?

Thanks,

KippLitz

addons/sourcemod/data/beamusersettings.txt


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.